We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just home from a three night stay at this hotel.
Being a smaller hotel with less staff meant we were made to feel special and welcomed by all the staff, never asked our name as everyone seemed to know us!
Having special dietry needs is often a problem within larger establishments as I always seem to repeat my request for wheat free products, but I was well looked after here, again never having to repeat myself at each mel sitting, the alternatives always being brought to my attention, the chef even promised me a personal treat.
Our room was very comfortable and roomy, traditional to the setting with a modern bathroom, offering all toletries and fresh towels and linen a guest would need. Tea and coffee and scottish shortbread was provoded as well as still and sparkling water.
My only negative was the menu, would like to have seen some simpler, home style choices, altough every meal we had was excellent. But i am assured the chef would be more than wlling to cook whatever your preference, within his ability. Very nice man.
Waiters/waitresses were fantastic, as was bar man, just sorry I cant name them, they deserve recognition, an asset to the hotel.
The pool and gym are in need of upgrade and new equipment would be a bonus, but enough to suit our needs. The spa was a treat, a great range of treatments at reasonable prices and talented experienced friendly therapists.
All in all a great weekend in a great hotel in a lovely friendly part of Scotlnd and we will back.

Room Tip: Ask on booking and all rooms will be described in detail, then make your choice if possible, seems a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisbeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear lisbeth10 thank you for all your kind comments we are so glad that you were looked after.We are taking on board the menus you mentioned and second time when you will come in we will do our best to not disappoint you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful hotel. We stayed here one night in a deluxe suite in the actual hotel and would defiantly stay again. All the staff were almost falling over themselves to be so lovely, they couldn't do enough for us. Cant fault them whatsoever. First impressions inside were of a very grand tasteful old building, just what we love.
On arrival the reception was very professional, very warm and friendly at the same time.
We had our meals on the rooftop restaurant, again the staff were amazing. Meals small but gorgeous.
We had full use of the gym, spa, pool, sauna and steam room, although great to use, they appeared a little tired. We didn't have any of the treatments but there were plenty on offer.
Wonderful huge corner suite with amazing bathroom. We did have to mention a couple of faults, one of the bath robes was torn and stained. This they immediately replaced. The shower tray wasn't draining, the manager instantly sorted this, giving us a bottle of champagne for our inconvenience.
The hotel is in lovely grounds, very pretty and peaceful.
We would defiantly recommend this hotel if you want to be spoilt and treated perfectly.
It was a very happy ending to our stay in Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on the top floor. Very large corner suite, very large bathroom. Lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADG567177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear ADG567177 thank you. It’s brilliant that you had a good time and went away unwind and relaxed as next time you will be coming you more than welcome to book some treatments and treat yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a relaxing break with top quality food then this is the place. We stayed in the annexe which is a couple of hundred metres from the main hotel. The room was spacious and traditional although bathroom was in need of modernisation. The evening meal was simply marvellous and the freshly cooked breakfast equally good, 10/10. The Rooftop restaurant was stunning, amazing views. Staff were excellent, very friendly but not over powering. The only slight downside was the leisure/spa facilities, which are not in keeping with the 4* hotel. The changing rooms, toilets and shower area is basic and dated and could do with being refurbished. The gym is similar as the machines, particularly the treadmills are old and need updating. Overall though this is a great hotel and could be a great spa with a bit of TLC. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Martin L,
Thank you for your comments.We are refurbishing all gym and changing rooms as we speak so next time when you will come everything will be updated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My daughter booked Knock Castle as a 25th Wedding anniversary gift for us through the internet. The drive way to the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the hotel was very inviting. On arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded free of charge and we got vouchers for a free cocktail in the roof top bar.! We were shown to our room which had a beautiful 4 poster bed, a Jacuzzi bath and fabulous views of the garden. The hotel had also organised flowers and chocolates to be in our room that family members had contacted them about. the flowers were so lovely and the hotel-made chocolates were amazing! what a nice service to offer. My husband and I had also pre-booked a couples massage and the treatment and staff were first class and the prices were very reasonable. The receptionist and the bar staff were extremely professional and friendly. The views form the roof top bar were breathtaking as the sun went down and we drank our free cocktail. The leisure facilities were really nice, the changing rooms could do with a little upgrading but they were suffice. We had sole use of the pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi before our departure. We also sat late in the afternoon in the garden summer house and enjoyed the views - which felt so romantic. Breakfast was well organised and the staff as usual were very attentive and made us feel very special. The food was freshly prepared and was of very high quality. Thank you Knock Castle - an Anniversary we will cherish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Colinton88 thank you, thank you for your comments. We are very happy that we’ve made you day special and you felt special as you suppose to on a day you were celebrating your anniversary. Hope will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Knock castle is a little sanctuary on the edge of Crieff with good lesiure & spa facilities - ideal for a break with friends. We were delighted with the fantastic and personal service we received from staff - it was more like staying with really good friends for a night in a rather splendid house! The staff were simply a breath of fresh air taking pride in their hotel and everyone was particularly welcoming and accommodating. The piano lounge was lovely to relax in after dinner and we had an enjoyable evening chatting to other guests. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor suite which was lovely - with a particularly nice and roomy top of teh r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auds214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for all nice words Auds214.We are very delighted that you felt at the hotel as in your friends house. If you will be planning coming back to Knock Castle please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be more than happy to look after you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found this hotel through an online deal. What a great little hidden gem. All the staff are very friendly & welcoming. We upgraded to the Strathearn room, which was gorgeous, worth the extra for a romantic time. We both had beauty treatments which were so relaxing and the lady (beautician) was so lovely and professional. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the jacuzzi,pool & steam room but only fault would be there was no spinner to spin our wet swimwear. We had the taster menu in the Rooftop restaurant which has some excellent views you could look at all day long, the food was very high standard and very tasty, the service was really good too although a little more time between courses would have been better, we felt it was a bit rushed. But over all this is a lovely hotel to relax in and enjoy good food and excellent service. We will definitely be recommending Knock Castle and we will be returning hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear strawberry21 thank you for all your comments. The beautician Lynn she is spa manager she is very experienced and we are glad you enjoyed treatments and all facilities as well. We are trying to improve our facilities and service so all comments are good for improvement. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having booked a suite at £378 for two night’s bed and breakfast we were expecting a high standard of accommodation. Instead we were greeted with a dirty bathroom, the bin had not been emptied, the pillow cases had huge holes and the towels were stained and also had large holes. The condition of the gym equipment was poor; the equipment was old and poorly maintained. I got an electric shock from the running machine. We have stayed in a number of hotels throughout Scotland; unfortunately our stay at Knock Castle has been our worst experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank LouiseAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay,on check in you are quite correct your room had not been serviced correctly when you brought it too our attention it was addressed very quickly with it being serviced properly and a complimentary bottle of bubbles being placed in the room for when you returned,
At the time it was addressed with the housekeeping and i think rectified very quickly and also when reduced the cost of your stay, by no way are these excuses but i think in conjunction to your 2 reviews on 2 different sites i think that how we handled the issue is very important to the experience.
I am not sure how you received an electric shock with the running machine as i have just had an engineer in this morning and all the machines are earthed correctly, he suggested a friction but hard to say.
i am aware that these things shouldn't happen in the first place and can assure you will be addressing it with the departments involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
575 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,089 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $128 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing