We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal”
Review of Barley Bree

Barley Bree
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our first visit to the Barley Bree was for a Saturday night dinner. Welcomed at the door, we were shown into a wooden-floored room (with a fire) for a very good glass of champagne - I guess it might have been nice to have been given a little bite to eat to accompany this - as we perused the short but exciting menu. Our starter focused on fois gras and was excellent both in terms of flavour and texture. For mains, one of us opted for pork, the other for steak. In both cases, there was a wonderful range of flavours and textures on the plate. Tasty orange marmalade pudding and good cheeses to conclude. The wine list is quite short and was, perhaps, a minor disappointment as it had few "classics" to choose from. That's just being picky, however. The whole meal was first-rate. Service was polite and unfussy. Rated by my wife as one of her finest dining experiences ever - high praise!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Glad your first experience of Barley Bree was a positive one. We do try and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Once again we have had another amazing meal at this lovely wee restaurant. Went for lunch and had the artichoke soup, red mullet starters, we both had the slow roast pork and xmas pud to finish. The xmas pud is the best I've ever had, will defo be ordering one next year to take home. Can highly recommend this restaurant and will defo be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weeclairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Pleased you enjoyed it - and for info on the pudding later on this year (far too early in the year to mention the c word!) check our Facebook page as will no doubt post something about them there. Granny's recipe always goes down a treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Received vouchers for Barley Bree from friends, we were advised to book dinner and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. Room spotlessly clean and power shower brilliant. Menu small but varied, every course beautifully presented and perfectly cooked, service friendly and unobtrusive. First visit but certainly not the last, would recommend to anyone who enjoys excellent food and service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - your kind words make it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As the title suggests, this is our second visit to Barley Bree, the first was as overnight residents but this time only for lunch en route to Crieff.

We received a lovely welcome and were quickly shown to our table. It was a Saturday afternoon and we were surprised to see that the restaurant was very quiet - only two other tables occupied.

I had smoked fish risotto to start followed by ox cheeks and my husband had chicken terrine followed by venison sausages. Both courses were exceptionally good and, most notably, when the food arrived at the table it was piping hot.

I finished with a lemon posset and my husband had the cheese board, which the waitress took time to explain. It was a fabulous meal and a great way to start a weekend of being spoiled for our wedding anniversary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, especially as it was a return visit - have just signed into Trip Advisor so slowly working my way through several years worth of reviews. Glad you enjoyed lunch and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Last week was at least our 6th visit to this wonderful restaurant and, without exception, the food, from the amuse bouche to the petits fours with the coffee at the end, is always beautifully presented and utterly fantastic. The French chef is an incredible talent in the kitchen and, although the menu isn't huge, there is something for everybody and I can guarantee you will not be disappointed whatever you choose. On a couple of occasions while making my booking I cheekily ask if their Lamb Shank will be on the menu that night (mouthwateringly delicious!), and each time they have made a point of doing so - such a lovely touch (you wouldn't get that in London!).
Add to this the fact that it is also a very pretty restaurant set in a centuries-old inn with original features and rustic charm, exposed brickwork, log fires, etc. owned and run by a tremendous chef and his lovely Scottish wife who really know their stuff and are very eager to please. We love it and it's always high on our list whenever we find ourselves in Scotland.

Oh, and by the way, I know for a fact that a VERY well known chef from the local area dines there on a regular basis, recommendation or what?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank galefours19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Bree also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing