We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whisky Galore”

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.47*
and up
Highland Whisky Woodland and Braveheart Tour from Edinburgh
More Info
$58.55*
and up
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$126.64*
and up
Southern Highlands and Whisky Distillery with Tastings Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very interesting tour and tasty samples. Went with friends as treat from them - all enjoyed but friends were disappointed that the interactive part of the tour wasn't working. Spent lots at the shop and our guide was excellent.

Thank doyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Doyster,

Thank you for your "Whisky Galore" review :) I'm so sorry that the show was not working when you visited us; this was unfortunately due to an unforeseen power cut. We are very pleased to hear that your guide was excellent and that you enjoyed your tour.
We do hope to see you here again!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 838 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Four of us did the Famous Grouse Distillery tour on Friday 19th July 2013, it was quite enjoyable, quite informative and quite tasty (even if the samples are a bit small!) Our tour was conducted by Emma who was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about her work and the product. A good time was had by all!!!!

Thank ukdavef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi ukdavef!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Famous Grouse Experience. I'm thrilled that you all had a good time. We are closely regulated by Drink Aware guidelines which is why we have strict measures of whisky on tour, apologies for this, we will take this on board however.
We hope to see you back again soon :)

Best wishes,

Lucy Whitehall

The Famous Grouse Global Brand Ambassador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Holidaying in Comrie, we took the Ring of Breadalbane Experience bus right to the door of the distillery. Our guide was Gemma and she was very enthusiastic and informative.We appreciated the small size of the distillery as it was easy to get from place to place and it didn't feel like a production plant. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the cat added a homey touch! We had chosen to take the Taste of Scotland tour and are so glad we did. Gemma gave a wonderful explanation of the different whiskies we sampled and the snacks that accompanied them were 'just right'. We enjoyed the haggis, neeps and tatties in the restaurant,too! The whole experience was a real pleasure and having Gemma was the icing on the cake

Thank Horace881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Horace881,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the distillery. It sounds like Gemma and our cat made you feel very welcome! We would love to have you back for another visit again soon! :)

Kind regards,
Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited this place back in January, but thought only now to write something about this place. First impression: quite old-fashioned, something like Oban or Blair Athol. Had no problems going for a tour, and the shop is quite large. The tour guide was actually very good at explaining the whole process of making whisky, and there were plenty of informative signs around, so good enough for a tourist. You will, of course, get a little treatise into blending, and play an interactive game, involving - you guessed it - a grouse. Now, while I do not have anything against a good blended whisky and actually liked the 283 litre bottle in the tasting room, I felt there was too much focus on the Famous Grouse and too much marketing associated with it, giving me an impression that this is geared towards coach parties. At least we had a dram of Glenturret 10yo at the end, after two blends (Black Grouse and Snow Grouse I think), which was what we were looking for. While okay and smooth and bought a bottle of one, something was missing - I think a distillery exclusive bottling or an older expression would do the trick. But then again every whisky distillery is different, even if they do exactly the same thing. 8 / 10

Thank Marek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Marek90,

Many thanks for coming to visit our Distillery and of course writing a review! I understand your point about the focus on The Famous Grouse however we do try to find a balance between the two. As a Brand Home we have a lot of Famous Grouse imagery however, the first half an hour allows our guides to focus entirely on the production of The Glenturret Single Malt Whisky. You will also be pleased to know that this year we are launching distillery exclusives of Glenturret, due around September time so you must come back to treat yourself to a brand new distillery exclusive Glenturret Single Malt Whisky!

Kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall

Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Went on the tour on 31.06.13. Its a pretty small distillery. If you have been on brewery or distillery tours before alot of the information is the same as heard before.

There was 4 of us and I luckily found a couple of 2 for 1 vouchers so it cost £20 for the 4 of us. Look out for the 'visit scotland' brochure which has the voucher in.

If we had paid the full £40 for 4 people I would have felt ripped off. It's not worth £10 per person.

When testing the whiskey there are 5 to choose from, we each got a seperate whiskey so we was able to sample 4 out of 5. I asked to also try the 5th one and I was quite abruptly told 'its only 1 each'. I appreciate you can give away lots and lots of tasters but it wouldn't have hurt to have let us try it especially as you only get a dribble in the glass especially as we then went on to buy 2 bottles of whisky from the shop and teas and coffees from the cafe.

It was ok.

4  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Alan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Famous Grouse Experience. I'm so sorry to hear that you felt that you didn't receive enough samples on tour. As we are heavily regulated by Drink Aware we have to be very careful about the measures which we supply on tour in order to support responsible drinking. We do have samples of most of the whiskies within our shop available for all of our customers to try in addition to the whiskies that we offer on tour. We will however take on board your comments and strive to improve this area of the tour.
We do hope that you will take the time to visit us again,

Many thanks and kind regards,

Lucy Whitehall - Global Brand Ambassador - The Famous Grouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing