We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveler rating
714
209
111
48
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
209
111
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantdrummond suitelady macbraynelady mary suitesunken bathbar menusteam roomfirst classswimming pooldeluxe roomrisottofour poster bedseparate buildingthe main hotelthe general managerleisure facilities arerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found this hotel through an online deal. What a great little hidden gem. All the staff are very friendly & welcoming. We upgraded to the Strathearn room, which was gorgeous, worth the extra for a romantic time. We both had beauty treatments which were so relaxing and the lady (beautician) was so lovely and professional. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the jacuzzi,pool & steam room but only fault would be there was no spinner to spin our wet swimwear. We had the taster menu in the Rooftop restaurant which has some excellent views you could look at all day long, the food was very high standard and very tasty, the service was really good too although a little more time between courses would have been better, we felt it was a bit rushed. But over all this is a lovely hotel to relax in and enjoy good food and excellent service. We will definitely be recommending Knock Castle and we will be returning hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear strawberry21 thank you for all your comments. The beautician Lynn she is spa manager she is very experienced and we are glad you enjoyed treatments and all facilities as well. We are trying to improve our facilities and service so all comments are good for improvement. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having booked a suite at £378 for two night’s bed and breakfast we were expecting a high standard of accommodation. Instead we were greeted with a dirty bathroom, the bin had not been emptied, the pillow cases had huge holes and the towels were stained and also had large holes. The condition of the gym equipment was poor; the equipment was old and poorly maintained. I got an electric shock from the running machine. We have stayed in a number of hotels throughout Scotland; unfortunately our stay at Knock Castle has been our worst experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank LouiseAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay,on check in you are quite correct your room had not been serviced correctly when you brought it too our attention it was addressed very quickly with it being serviced properly and a complimentary bottle of bubbles being placed in the room for when you returned,
At the time it was addressed with the housekeeping and i think rectified very quickly and also when reduced the cost of your stay, by no way are these excuses but i think in conjunction to your 2 reviews on 2 different sites i think that how we handled the issue is very important to the experience.
I am not sure how you received an electric shock with the running machine as i have just had an engineer in this morning and all the machines are earthed correctly, he suggested a friction but hard to say.
i am aware that these things shouldn't happen in the first place and can assure you will be addressing it with the departments involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

had dinner in the rooftop restuarant then drinks in the lounge downstairs company of the other guests was excellant good fun everyone got on great and we all had a bit of laugh staff were very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear liz s thank you for another review. Glad you had a great time with other guests and hope will see you soon again back at Knock Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is set in lovely gardens in a very quiet location. Stayed in the lodge and the room was very spacious with an excellent view from the large bay window. Very quiet room, day and night. Few minutes walk to the main hotel. Spa facilities were quiet and relaxing, good sauna. Could have done with a drinks cooler and a spinner for the swimsuits, otherwise fine. Food in the rooftop resturant was excellent, though not cheap. The bars were hardly used although I'd say this is definatly more of a quiet time than a party hotel. Walk down to Crieff is only about 15 minutes, downhill, though would be a lot longer on the, uphill, way back. Good place to unwind and recharge the batteries. And no weans!

Room Tip: Loch Leven room in the lodge; lovely views, spacious, quiet. Can't coment on the other rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for all comments you’ve made Lesleyjoh. Firstly it’s good that you recharged your batteries and had a good time. With the drinks cooler we are in a process to put a new vending machine in there so when you will come back next time hope everything will be sorted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Knock Castle has impressed me by two main features - amazing location and very friendly and helpful stuff. The owner of the hotel meets you personally at the railway station and your cozy vacations start.

Room Tip: Single rooms are ok, though the bed is small. The rest of the rooms is spacious and sunny!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Yeliel, thank you for your nice words and comments. We are trying to do the best for our guest and nothing is a big problem for us and we are glad that you had a nice stay with us and we've made everything going smoothly for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews