We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Haledon, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go for the food!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I (both in our early 20's) went on a Eurotrip/honeymoon which included a stay at Knock Castle in Crieff, Scotland, in July. (About 2 weeks into our trip)

Quick Version:

Pro's- The food is incredible, the scenic area is gorgeous, the gardens are lovely, the indoor pool/jacuzzi area is wonderful and the manager/ chef/ food/ wait staff are amazing.

Con's- The reception staff and spa staff need to be replaced with more competent, friendly, helpful and qualified/skilled people. Don't expect that your reservations or wake up calls will actually be there. The massages are not good. The rooms could be updated/fixed up a bit. Our bathtub was broken.


Long Version:
We were to be in Scotland for just 1 day and decided to spend that 1 day/night at a nice luxurious spa castle. We arrived at Knock Castle, exhausted from travel, at about 3:00pm. I had booked a spa appointment months in advance for a couples massage to be at 4:30pm that same day and even emailed the spa director ahead of time to make sure that it was confirmed.

When we arrived, we just wanted to check in, unpack, relax for a moment and head to the spa. Sadly, the receptionists had lost our spa reservations and told us that they were completely booked and that there was nothing we could do. We got a little frustrated but thankfully, I had printed out and brought with me a copy of the email I had gotten from the spa director, confirming the reservations. The receptionists then told us that they could possibly fit us in right then. We were a bit upset about having to fight for our reservations and then frazzled having to go to the spa, but at least we were getting the massages.

Well, the massages were pretty terrible. There was an extreme lack of pressure and consistency. My husband got one of his calves gently rubbed for about 40 minutes out of the hour long massage. Needless to say, this was not a great start to our stay.

The room was ok. It was a bit outdated but cute. The bathroom had this glorious jetted tub that unfortunately, was broken... We went back to the reception desk to see if they could have it fixed and they just told us that it worked. They refused to look at it, and just kept telling us that it worked, even though we had just fussed with it for about an hour, trying to turn it on, and it was most definitely broken.

We then went to the bar, got some drinks and a plate of Haggis because I always wanted to try it! I thought it was good but my husband couldn't stand the thought of what he was eating. The bar tenders/ waiters/ waitresses are all very nice and accommodating.

Then we walked around the grounds, which were stunning. There is a wonderful indoor pool/jacuzzi area surrounded by beautiful scenery and gardens. It was lovely. We met the Chef/Manager of the hotel in the stairway who was super nice. We quickly shared our passion for cooking/food as we are both chefs and he offered to buy us drinks with dinner!

Shortly thereafter, we had a FANTASTIC dinner. We started with some wine and while we were deciding on our entree's, the waitress brought over this huge plate of haggis. I was like "Im sorry, we didn't order this" (keep in mind we had just tried a big plate of haggis a few hours earlier). She took it back to the kitchen, then showed up a minute later, placing it in front of us and saying "Compliments of the chef, SORRY". It was so funny! We got the steak and salmon dishes and everything was impeccable.

Later, we went to the reception desk and asked them to schedule us a wakeup call for 7:30 am because we had a flight to catch in the morning, still wanted to catch the free breakfast that we had paid for in our reservation and be able to explore a bit of Scotland for at least an hour before driving back to the airport.

WELL, once again, the receptionists messed up, because we woke up at 9:50 am. I was so upset!! My husband ran down to reception to see what the hell happened while I scrambled to pack up our stuff. Reception said that the wakeup call machine must have broken and said that they would throw some breakfast in a bag-to-go for us. We ran down, paid for the visit (which was mostly comped at that point) and headed straight to the airport. Upon opening the breakfast-to-go bag we found 2 overripe and bruised pears, 2 soggy ham sandwiches and 2 sparkling apple beverages. We couldn't help but laugh. We couldn't eat the soggy sandwiches or smushy pears, but the sparkling apple juice was great!

TIP: On the way to Knock Castle, stop by the Bird House Cafe in Muthill, Scotland for some tea and scones! The little town is super cute and the cafe is very quaint.


To the owner/manager
-Please get a new reception and spa staff, they are the only reason complaints
-The food is INCREDIBLE, keep up the good work!
-We would love to find out what brand of sparkling apple juice that was! It really was great. lol

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Im glad overall you had a good stay but im sorry that your check in was not as efficient as should be, it was unfortunate that there was a double booking for your treatments but im glad we managed to get you complimentary ones organised.
Im a little surprised by your comment on the treatments being terrible as the therapists are trained to speak to the guest at the time of the treatment in order to see what works best for the guest,and when i spoke to you when you were here i never knew anything about this and as you see from other reviews the treatments are very popular.
As you might have guessed from all the other reviews around ,since you visited us 5 months ago we have a new team on reception who i must admit are wonderful and much more professional .
In regards to the early call it was unfortunate that the computer that does the early calls somehow ended up switching itself off again this is no excuse merely and explanation.
I was a wondering about the sandwiches and finally it came to me about how could they be soggy they were actually 2 hot freshly prepared bacon rolls that were ment to be eaten in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    191
    97
    42
    35
See reviews for
113
612
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived early at the Knock Castle Hotel and Spa and were advised that our room would be ready at 3pm but if we wished to use the spa facilities to go ahead and come back when finished for the key, the very helpful receptionist checked us in and pointed us in the direction of the spa.

The spa area is lovely, the facilities were great and we enjoyed a lovely hour or so just chilling.

We arrived at our room which was in the Lodge and wow what a view from the room - lovely!

The room was spacious, clean and the bed super comfy - just what you need for a great sleep.

The food in the hotel is very good, we had both dinner and breakfast which was faultless and the food was delicious.

Overall a fantastic stay - I'm only sorry we couldn't stay longer.

Thanks Knock Castle - It was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am very happy to read what a wonderful time you had with your stay at Knock Castle and i am very happy to hear how the staff looked after you and we would be more than happy ot welmoce your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay for our honeymoon and I just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. All of the staff we encountered were truly genuine and dedicated to giving first class service, and Jason - the manager and chef - has my upmost respect; not only does he create world class delicious food, but he works there from dawn to dusk with his staff to ensure everyone feels right at home. He absolutely achieves that.
The room was spacious (decorated in keeping with the rustic surroundings so anyone who suggests it's dated needs shot...) and the bed was heavenly comfortable! I thoroughly enjoyed a little treatment in the egg, use of the perfect little swimming pool, and a beautiful stroll through the gardens with all it's lovely little nooks and crannies! I didn't want to leave!
I will absolutely be back time and time again, and I want to thank all of the staff for making it an unforgettable experience for us!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady MacBrayne suite - jacuzzi bath, a beautiful comfortable four poster bed and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are very happy they you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyth
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

we arrived on sat night a treat for my mums 70th birthday from myself and my sister! what a warm friendly welcome on arrival and since it was a special occasion we were kindly upgraded!!! rooms were perfect, dinner amazing and staff could not do enough for us, very cheery helpful team well done! same in morning staff still cheery breakfast was fantastic! all round a very enjoyable stay! will definately be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Shonz2 for your kind words i will be sure to pass them to the rest of the staff.We hope to see your return to Knock castle soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned from a relaxing few days here. Lovely old building with character and charm retained. Staff very pleasant and helpful and food in Rooftop restaurant was great. Fantastic bath with a view in our room, only trouble was the time it took for the hot water to reach us and then fill it!! Pool area was very quiet, had it all to ourselves most times. A hotel that we would recommend to friends and certainly return to.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rainie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Rainie B for your very nice review of Knock Castle. With it being an older building sometimes it can take a little time for the hot water to reach the furthur away rooms (from the boiler)but never the less i am very happy to read how much you enjoyed the facilities here and we would be more than happy to welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Second visit to this charming hotel.

Stayed in the very large Drummond Room which would have very nice views on a clear day, but it was a misty weekend.

After a swim and sauna in the spa centre it was time for a very nice meal in the restaurant. Good range of food and drink on offer with attentive staff.

Breakfast very nice and another swim before it was time to go.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Daniel F as a regular guest at Knock Castle we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities once again and wish your experiences only get better.As a regular Guest please contact us directly and we would be more than happy to look after you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in October. The standard of service and the food were excellent. The staff could not be any nicer. Amy in the restaurant was always pleasant and very helpful. The reception staff were great - thanks Hannah! We will definately be back and will recommend this hotel to friends. We had intended eating out on one of the nights but the standard of the restaurant food was so high we ate at the hotel on both nights. Excellent chef!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Joan C for your very nice comments on your stay with us.I it very nice to hear the comments on the staff here at the hotel.I do have to admit i am very lucky to have such a wonderful team of staff that really care about what they do but it is always nice to hear it from the guests as it means alot to all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
539 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,900 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Property: Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing