We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here the night before Hogmany with my girlfriend. We got an extremely good deal on the hotel for the night through Laterooms so thought we would try it out.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist (called Lindsay I think?!) who made us feel welcome and explained a few things about the hotel to us. Our room was situated in the castle lodge, which is just a short walk away from the main hotel. The room itself was very spacious and clean and had a king sized bed in it and although the decor might seem slightly dated compared to modern hotels, it's perfectly in keeping with a Scottish castle/country house.

We ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent and the waiters/waitresses were all very helpful and friendly. The service could not be faulted at all.

All in all, it's a nice hotel with friendly staff and I just regret not staying for a bit longer or making use of the spa facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanM240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear RyanM240,
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay and hopefully will see you back again for a bit longer so you can enjoy much more next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    190
    97
    42
    35
See reviews for
113
610
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel and the staff were very nice.
The receptionists were particularly helpful and the young lady we were greeted by made us (and our dog) feel very welcome.
We were staying in the lodge which is nice though a little old fashioned but very comfortable.
The only issue I had was that although we paid a supplement to bring our dog and verified areas where in the hotel we could take him, we found that hotel staff themselves were uncertain of the policy.
In some cases we found that areas where we were OK to take the dog one day was "tolerated" the next day.
Other than this it was a nice break.
I have reviewed the restaurant separately.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Clanranald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Clanranald,
Thank you for taking your time and post a review.We are happy that you had a good stay and coming back to the issue with areas you could take your dog we trained all our staff so now everybody are aware of the policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with gorgeous views and room. Lovely staff and great location. The facilities were superb with spa and pool etc.

The rooftop restaurant was a real highlight. The food was excellent as was the service and wine list.

Try to get a recently refurbished room. Our room was large with lovely, comfortable furnishings and a large, recently revamped bathroom.

We had massages and used the pool which had a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Very relaxing.

The hotel is in a great location - the picturesque town of Crieff - only and hour or so from Edinburgh and Glasgow - if you fancy getting away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Catwoman0770,
Thank you for your lovely comments we are glad that you had a such amazing time and we are glad we meet your expectation and hope will see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the Knock Casle Hotel in December as part of my Christmas present. On arriving we were upgraded and were allocated a beautiful room with a king size bed, fluffy gowns and slippers and a bath situated in the bedroom in front of the window (which was on 2nd floor so no-one could see in but we had uninterrupted views of the snow covered hills. I had a massage which was very relaxing and the we went for a swim and sauna before an excellent dinner in the rooftop restaurant. The staff were amazing and all in all it was a terrific experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangers1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear rangers1956,
thank you for your nice review ,we are glad that part of your Christmas present was very good and hope you will come back soon so you can have another good experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very pretty location for the castle and well thought out use of the space in the room. The bathroom within the castle tower was a really nice surprise.

Food was excellent, The starters and main courses were delightful and sadly did not have any room for desserts, albeit, they looked very good! A 5 star review

We only had the one night there, would of loved to have stayed a lot longer and will no doubt return in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Rob G,
Thank you for your very nice comments and that you had amazing stay and hope next time you will come back for longer stay to treat yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley west Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As the title suggests. I got an excellent deal however instead of staying in the main castle, this time I was in the Lodge. I have to admit I was a trifle disappointed not to be staying in the castle itself, however it did say this on the booking form ,so I could hardly complain. It was a very nice walk indeed through a woodland path back to the castle some 300 yds if i recall correctly on the board.This is uphill however, hardly the south face of the Eiger, but nonetheless a bit of a pull perhaps for more elderly visitors plus then there is some fairly steep steps up to the castle. The Lodge is very nice indeed, as nice if not more so than the castle itself, with it's own very comfortable lounge with large TV, open fire and reclining leather sofas, perfect after a long day on the road and endless meetings. The Evening menu is a little on the expensive side and a rather lacking in choice if i'm honest although I don't doubt the quality for a second, I ate from the bar menu on this occasion which was excellent quality and better priced. Finally the Gym, Sauna etc. which might not be the best out there, but it was clean everything worked and time slipped away in the Jacuzzi. Would I stay again? Yes. I've stayed in much more expensive hotels than this and I like what they do here, oh and if you do have a "wee dram" after dinner and why wouldn't you? Either spend a while in the Piano room ( I only wish I could play more than chopsticks) or the small snug just up from reception. Gin and Tonics were made for such things

Room Tip: The Lodge is excellent look on last minute for a deal my room should have been £130 but I got it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank game_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Richard and we will be more than happy to look after you.
May i just point out we have 4 menus to choose from the bar being a choice of 6 starters 6 mains and 6 desserts also we have the menu of the day which is 3 starters 3 mains and 3 desserts price being £25 for 2 courses and £30 for 3 and then we have the a la carte again 3 starters 3 mains and 3 desserts all individually priced which in total gives 12 starters 12 mains and 12 desserts i can only think that you were not given all menus which is a large pull for our guests as they can bounce from menu to menu not having to stick to one menu for the evening giving the guest a larger selection.
Im happy that you enjoyed the piano room as it is one of my favorite rooms please on returning contact me personally where i would be happy to look after you and even cook you something off the menu as i regularly do for some guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really disappointed with our stay at Knock Castle. Our room was in the lodge and not good value at £110. The finish and detail was budget from the curtains that wouldn't close, the beds with exposed bases and un-ironed sheets to the Ikea mugs for tea (labels were still on the base). My main concern was a couple of safety items - a plug-in airfreshener which was empty but still switched on, a fire hazard and an electric kettle switched on but empty and as a result was switching itself off and on. None of the appliances had electrical safety check labels. But what made me really angry was the note in the bathroom stating that we had 2 towels each and if any were missing when we left, we would be charged - I've never seen that in a quality hotel. Also, watch out for the bill, they charge 2% for using a credit card - again I've never seen that in a hotel - even the small B&B we stayed in a week earlier did not charge for credit cards. All these things could be very easily sorted and wouldn't cost a lot; maybe then the accommodation would live up to the high standard found in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Videoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Im very sorry to hear that you never enjoyed your stay with us and you will be happy to hear that the lodge will be upgraded to a castle deluxe standard in early 2013
i can only apologize in reference to the airfreshner plug ins and i have implemented a new procedure and training to ensure this doesn't happen again.I am sorry about this as this is why i removed your drinks from the bill and the bottle of wine which i thought you were happy with at the time.
The hotel P.A.T testing is done annually and i have records to back this and can only suggest that with high usage and moment some may have fallen off but i have recently gone round and any that never had has been retested and stamped.
We do have a sticker in the bathroom yes but it says about our green policy and how we care about the environment and how to leave them in the bath or shower if you would like them replaced and if not to hang them up and since alot of people do tend to take a souvenir we do state that if towels or bathrobes do go missing they will be charged which i dont think is unfair.
And yes we do charge a 2% handling fee on credit cards and 4% on amex which is to cover bank charges as it mentions on the website on our terms and conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
539 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,898 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,784 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing