We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a marketing exercise than a distillery tour...”

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.07*
and up
Whisky and Highland Waterfalls Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“More of a marketing exercise than a distillery tour...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having been to a number of distillery tours in the latst year (having just moved to Edinburgh) I took my parents to The famous grouse experience / tour.

All distillery tours explain to you how the process works but it felt like the tour guide was just reading from a wikipedia page, rather than really explaining how THAT distillery works. I have been to many where they explain which grains they use, why they use it, what the water is like and why it makes a difference etc.

YOu get to see a number of the rooms but nothing was operational really so lots of the smells / experiences you get from the other tours are just missing.

about 50% of the tour was in the "marketing" rooms and watching a video, which while cool in itself, really has nothing to do with Whisky.

All in all, this was a very dissapointing tour, many other distilleries in the are offer far better whisky experiences than this (Edradour for example) with far more knowledgeable staff and less of a saturation of marketing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience.
All of our tour guides are well trained and most comments we receive are usually very complimentary.
Apologies also that you did not enjoy the second half of the tour which describes through interactive games and sensory devices how we not only produce single malt but how this then goes on to be blended to perfection and exported around the world.
We feel the tour is a two for one experience and actually excellent value as visitors learn about the traditional production process of single malt and also the blended whisky.
We are continually updating the tours and investing in our facilities so I hope you visit again in the future and we can change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    282
    61
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very interesting tour - knowledgeable staff and plenty of free samples to try. ;-)
Lovely shop, packed full of great gifts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Citytraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun distillery tour”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The distillery is the oldest in Scotland, and makes small batches of single-malt and blended scotches.
The tour takes about one hour and we found it to be quite interesting--- as did many others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tilt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is a very quick tour about how whisky is made. If you already understand a bit about whisky, the tour is not that worth. You don't see interesting steps of whisky making such as, the malting floor, the wash and the warehouse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aguedespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An educational and fun experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well organised and slick tour of the distillery in the company of a knowledgeable and very enthusiastic guide. Whilst this is marketed as The Famous Grouse Experience, this is not the location where Famous Grouse whisky is blended but the distillery where Glenturret malt whisky, one of the constituents of Famous Grouse is made. Nevertheless, the tour is informative and I never realised that most of the equipment was so old fashioned.
At the end of the tour there is an opportunity to play in an interactive area and then a rather cheesy group interactive session to "fly" the Grouse through some famous Scottish scenery before being able to sample the produce. As expected there is a small shop to purchase a range of whisky related items and merchandise. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamousGrouseExp, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing