We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
715
209
112
48
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
209
112
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantdrummond suitelady macbraynelady mary suitesunken bathbar menusteam roomfirst classswimming pooldeluxe roomrisottofour poster bedseparate buildingthe main hotelthe general managerleisure facilities arerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want a relaxing break with top quality food then this is the place. We stayed in the annexe which is a couple of hundred metres from the main hotel. The room was spacious and traditional although bathroom was in need of modernisation. The evening meal was simply marvellous and the freshly cooked breakfast equally good, 10/10. The Rooftop restaurant was stunning, amazing views. Staff were excellent, very friendly but not over powering. The only slight downside was the leisure/spa facilities, which are not in keeping with the 4* hotel. The changing rooms, toilets and shower area is basic and dated and could do with being refurbished. The gym is similar as the machines, particularly the treadmills are old and need updating. Overall though this is a great hotel and could be a great spa with a bit of TLC. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Martin L,
Thank you for your comments.We are refurbishing all gym and changing rooms as we speak so next time when you will come everything will be updated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My daughter booked Knock Castle as a 25th Wedding anniversary gift for us through the internet. The drive way to the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the hotel was very inviting. On arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded free of charge and we got vouchers for a free cocktail in the roof top bar.! We were shown to our room which had a beautiful 4 poster bed, a Jacuzzi bath and fabulous views of the garden. The hotel had also organised flowers and chocolates to be in our room that family members had contacted them about. the flowers were so lovely and the hotel-made chocolates were amazing! what a nice service to offer. My husband and I had also pre-booked a couples massage and the treatment and staff were first class and the prices were very reasonable. The receptionist and the bar staff were extremely professional and friendly. The views form the roof top bar were breathtaking as the sun went down and we drank our free cocktail. The leisure facilities were really nice, the changing rooms could do with a little upgrading but they were suffice. We had sole use of the pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi before our departure. We also sat late in the afternoon in the garden summer house and enjoyed the views - which felt so romantic. Breakfast was well organised and the staff as usual were very attentive and made us feel very special. The food was freshly prepared and was of very high quality. Thank you Knock Castle - an Anniversary we will cherish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Colinton88 thank you, thank you for your comments. We are very happy that we’ve made you day special and you felt special as you suppose to on a day you were celebrating your anniversary. Hope will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Knock castle is a little sanctuary on the edge of Crieff with good lesiure & spa facilities - ideal for a break with friends. We were delighted with the fantastic and personal service we received from staff - it was more like staying with really good friends for a night in a rather splendid house! The staff were simply a breath of fresh air taking pride in their hotel and everyone was particularly welcoming and accommodating. The piano lounge was lovely to relax in after dinner and we had an enjoyable evening chatting to other guests. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor suite which was lovely - with a particularly nice and roomy top of teh range en suite with bath and walk in shower.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auds214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for all nice words Auds214.We are very delighted that you felt at the hotel as in your friends house. If you will be planning coming back to Knock Castle please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be more than happy to look after you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found this hotel through an online deal. What a great little hidden gem. All the staff are very friendly & welcoming. We upgraded to the Strathearn room, which was gorgeous, worth the extra for a romantic time. We both had beauty treatments which were so relaxing and the lady (beautician) was so lovely and professional. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the jacuzzi,pool & steam room but only fault would be there was no spinner to spin our wet swimwear. We had the taster menu in the Rooftop restaurant which has some excellent views you could look at all day long, the food was very high standard and very tasty, the service was really good too although a little more time between courses would have been better, we felt it was a bit rushed. But over all this is a lovely hotel to relax in and enjoy good food and excellent service. We will definitely be recommending Knock Castle and we will be returning hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear strawberry21 thank you for all your comments. The beautician Lynn she is spa manager she is very experienced and we are glad you enjoyed treatments and all facilities as well. We are trying to improve our facilities and service so all comments are good for improvement. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having booked a suite at £378 for two night’s bed and breakfast we were expecting a high standard of accommodation. Instead we were greeted with a dirty bathroom, the bin had not been emptied, the pillow cases had huge holes and the towels were stained and also had large holes. The condition of the gym equipment was poor; the equipment was old and poorly maintained. I got an electric shock from the running machine. We have stayed in a number of hotels throughout Scotland; unfortunately our stay at Knock Castle has been our worst experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank LouiseAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay,on check in you are quite correct your room had not been serviced correctly when you brought it too our attention it was addressed very quickly with it being serviced properly and a complimentary bottle of bubbles being placed in the room for when you returned,
At the time it was addressed with the housekeeping and i think rectified very quickly and also when reduced the cost of your stay, by no way are these excuses but i think in conjunction to your 2 reviews on 2 different sites i think that how we handled the issue is very important to the experience.
I am not sure how you received an electric shock with the running machine as i have just had an engineer in this morning and all the machines are earthed correctly, he suggested a friction but hard to say.
i am aware that these things shouldn't happen in the first place and can assure you will be addressing it with the departments involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews