We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not your average camp site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crieff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not your average camp site”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a beautiful part of Scotland. Kata 1 was a bit of a hike up the hill but the seclusion made for a relaxing weekend with just the right amount of attentiveness from friendly staff. Facilities were plenty for this time of year - 2 showers, 2 toilets and a wash area between the 5 katas, pretty well maintained. With particular attentiveness to recycling and reuse (a plus for the eco conscious) and a well stocked shop with local produce and eggs from the on-site hens. There were walking trails dotted around the hillside, a small pond, a lovely local village nearby (5/10mins by car) and a variety of wildlife. We suffered a little on our second night due to the wood on the wood pile being damp which made lighting a fire a big struggle (essential at this time of year in frosty temperatures.) While someone looking to do a spot of 'glamping' may find the Kata's a little basic, we found them to be adequate, cosy and charming. A massive draw for this site is the bike trails, we had a fantastic day touring the slopes which went from beginner to extremely challenging. The handlebars were not tightened on one of the bikes we hired which almost lead to a pretty nasty accident but the bike was swapped and extreme apologies were made when it was brought to the attention of staff (we hired the bikes on a Saturday/Sunday and due to late arrival picked them up on Sunday which threw the staff off and meant a shop member of staff had to deal with their hire.) The biggest draws to the site would be open fires, fresh eggs, beautiful scenery, wildlife, eco-conciousness and quirky Katas. All in all a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Kata 1 is to the North of the site and so more secluded + peaceful but further away (up a steep slop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    57
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
90
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a really chilled time we had in Kata 5. We were next to the communal fire pit in the bottom field which meant that us and our friends who joined us could all eat together round the campfire.This is the first time we have camped out in February and we had such a lovely time, although we did have to feed the fire every three to four hours through the night to keep the kata really toasty.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful and took the time to speak to us about their vision for the croft which is exciting and we are looking forward to visiting again to see what has developed. Nothing was too much trouble and when we were a bit concerned that some of the children wouldn't be cosy through the night - we were presented with spare sleeping bags to double up with.
Digby was great at sorting the children out with bikes for the track and it was amazing to watch their confidence grow steadily, until there was nothing phasing them and they were going over the table tops and ramps with sheer joy....it really says something when they are out on bikes as soon as they wake up and don't have the time to get dressed properly before they are back out on the bikes.
I feel like I have truly escaped and refreshed...thank you so much Comrie Croft. xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitkat509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed the one night, but was very comfortable. Big kitchen and lots of fridge space. Bike hire on site too. Bedroom was good with duvet and hot ensuite showers. The room was too hot but the staff could have been contacted had we been that fussed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmemdacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed one night on a Saturday, 2 dads with their lads who are both 5 and were away camping for the 1st time. The site had everything that you could want for a real camping expience, the fact you can have a real fire is the winner in my opinion. We were on the hill and we had so much space between all the tents with fantastic views across Perthshire. Staff all very helpful and polite as were all the other campers we met, this gave the place a warm and safe feeling that you were amongst decent folk-no litter or neds that we saw thankfully.
Never used the tea room or much else as went to Crieff for a few pints and to watch the football in the afternoon while the kids played pool. £9.50 e/w in a taxi and not really worth the bother tbh. I would definatley recommend this site without hesitation and will be going again next year.

Room Tip: Try the pitch on the hill if you are not fussy about being near toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MWRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I camped in the woodland here at Comrie for the sept weekend 2012.We couldn't rate the campsite any higher.We arrived after hours to find the staff had left us intructions and a map of where to pitch(greatly appreciated.)the staff are so welcoming.The woodland camping area is secluded enough to give you a wild camping feel,but within easy reach of clean toilets and showers(2 mins walk through nice woodland paths.)camping in the woodland area also brings great shelter as well if the weather turns for the worst.There is also a nice little cafe and shop on site that is very reasonably priced.On site there are a number of routes for walking and mountain biking as well.What was most appealing to us was the allowance of a log fire by our tent(we took our own wood,wood is available on site for purchasing.)excellent for the old marshmallows.we had a sneaky peek at the Kata's too while we were there,next time we stay here I think we'll be giving one a bash as they look fantastic.Judging by how busy this campsite was for the sept weekend I would probably look at booking for next Year well in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friends and I booked some of the Katas at Comrie Croft for a weekend and had a fantastic time. The setting was beautiful ('in the wild' but close enough to the bathroom!), the katas were well-equipped and the staff were friendly, helpful and laid-back. Will definitely be coming back here again. The only thing I would say, however, is that if you're booking the katas, try get the ones in the woodland, as the one in the camp site, while great for it's accessibility, gets a bit swamped by tents if it's a busy weekend.

Room Tip: Get the katas in the woodland - the one next to the stream (Kata 3) was a great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sas1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here on the 7th & 8th of September (me, my partner, 2 friends and our 2 kids) the place is great!! Can’t recommend this enough to anyone who wants to try camping!

We stayed at the Lower Meadow which is closest to the toilets, showers and shop etc. This was very handy and the hot showers are very good, as long as you don't mind the occasional spider! I never knew this until I got too Comrie Croft but you can hire a locker which has a socket for hairdryers, phone chargers etc. This is one of the few places you can make your own fire and supplies are available for this from the shop.

Overall a lovely place to stay and great if you have kids, can't recommend this enough!

Room Tip: Lower Meadow is closest to the Toilets, Showers HIgher Meadow & Woodland Camp are quite far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thrupp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
14.3 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping

Property: Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping
Address: Comrie Road | Braincroft, Crieff PH7 4JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comrie Croft, the friendly wee farm on the edge of the Highlands. We offer great value in the great outdoors! Stay in the farmstead with private ensuite rooms and the friendly camaraderie of a hostel. Or experience natural camping with access to hot showers and facilities: bring your own tent or hire a Swedish kata with a bed and wood stove to keep it cosy all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping Hotel Crieff
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel And Camping
Comrie Croft Eco Hostel & Camping Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing