We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distillery Tour”

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.13*
and up
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$125.72*
and up
Southern Highlands and Whisky Distillery with Tastings Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$54.07*
and up
Highland Whisky Woodland and Braveheart Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh. Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse. Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience. Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge. And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Tour was great guide Keith was informative and professional. We loved the full experience especially the film which was interactive. Will recommend the family and friends.

1  Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear smokieFalkirk,

Thank you for your review! :)
Keith will be chuffed that you enjoyed his tour and it's fantastic to see that you will recommend us to your family and friends.
We really hope to see you back again this year.

Kindest regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 740 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

For people who have never experienced a distillery tour, the Famous Grouse experience is a great way to start. Knowledgeable staff, interactive exhibition areas and a superb tasting session introduces the whisky newbie to the uninitiated. A great day out and a good on site Restraunt and shop to round the trip off.

1  Thank AGarcarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi AGarcarz,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! :)
Really enjoyed reading that you had enjoyed all the facilities that we have here at the distillery whilst visiting.
Haste ye back soon!

Best wishes,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our visit.The guide explained everything in detail.The restaurant was wonderful,very modern and comfortable.Well worth a visit.

Thank josie186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Josie,

Thank you for your review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our guide explained everything thoroughly for you.
We hope to see you again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have often had lunch at the Famous Grouse but had never done the tour as I have to confess we usually take visitors to the Dewars Distillery in Aberfeldy, partly because it is a beautiful drive there from Perth. However we had an unexpected visit from Canadian relatives over the New Year and wanted to take them on a distillery tour but the Aberfeldy distillery was closed till 6th January. Luckily for us the Famous Grouse experience was open on 2nd January. So we had lunch in the restaurant first - haggis, needs and tatties and a dram of Famous Grouse - before going on the distillery tour. Unfortunately the distillery was in "silent" mode as it was closed for a few months rest but it was still an excellent tour. It is a lovely little distillery producing just a relatively small number of bottles. There is much less walking than in the big distilleries like Glenfiddich but you see everything you need to, perhaps more and the commentary from Louisa (hope I've got the name right!) was excellent. The highlight of the tour for me however was the "film". My heart sank when I heard those words. The films in distillery tours are always very informative but not very exciting. However the famous Grouse have taken the "film" to a whole new level. It is difficult to describe but you are in a small room and the screen is perhaps 10 feet away. You stand facing the screen and see the various distilleries in Scotland through the eyes of a flying grouse. It is a bit weird and disorientating but you really feel like you are flying. Louisa said that if anyone felt they couldn't cope to say to her and she would guide them out. I was ok to start with as there is a sort of a bar on the wall opposite the screen that you could sit on and I hung onto that but towards the end I was out in the room and I really felt quite weird. However it was an amazing experience and I will certainly be taking future visitors there

Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Gill021,

A very Happy New Year to you and thank you for such a wonderful review of our distillery.
With so many beautiful distilleries in the area we're thrilled that you chose to visit us with your Canadian relatives. We'll be back in production towards the end of January again and we're looking to upgrade a few areas of the tour in the next few months so there will be lots of improvements to look forward to for 2014. We really hope to welcome you back again this year and thank you again for all of your kind comments regarding your visit.

Best wishes for 2014,

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The tour was both interesting and engaging for Whisky and non-Whisky drinkers alike. Having turned up early, we received a personal tour and were able to ask lots of questions. Do allow time for a visit to the restaurant for tea as the produce is excellent and the roaring fire and tartan chairs contribute to the 'scottish' setting.

Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Will D,

Thank you very much for your review and Happy New Year to you!
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and the traditional Scottish setting!
We hope to see you again for another visit,

Kindest regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing