We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed overnight with a friend and stayed in the Lodge.Room was spacious and the view was tremendous.Housekeeping and reception staff were very attentive and any request we made was dealt with within minutes.Nothing seemed too much trouble,staff were so obliging and service was always with a smile.
Roof top restaurant had beautiful views,food was lovely too.
I had a back,neck and shoulders massage and my friend had a facial.I would say it was one of the best massages I have ever had.I will definitely be back.Knock Castle Hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The lodge is a short walk to the hotel either through the gardens or via the road.The path through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Frances J we are glad that you had a great stay at our Lodge and we are pleased with all good comments about the staff.We will be glad to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    191
    97
    42
    35
See reviews for
113
612
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After walking out of the Hilton at Dunkeld due to damp and mould in two rooms my wife and I ended up here. It was for her Birthday and I wanted it to be perfect. I wasn’t disappointed. Room was first class, Food was fantastic and the service was the best I have ever received. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mac S I am glad that after not a good experience you've chosen Knock Castle and we've made your stay special,you more than welcome to come back even just t treat yourself and your family and we will be more than happy to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked here last minute to get away for a relaxing over night stay. Lovely garden grounds, hotel building beautiful also.

We stayed in the lodges, Ben Ledi which was very spacious, well decorated and very comfortable with lovely views. This is only a very short walk to the main hotel building and at night is well lit. Ladies, this pathway is not suitable for high heels although you can walk round the road too. No bin in main room and our duvet was wafer thin.

Reception staff were very friendly and very professional, Kerry (I think that was her name!) checked us in and out and always had a smile.

Waiting staff very attentive also.

We booked in for dinner on arrival and were advised that roof top restaurant was fully booked so we had to eat in the main restaurant however when arriving for dinner Kerry advised that roof top restaurant was in fact available (Kerry knew that we wanted this restaurant). When we arrived at restaurant it was half empty and what a disappointment this restaurant was too. Decor very average and food a let down. My husband ordered Haggis to start with and it arrived cold, sent it back explaining that it was cold, waitress very apologetic, second one arrived even colder. Waiter took it away and again very apologetic and offered an alternative starter, my husband declined. Main courses were ok but certainly not "fine dining " as advertised.The roasted vegetables were awful.
Waiter didn't charge for my husbands starter or my dessert which I couldn't eat either and he gave us our wine free of charge as way of an apology which was very decent of him.

The kitchen is semi open plan and you can hear the radio comms to the other restaurant constantly which isn't ideal.

Breakfast which is served in same restaurant was lovely! Freshly cooked,very nice. Was this the same chef??

Overall it is a nice enough hotel but not worth the money in our opinion. Pool area a bit tired also. It's a real shame as hotel and grounds nice and staff great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bellabee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just back from a brilliant stay at Knock Castle Hotel with my cousin. The room was in the lodge, lovely view from the bay window, room very spacious and comfortable, strong WFI. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was mouth watering. Had one of the best hot stone massages, thank you Anna. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Lodge very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear janice310 thank you for that.We are glad that you had one of the memorable stay with us and we are glad we exceed all your expectations.We will be more than happy welcome you back as it's nice to have happy customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for one night. The bed was meant to be a double but I would say it was like a 3/4 size. It was also so hard that I had a bruised hip in the morning. Very difficult nights sleep. Bathroom was lovely which was a plus and the breakfast was also great with terrific views from the restaurant. We thought that the hotel had internet in the rooms but turns out you have to sit in reception with your laptop perched on your lap if you want to use it. Glad we only stayed for one night as couldn't of faced another night in such a poor quality bed. Towels were also of poor thin quality. On a positive note, the receptionist was very helpful and cheerful and the actual building is very pleasant.

Room Tip: research the type of room prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in the the Lady Marys Suite,friends had a double room too. Beautiful Building and forest garden. Attention to detail from Housekeeping, Hospitality Fine Dinning and array of Malts to blends wines and Champagnes.. Relaxed friendly 5***** trained staff made this a great wee secret Gem.. with private Helecopter if required... As I live in Auchterarder 7miles frm here. Delighted to say We shall retun..on Spa and Treatments membership ..Thanks to Jason David Nicol Nicola and Kerry oh and H.G Helecopters..

Room Tip: All rooms have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Allison M thank you for all nice words.I will pass all great comments to the staff you mentioned and we will be more than happy you will come back and try our spa as well as everybody needs to pamper themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just home from a three night stay at this hotel.
Being a smaller hotel with less staff meant we were made to feel special and welcomed by all the staff, never asked our name as everyone seemed to know us!
Having special dietry needs is often a problem within larger establishments as I always seem to repeat my request for wheat free products, but I was well looked after here, again never having to repeat myself at each mel sitting, the alternatives always being brought to my attention, the chef even promised me a personal treat.
Our room was very comfortable and roomy, traditional to the setting with a modern bathroom, offering all toletries and fresh towels and linen a guest would need. Tea and coffee and scottish shortbread was provoded as well as still and sparkling water.
My only negative was the menu, would like to have seen some simpler, home style choices, altough every meal we had was excellent. But i am assured the chef would be more than wlling to cook whatever your preference, within his ability. Very nice man.
Waiters/waitresses were fantastic, as was bar man, just sorry I cant name them, they deserve recognition, an asset to the hotel.
The pool and gym are in need of upgrade and new equipment would be a bonus, but enough to suit our needs. The spa was a treat, a great range of treatments at reasonable prices and talented experienced friendly therapists.
All in all a great weekend in a great hotel in a lovely friendly part of Scotlnd and we will back.

Room Tip: Ask on booking and all rooms will be described in detail, then make your choice if possible, seems a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear lisbeth10 thank you for all your kind comments we are so glad that you were looked after.We are taking on board the menus you mentioned and second time when you will come in we will do our best to not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
539 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing