We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Murraypark Hotel(Crieff)(Great Value!)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
THe Victoria House B&B(Crieff)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fendoch Guest House(Crieff)(Great Value!)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveler rating
697
206
107
46
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
206
107
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantdrummond suitelady mary suitelady macbraynesunken bathbar menuon arrivalsteam roomdegustation menufirst classdeluxe roomrisottofull body massageswimming poolseparate buildingfour poster bedthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing, calm break. We stayed midweek for two nights. We had booked a junior suite and when we were shown to our room there was some scaffolding outside and some banging right outside the room. I went to reception and asked how long this would go on for, the room was lovely but we weren't too enamoured by the loud banging. After a couple of minutes we were shown to another room (a suite) which was a beautiful room with lovely view.

The restaurant was a bit busy but the two waitresses were very eager to help and tried very hard to keep things ticking over. We were asked to choose from 4 menus which to be honest was a bit too much and perhaps things could be simpler by reducing it to 1 or 2 menus. The food was very good and appeared to be locally sourced featuring venison and other Scottish foods. The breakfast was good as well.

We had booked our stay as we like to use the spa and swimming pool. The swimming pool is nice but perhaps the changing rooms could be given a bit of renovation. My wife and I both had massages at the spa and they were both excellent.

This felt like a hotel which was heading in the right direction but perhaps felt like it was doing too many things (there was a cinema room and things at times felt a little cluttered). However at the heart of it the staff were trying very hard and we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Drummond suite at the front of the hotel was lovely and we loved using the raised bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

thank you very much for your positive review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There is scalfolding up and will be for another 4 days as we are re facing the building in order to upgrade everything about the hotel and your experience , The changing rooms will be given a complete renovation in january as another phase in our continual program of improvement .
We do take onboard all points in order to be able to operate the continual program of improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there last weekend for the night and it is a lovely hotel in a lovely spot.The staff where lovely and we where taken to our room by the Receptionist which was a nice touch.The roof top restaurant was fuuly booked but the staff arranged for us to eat in the more formal diningroom to meet up with family but still gave us the option to order of the less formal Bar menu which was a plus for us. The room we stayed in had a lovely view over the countryside and was clean and welcoming although we did feel the bed was on the small side even though there was plenty room for a Kingsize bed or bigger.All the staff where just so pleasant and helpfull and a speacial thankyou to Aimee our waitress from the evening meal and Nickoll breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large bed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerald f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My sister and I have enjoyed another lovely spa day at Knock Castle. As always, the service is brilliant. Our two course lunch was superb. Our treatments were excellent and we will return again soon for another relaxing spa day. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

thank you for your kind comments and we will certainly look forward to seeing your return hopfully soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

What a place to stay! My boyfriend surprised me for my birthday and booked knock castle hotel and spa on Friday 11th October 2013 for one night. On arrival the place was just breath taken, the receptionist was very friendly and I had two hours worth of treatment times to get done (again a lovely surprise!)
The room was amazing! Sean had ordered a bottle of champagne on arrival too, Very spacious great views, massive comfy bed, robe and slippers in the cupboards. The bathroom was also massive with a shower and a bath that you walked up stairs too.
Can't remember the name of the room but it was top of the stairs and on your left.
The spa was relaxing, my therapist was Naomi, very friendly and professional. I had a full body massage and a dermalogical facial I almost fell asleep!
Food was great quality and very friendly staff on the roof top restaurant. The garden area was lovely too but girls wear flats for the area as its Stoney.
Ignore all the bad reviews I think some people just like to moan! Would recommend and would come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Louse M thank you for a nice review.The room was called Glen Almond just so you know if you will be coming next.And overall we are very happy that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked what we thought we be a 50th Birthday (re)treat weekend at Knock Castle and stayed in one of the rooms in the Lodge. The location, garden and buildings are beautiful and the staff are seriously friendly and attentive. However, the decor throughout the hotel, lodge and spa is seriously dated and shabby; compared to other hotels we have stayed in that have cost about the same price, the experience as a whole was disappointing. The food was good but not at the calibre of 'fine dining' experience we believed we were going to have. The sauces on the dishes we had were heavy and oily and the fish (both at dinner and breakfast) was overcooked. The effort put into the cooking was very well intentioned (apparent from teh presentation) but just plain disappointing when the main course prices on the a la carte menu were around £25-£30.

Room Tip: We stayed in Loch Leven room in the lodge. If the view is important to you then beyond reproach - beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you never enjoy stay with us. It is very unfortunate that the decor is not to your taste , we are sorry that the food never lived up to your expectations and it's unfortunate that nothing was brought to our attention while you were here as we do check backs as every course is received in the restaurant. If something was brought to our attention at the time we are more than happy to re cook a dish or even alter it to suit everyones personal preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews