We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Oh how spoiled we were , we stayed in the lodge this trip and we found it awesome , the rooftop were we ate was just fantastic the menu spoiled for choice ! We will be back xx it just good old fashioned service with such attention to personal detail staff so lovely and attentive xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vodaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words , we are all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

stayed here for one night of our "mini-moon" castle and spa but appearances can be deceiving. The front of the hotel is the old castle building but the extension to the rear is a rather dated add-on!! It needs a huge investment in the general state, front steps falling apart, signs all over about not taking your own food and drink in and the main doors locked after 11pm so the rear "trademan" entrance must be used - not welcoming in the least! Our initial room was a delux castle room, a room in the rear extention with a false ceiling over looking a rear "rubbish" area with workers tools and scafolding that had been there for some time! We asked to me moved and initially were expected to pay extra for the upgrade, it was again in the extention overlooking the rear room was larger but again not anything like what the brouchure pictured. Cleanliness was perfect but thats the only thing I would rate highly. Breakfast was poor to say the least and coffee undrinkable...needless to say wont be back.

Room Tip: ask for one in the original castle!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you never enjoyed your stay with us and you are quite right there are a couple of steps at the front that have a little damage to 2 off them which we are repairing this week.
I can appreciate you didn't like the signs but in this day and age we need to state the obvious as some folk still think its acceptable to bring Chinese takaways ect into the hotel so sadly we need to put up notices.
In regards to the scaffolding it only was erected approx 10 days ago as the refacing on the extension was due to be done last week but due to unforeseen circumstances it have to be put back to this week which is being done as i type this with the extension closed down while this work is ongoing.
Just for the record not one of the castle deluxe rooms has a false ceiling only the lommond rooms which I am surprised to you saying its not whats advertised as on our brochure which was just reprinted with new photos in February and also our website has videos and upto date pictures off all individual rooms on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

After a nice and polite reception at Knocks our impression and expectations of this highly recommended hotel was shrinking with the hour.
Our rooms, although small in a way were ok. We decided to have dinner at the hotel being located on the top floor. This was a mistake, the food was poor and so was the service. With great expectations we ordered Schotland's national proud, salmon. What must have been a challenge for the kitchen turned out to be a simple rip of for the guests. Only 3 tiny slices of salmon, covered by an abondance of over salted salad was a poor result of how to impress your guests. The main course of fish and poorly fleeced haricoverts ( please cut of both ends) could not improve our impression. Dessert seemed to be microwave heated.

Once (2012) the restaurant had been highly awarded for its good quality food and service. One better regards this now (2014) equal to the deplorable state of maintenance of the building. Please do not over estimate yourself Knock Hotel, keep paying attention to details.

And finally an amiable advice:
Please have the F&B / restaurant manager paying attention to his appearance, this unfortunatelly does not contribute to 'a bon apetit'

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
32  Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us especially with the food and service as this is something people regularly commend us on. It is a shame as at every course we do a check back as to ask is everything ok with the specific course and even after the meal asking if you enjoyed your meal, i myself and the head chef and manager and at now point around the time of your stay did anyone make any negative comments with the food or service . I do understand that sometimes people do not wish to make a fuss but in regards to your review do find it a little strange that is was not brought to our attention at the time as we do operate a continual program of improvement and would have been happy to rectify something that you didnt like especially in things like the green beans not being topped and tailed as even i believe that keeping the tip on 1 makes the been look better but also maintains the natural vitamins within but even with this i would have no problem doing topped and tailed ones for someone no problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked a Castle Deluxe room and i don't feel it was good value for money.

The room was OK but nothing special, and the general level of decor is pretty disappointing.

It's full of trinkets and just looks very dated...something out of the 80s...


The breakfast (included in the rate) was not particularly impressive either. The coffee wasn't good at all and the fruit juice the cheapest concentrate stuff you can get.

All in all OK but overpriced and a bit depressing. We might as well have stayed in a B&B and saved ourselves £100.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
13  Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

I am sorry to hear that you dint enjoy your stay with us , but can assure you we do not use concentrate at breakfast and in regards to the hotel decor I am sorry but we cant be for everyone as i am well aware one person favorite is another poison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I took my wife for a pampering weekend, and we were both pampered!

The hotel is just the right size for a quiet stay with some company. The food is excellent, the staff truly friendly and helpful. The upstairs bar and sun deck allow a stunning view and space to chill out. The spa is intimate and relaxing. I didn't use the pool but it looked spotless. The garden is sunny and private, apart from the resident woodpecker, and the doe that passed through!

The only disappointment was having to leave. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Kevin M,
Thank you so much for writing such a great review of your recent stay, it really is a pleasure to read such wonderful comments. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future for another well deserved pampering weekend.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here in early May for our first wedding anniversary and had booked into the Glenalmond suite. We had a great weekend break, what really sets the hotel apart is the quality of the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. We ate in the Rooftop restaurant both nights, the food was excellent and the views are great. We didn't get any spa treatments but did use the swimming pool facilities. The area is lovely and Crieff is well worth a wander about. The only down side I would say is that some of the furnishings and decor are a little dated in some areas.

Room Tip: The suite was large, and the bathroom has obviously been refurbished recently and is of a very high...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist198299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear tourist198299,
We are so glad you enjoyed your lovely weekend break for your first anniversary with us, it is always a delight to hear when guests have left happy. Hopefully you will return in the future & get some Spa treatments next time.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A secluded hotel in a leafy country setting at the NW part of Crieff. The atmosphere was calm yet super friendly and attentive staff make it well suited to couples looking to chill and treat themselves.

The staff are amazingly helpful and if you go with their vibe you will see that they are actually interested in talking with you and sharing stories as they go about their duties. The stand outs for us were Rebekah on reception, Aimee, Natasha and Marie from France in the restaurant and David "The Expert" restaurant manager who also knows his whiskies. All of them so helpful and focused on making sure you enjoy your stay.

We stayed two nights and ate in The Rooftop restaurant which has amazing views of the valley. We enjoyed the experience so much that on our second night we cancelled a booking at a local Italian restaurant, The Avanti, to eat at The Rooftop again. The service and the food made it an easy decision to cancel.

The hotel is clean and fresh and what you would expect. We had The Strathearn Deluxe Room which is on the top floor and just along the hall from The Rooftop restaurant and the bar. The website pictures show it all apart from the roll-top bath which sits in the main part of the room in front of the window. Very artsy and even a bit hedonistic if you can handle it.

Downsides, only a couple. There was a humming generator type noise to be heard for most of the first night. I missed it but the light sleeper made comment about it. The notices about not consuming your own alcohol on premise seemed a it over the top and showed, possibly, a lack of management confidence in their bar offerings and their staff's good service - the two things that would attract you there- and maybe a bit condescending.

However, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Golfers, lovers, weekend or midweek breakers, artists seeking inspiration or even just regular tourists looking for the personal touch. My bet is, if like us you think of yourself as discerning or you are a seasoned traveller who is used to the generic hotels, you will really enjoy your stay here. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a tour of some of the other rooms. The Glenalmond Suite is a cracker.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimH_FionaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear FionaH785,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about your recent stay. I will pass on your comments to all the mentioned staff, it really does let us know that we are doing our job's properly when guests feel so welcomed & leave so happy. I do appologise about the noise on your first night's stay, without this being brought to our attention there is nothing we can do so thank you for letting us know & I will get it looked at as soon as possible.
We hope to see you in the future & would be delighted to welcome you back for a relaxing break.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
556 reviews
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
15.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $183 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing