We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need to know about whisky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Famous Grouse Experience

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.83*
and up
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Leeds England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“All you need to know about whisky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I agree with previous contributors-this is a very different tour but interesting-have to say it's not suitable for children as not hands on at all. Worth seeing definitely

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi thompson2travel!

Thank you for your review! We're very glad that you found your tour interesting!
Hope that you visit us again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    270
    59
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect for the whisky drinker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Done a few of these tours and this one was the best. I was driving so did not take a tipple but my wife and friend had several, the fell asleep in car, so win win for me. Great tour then peace and quiet in the car

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Hoggan67,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Great to hear that you had a lovely time! Hopefully next time you'll be able to taste some samples :)
Look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really good tour, shop and restaurant. We had the taste of scotland tour and it was well worth it. After a good tour and very good film we had a taste of Macallan, Glenrothes, and Highland Park 25yo. Staff really nice and knowledgeable. spent a lovely afternoon. Well worth a visit,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review of our distillery. Taste of Scotland tour, good choice! And lovely feedback! It's also great to hear that you found our staff really nice and knowledgeable :)

Haste ye back soon!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scotlands oldest distillery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the oldest distillery in Scotland and well worth a visit if in the Crieff area. The tours are well done with very well informed staff to guide you through the complexities of the whisky making process. The shop is well stocked with plenty of choice from a good range of whiskies, glass ware and clothing. They once had a distillery cat called Towser who has been entered in the Guiness Book of Records as having caught in the region of 30.000 mice. Towser is immortalised in a statue on a plinth at the distillery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for your review! It's lovely to have a local review us :)
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you'll pop in again soon!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse - Global Brand Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wee tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Tour guide was very good and knowledgable and was able to answer the questions asked, the information about the distillery was ok, although my view may be tainted as I have been to a lot of distilleries since i was a child as my father is a big whiskey fan, he seemed to thoroughly enjoy it. The shop is lovely and full of all the whiskeys mentioned in the tour plus glasses, pens, keyrings etc. the restaurant/bar is lovely too but stops selling meals at 3pm even though the last tour is at half 4, selection of cakes and drinks are tastey though as are the coronation chicken wraps and potato salad which I had for lunch, overall a grand day out :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meggilymooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Meggilymooch!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We're so glad to hear that you had a "grand day out"! We will take on board your comment regarding the time that the hot food is served in the Cafe till. At the moment we have it out for a short time to make sure that it is a fresh as possible daily, however I understand how this may be frustrating in the afternoon.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon! :)

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing