We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Delight!!”
Review of Galvelbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galvelbeg House
Ranked #1 of 27 Crieff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, MD.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Delight!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thank you Nigel and Stella for a wonderful stay at Galvelbeg House. You couldn't ask for a nicer couple of hosts and a better place to stay while you're in the Crieff area. Whether you're a golf enthusiast or megalithomaniacs like Mary and Myself (that's someone who's passionate about visiting every ancient standing stone in Perthshire) this B&B is right in the center of things.
Galvelbeg House is a wonderfully restored 19th century stone building with lots of great architectural character and, importantly, with ample parking space (even with enough room to turn your vehicle around without crashing into anything).
Our room looked out over the very pleasant back yard and garden, but way in the distance were the Ochil Hills with a couple of eco-friendly wind turbine farms in sight. For two nights (wish we'd been able to stay longer) we slept comfortably and the en-suite facilities were perfect. As we're not big television watchers we didn't turn on the flat screen TV but it's there if you're so inclined.
Our breakfasts were exceptional and Nigel, as server-extraordinaire, does his utmost to make sure you've got everything you need while Stella is busy in the kitchen preparing that all time favorite -- the traditional Perthshire breakfast. They were also very helpful in suggesting where we could find dinner. There's an Indian/Nepalese restaurant a couple blocks away that they said was good and were they ever right. We got takeaway from the restaurant the second night and our thought was we'd just hide away in our room so as not to be in anyone's way. But Nigel and Stella invited us to sit at our breakfast table, use the table settings, and they even set me up with a pint of beer. Incredible.
Many thanks Nigel and Stella. And when we come back through the Crieff area, which is quite a possibility, we'll be sure to book "a room with a view" with them at Galvelbeg House.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are comfortable and the decor nicely done. But if you want a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hwmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Howard & Mary,
Many thanks for your great review, think you've managed to cover everything!! Also you are also officially our first "megalithomaniacs" as guests. Didn't know what that meant before, but it's never too late to keep learning!!
Look forward to meeting up with you again on your next trip to Crieff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
124
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great breakfast, clean and quiet room in a lovely location with bike friendly parking. Perfect.

Found the place very easily as it is positioned on a main road and it is within easy walking to the town. Only stayed one night as we were touring around Scottish Highlands and Islands. Would recommend this place - lovely friendly people who made a great effort to make us feel at home.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Marie,
Thank you for your great review and pleased that you will be coming back again! Hope you can bring some of your lady biker friends next time!
Although we are well positioned if you are touring Scotland, we also make a great base for exploring the Central belt, Loch Lomond & the Trossachs, Tayside and up into the Perthshire Highlands. Some great roads with great scenery whether by bike or car!
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomelilla, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We travelled around Scotland for a week and stayed in many different places. Galvelbeg was one of the absolute best places we stayed at. The owner couple were very kind and helpful and really wanted to make sure we got a pleasant stay. The breakfast was of very high class and the beds were comfortable. A really good place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Stefan,
Thank you for your great review, it's good to hear that you rated us so highly amongst the other places you stayed on your trip around Scotland. For a B&B, the best compliment you can have is "breakfast was of very high class and the beds were comfortable"!
Hope you can return to Scotland and Crieff again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Once again we were made very welcome, and were well looked after. Pleasant room (4) with beautiful view. Good breakfast, though not embarrassingly so. The situation meets our needs precisely, within easy walking distance of the town centre (and even the hill back up is reasonably gentle!) We hope to be back next year and look forward to it.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the best, but any of the ones towards the back of the house (2-5) are pleasant enough and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Colin & Peggy
It was really nice to have you come back to stay with us again while you were visiting your family. The views from the rooms (2,3,4) at the back of the house are beautiful, however the twin rooms at the front (1&5) do have some views.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I visited Galvelbeg House with friends on a walking holiday. It offered good value for money, had friendly staff and lovely rooms. The breakfasts were amazing! We were looked after very well and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
William,
So happy that you and your group of Ramblers enjoyed your stay with us on your walking holiday. There is some great walking in this area, from Munros to gentle riverside walks.
When you are out for a day in the hills a good Perthshire Breakfast definitely sets you up well.
Thanks for your review and we hope you get to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Crieff for some nights and at the Galvelbeg House we found a very nice couple running this excellent B/B. The Galvelbeg House is very convenient positioned for visiting various golf courses in the area.
Excellent breakfast and we had all four single rooms en suite. The only drawback was the golfing as such but we cannot blame the landlord for this, to the contrary, he did his best to cheer us up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, as you say Crieff is really well positioned for many golf courses in the area.
I can only apologise for not being able to assist with improving your golf skills.... As the saying goes "Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer"!!
Hope you can visit us again once you have practised your golf!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachsen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owners are very helpful and welcoming. They serve an excellent breakfast and fulfill even extravagant wishes like freshly squeezed Orange juice. Besides they can give you very god advice concerning restaurants, the area and just tell you everything you want to know. I would always go back to that wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabriele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Gabriele,
Many thanks for your great review, we do like to be able to offer advice on most things - and if I don't know then "Mr Google" normally has the answer!!
Glad you like our Perthshire Breakfast, we are happy to help out with any guests special dietary requirements, whether it is vegetarian, gluten-free or dairy-free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
0.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yann's at Glenearn House
0.5 mi away
Newstead Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
THe Victoria House B&B
THe Victoria House B&B
#4 of 27 in Crieff
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvelbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvelbeg House

Property: Galvelbeg House
Address: Galvelbeg House Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Stella warmly welcome you to Galvelbeg House, a high quality family run guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast or self catering accommodation in Crieff, Scotland. It is situated on the east side of Crieff on the main Perth Road. The house enjoys uninterrupted views of the Ochil Hills and Strathearn Valley. The town centre is only a few minutes walk away and has an interesting selection of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galvelbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galvelbeg House Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing