We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal!”
Review of Rooftop Restaurant

Rooftop Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 47 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $78
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: one of 2 restaraunts at knock castle hotel & spa
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Could not fault the food, drinks or service at all! staff were lovely, all food freshly prepared to order and everything was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Alison M we are all very happy to read how you enjoyed your evening with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    27
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gastranomical!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fantastic dinner with excellent service. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Excellent selection of food with many locally produced items on offer. Would definately highly recommend and can't wait to go again myself. We even had a visit from the chef for that personal touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifermclelland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much jennifermclellan6 for taking the time to post your experience and let us know that you have a wonderful experience, i will pass then on to the rest of the team and we will look forward to seeing your return hopefully soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch at Knock!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We took our elderly parents for lunch after shopping in Crieff. We didn't know what to expect but knew the view would be great. The view was as expected, but the food was well past our expectations. The appetizers pleased everyone as did the main courses. The staff was very attentive and professional. Based on our experience with the rooftop lunch, we plan to stay at the hotel next summer.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Becky Y first of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for the kind comments , we are very happy you enjoyed your lunch and i am very happy to read how we surpassed your expectations, please when you plan on returning to the hotel contact me personally and we will be more than happy to look after you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“High quality food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The main meal in the evening was lovely, professionally presented food.

Breakfast was adequate, but quite small portions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you worldtravellers97 for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us, In regards to the cooked breakfast we only put on the plate what the guest orders but the waiting staff should of explained that if you would like anymore its not a problem we would be happy to put extra bacon or sausages on not a problem , we are very flexible and want to look after our guests , since reading this review i have spoken to our team here and implemented changes to ensure no other guest feels that they are not allowed to ask for more as we feel the guest is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denny stirlingshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great food at the rooftop restuarant”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

smoked haddock and asparagus fishcakes excellent
ribeye steak with mustard mash and root veg superb
bananna split different and tasty
breakfast was great fresh fruit yoghurt bran flakes, followed by bacon and mushrooms and brown toast yummy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Rooftop Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Liz S

I’m delighted you enjoyed your experience of both breakfast and dinner in the Rooftop Restaurant. Having four menus on offer means we have a great variety of menu choices and it looks like you sampled quite a few of them! Hopefully you will return to try even more of our delicious meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooftop Restaurant also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Rooftop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing