We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.15*
and up
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent tour from a young gentleman who is soon to return to Aberdeen University (sorry name escapes me - the drams were affa fine). Definitely worth a visit. Been to a few distilleries & the tour here was well presented & very informative. Love the new Kitten!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenfan438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello aberdeenfan438,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Michael and that the drams were affa fine! :) We're additionally pleased that you were able to meet Peat the cat too!
We hope to welcome you back again for another visit in the future,

Kindest regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    272
    60
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pretty place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I visited here while on a two tour of Scotland
Nice tour - beautiful setting - tasting room a bottle of Glenturret came home with me - delicious single malt
Enjoyable time

Helpful?
Thank Suza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have been before but came back to buy same of the personal named bottles they offer with your name on. Makes a great personal gift for friends or family. The cafe is always very good with a nice selection of home baked products. The tour is very informative and not over crowded. Will be back again later in the year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Yorkie1948,

Thank you for writing another lovely review of your visit! Great to hear that you had a good time and that you've treated friends and family to some personal bottles as well :)
We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best wishes,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cafe pit stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stopped in cafe after walking to the end of Glen Turret and back. Very nice inside, and we were so lucky to see "Peat" the distillery kitten lounging next to one of the stills. Cafe was very pleasant with sofas and info on the various whiskys. Ended up in the shop which had a good selection of produce. Definitely worth popping in for coffee, and to see the copper Grouse in the car park.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TCRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear TCRP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you caught a glimpse of our new mouser enjoying his beauty sleep! :)
We do hope to see you back again for another visit soon!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Unexpectedly good! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I visited this distillery as part of a tour, and I didn't expect to enjoy it very much as I don't drink whisky. However, the experience is well-done, with friendly and knowledgeable guides who give insight into the production of small-scale traditional whisky distilling as well as the history and making of the Famous Grouse. It is a beautiful little distillery and we all really enjoyed it!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our distillery.
We're really pleased to hear that even though you don't like whisky that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found it interesting.
We hope that we can welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing