We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, dog friendly place”
Review of Galvelbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galvelbeg House
Ranked #1 of 27 Crieff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, dog friendly place”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a lovely one night stay here. Nigel and Stella made us feel very welcome. Our dog was very happy to find some dog treats in the room for him and we really enjoyed the home baked snacks for us. The room was very comfortable and clean and we had a really good nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for your review and so pleased that "Woody" enjoyed his treats and you enjoyed Stella's home-baking! So glad that our "Perthshire Breakfast" hit the spot and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
120
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a long weekend for a nearby wedding and had a lovely stay. Nigel and Stella were very accommodating to our coming and goings to a nearby wedding all weekend. Food was excellent, especially the home baking. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Good location for the centre and zipping in and out to nearby attractions too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was great to have you and your friends staying with us for your wedding weekend celebrations. It was great on the Sunday when you "insisted" on having a late breakfast at 10am, a very welcome extra lay-in for us!!!
We are lucky to be so centrally placed for weddings at Crieff Hydro and also all the bars and restaurants in Crieff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only stayed one day at Galvelbeg House, but I wish we had been able to stay longer. The welcome we received was second to none (even though we showed up relatively early in the day, before all the cleaning from the prior day's guests had been finished). The advice we got from Nigel and Stella about places to see and places to eat was spot-on; had we been there longer, we would have tried some of the other spots they recommended.
Little details make the difference: the car park was large enough that I had no problems turning our rented car around so I could pull out head first; the home-baked goodies in our room were delicious; the dogs were friendly. (Ok, I'm not a dog person, but my wife is, and she really got along with them.)
Ok, there was a little snag when I tried to make a deposit via their online service (it got the days mixed up), but that was apparently because I was doing it from the USA. Nigel worked with me and his service to fix this, and it shouldn't be a problem for anyone else. (That's typical of the extra steps he took to make sure we had a wonderful visit.)
The room we were in (a double) was immaculate, and it had a great view over Crieff. The only confusion we had while we were there was noting a power switch for the shower outside the en-suite bathroom--but once we realized this, we had no problems with the shower itself. Breakfast was delicious (and the choice was good, too; I would have liked the full Perthshire breakfast, but decided to be "good" and got some smoked salmon and egg instead--and enjoyed it just as much. (Next time I'll try to alternate breakfasts--because I fully intend to come back!)
Although they're relative newcomers to the B&B business, it's certainly not obvious. Nigel and Stella hit all the right notes; they've made their B&B a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we always try to be flexible with guest arrival times and will store luggage if rooms aren't available.
We are lucky to have a big secure parking area at the back of the house - more parking = less grass for me to cut, although still plenty for the dogs to have a run around on!!
Stella's home-baking always hits the spot with our guests, luckily I get to do some testing before it reaches the rooms!
Apologies again about the mix-up with our online booking, it appears that the time difference particularly at midnight here caused the problem, but as you say we worked round it and "hopefully" that little gremlin is fixed.
The good thing about having a longer stay at Galvelbeg House is that you can try more than one option from our Breakfast menu, the full "Perthshire" or one of the lighter options of creamy scrambled eggs on a toasted muffin with Scottish Smoked Salmon. However if you want to be "really" good you could just go with the Fresh Fruit Salad!
Anyway many thanks for a great review and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Nigel & Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The flat was perfect for our family of two adults and two kids. And Nigel and Stella are the best !
The house is perfect located, close the the centre of Crieff ( with all the service you need) and also close to green areas and a little mountain for us to explore.
As an extra bonus there was two wonderful dogs in the house that our little Amanda would like to take with her !
So, we surely reccomend a stay att Galvelbeg House !
Eidar Lindgren and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreLindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank for you super review, it was a pleasure to have your family come and stay with us for your Scottish holiday. Our "Little Mountain" is called The Knock and is a great place for walking, running and for some great scenic views of the surrounding area!
Murphy and Bailey are really missing all the attention from Amanda.

Nigel & Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the self catering accommodation adjoining the B & B guesthouse for a week in July. The apartment was very well appointed with everything that we needed supplied. We received a warm welcome from Nigel and Stella and a much appreciated welcome basket of food including Stella’s delicious homemade cake. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and ideally located for local eating places and well placed for touring. If we return to the area, we would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to our friends and family. Thank you Nigel & Stella for making our visit to Scotland a memorable one for all the right reasons. Wendy & Errol T

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Wendy & Errol,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our self-catering apartment. Many of our guests have commented on the wide selection of lovely local restaurants within easy walking distance. We are also lucky to be centrally located for many of Scotland's tourist attractions.
Hope you do return to Galvelbeg again and thanks for recommending us to your family & friends.

Nigel & Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

From the moment we pulled into the car park til we went at the end of our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Our every need was catered for, we were made to feel really welcome and will definitely be staying again. Harlington girl, they have the Marmite!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Andy, So great you enjoyed your weekend and thank you for the "Thank-you" card in the post. So glad all the "T in the Parkers" have dried out now! Remember next time you want to come for a relaxing weekend - leave the festival going teenagers behind!!

and YES we do have Marmite, in fact had a family from Belgium want to try it.... think we can safely say that they won't be taking any home to Belgium with them!! You either love it, or hate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Gavelbeg House just for one night but could have happily stayed longer. We were given a warm welcome, home baked cakes and shown to a nice clean family room. There were helpful suggestions for where to go for dinner and the breakfast was exceptional. My husband requested Marmite which unfortunately Nigel and Stella didn't have - but we have since been assured that if we return , and hopefully one day we will, it is there for him!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlingtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Galvelbeg House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your great review, so pleased that you enjoyed the home-baking and our Perthshire Breakfast. I can confirm that YES we now have Marmite to add to our range of breakfast spreads. In fact it is increasing all the time as we had a young toddler who could only be placated by toast & Nutella, so that is on the shelf too!!
We are now into the height of the Perthshire soft fruit season, so Stella will soon be adding home-made Raspberry Jam to our home-made Marmalade.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
0.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yann's at Glenearn House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newstead Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
THe Victoria House B&B
THe Victoria House B&B
#4 of 27 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvelbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvelbeg House

Property: Galvelbeg House
Address: Galvelbeg House Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Stella warmly welcome you to Galvelbeg House, a high quality family run guesthouse offering Bed and Breakfast or self catering accommodation in Crieff, Scotland. It is situated on the east side of Crieff on the main Perth Road. The house enjoys uninterrupted views of the Ochil Hills and Strathearn Valley. The town centre is only a few minutes walk away and has an interesting selection of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galvelbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galvelbeg House Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing