We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining gem in village setting”
Review of Barley Bree

Barley Bree
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine dining gem in village setting”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Barley Bree is a fine dining restaurant with first class rooms. It is located on the right hand side of the road coming from Crieff. The entrance is through an archway on a sharp bend and there is parking in the courtyard. The interior is warm and welcoming with wood burners going in colder months. I described the food as 'fine dining' to differentiate it from the run of the mill. The Barley Bree's patron/chef takes the best of Perthshire's magnificent larder and interprets it with a French twist. The menu is reassuringly short but still manages to provide plenty of choice. Superb food cooked to perfection every time. Excellent service and extensive wine list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middleton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
What a lovely review - thank you. We strive to be our best and on this occasion it seemed to work. so glad you enjoyed the experience and thank you for pointing out that the entrance is indeed a sharp turn - future customers beware!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    42
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our first visit to the Barley Bree was for a Saturday night dinner. Welcomed at the door, we were shown into a wooden-floored room (with a fire) for a very good glass of champagne - I guess it might have been nice to have been given a little bite to eat to accompany this - as we perused the short but exciting menu. Our starter focused on fois gras and was excellent both in terms of flavour and texture. For mains, one of us opted for pork, the other for steak. In both cases, there was a wonderful range of flavours and textures on the plate. Tasty orange marmalade pudding and good cheeses to conclude. The wine list is quite short and was, perhaps, a minor disappointment as it had few "classics" to choose from. That's just being picky, however. The whole meal was first-rate. Service was polite and unfussy. Rated by my wife as one of her finest dining experiences ever - high praise!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Glad your first experience of Barley Bree was a positive one. We do try and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this wee restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Once again we have had another amazing meal at this lovely wee restaurant. Went for lunch and had the artichoke soup, red mullet starters, we both had the slow roast pork and xmas pud to finish. The xmas pud is the best I've ever had, will defo be ordering one next year to take home. Can highly recommend this restaurant and will defo be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weeclairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Pleased you enjoyed it - and for info on the pudding later on this year (far too early in the year to mention the c word!) check our Facebook page as will no doubt post something about them there. Granny's recipe always goes down a treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Received vouchers for Barley Bree from friends, we were advised to book dinner and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. Room spotlessly clean and power shower brilliant. Menu small but varied, every course beautifully presented and perfectly cooked, service friendly and unobtrusive. First visit but certainly not the last, would recommend to anyone who enjoys excellent food and service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - your kind words make it all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Errol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Second Time's A Charm”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As the title suggests, this is our second visit to Barley Bree, the first was as overnight residents but this time only for lunch en route to Crieff.

We received a lovely welcome and were quickly shown to our table. It was a Saturday afternoon and we were surprised to see that the restaurant was very quiet - only two other tables occupied.

I had smoked fish risotto to start followed by ox cheeks and my husband had chicken terrine followed by venison sausages. Both courses were exceptionally good and, most notably, when the food arrived at the table it was piping hot.

I finished with a lemon posset and my husband had the cheese board, which the waitress took time to explain. It was a fabulous meal and a great way to start a weekend of being spoiled for our wedding anniversary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, especially as it was a return visit - have just signed into Trip Advisor so slowly working my way through several years worth of reviews. Glad you enjoyed lunch and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Bree also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing