We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First impression was the staff were efficient and friendly. The spa is in fact an out building more conservatory style. The room was adequate but dated. Now where they only score a 3 is no bath mat, no spare loo roll and the hair dryer should have been condemned. We moved from the room to use the WiFi, which was easily accessible in the bar area. The bar staff were friendly and very willing to help with hotel and local area information. The food was lovely in the evening, breakfast however was thrifty size portions. Overall an average pit stop.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lodge rooms which is detached from the main castle. We can't vouch for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravellers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night in a deluxe room and overall, really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is in a lovely secluded location with great views and fantastic woodland and gardens. Service was good and so was the food, mostly! My only gripes were the lack of bread rolls at dinner (sliced bread not really being acceptable) and a miniscule salmon starter, that (fortunately) was followed by a delicious and well portioned Sea bass.
The breakfast buffet could be a bit more varied and I would recommend that the hotel purchases jugs with ice tubes, to keep the juices at a better temperature. Lastly, please do away with the 2 percent credit card surcharge, which I feel is penny pinching given the premium pricing of the hotel. The pool, hot tub and sauna were all great, and not too busy, which was a bonus. All staff were great, friendly reception on arrival and nice staff in the restaurant, especially the young waiter and very friendly and interested waitress. Thanks to Matt (the duty manager) too, who was as attentive and friendly, as ever!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philtheanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Philtheanimal,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Knock Castle. The leisure facilities are a fantastic way to relax and the peaceful setting really helps to emphasise this. The staff really enjoy giving guests good customer service to all our guests and will be extremely happy with your comments. Thank you for your helpful feedback on various aspects of the hotel and we will look to take these on board to further improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent wee hotel. Very friendly and professional staff and lovely facilities. The rooms are great with a lovely modern bathroom and the rooftop bar, restaurant and terrace are gorgeous.

Excellent wee hotel. Very friendly and professional staff and lovely facilities. The rooms are great with a lovely modern bathroom and the rooftop bar, restaurant and terrace are gorgeous.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Scoosher,

Thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us so we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much . Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here in September on a Saturday night . The staff there were very pleasant during my stay but there seemed to be a distinct lack of them. During dinner it took more than 45 minutes to get a bottle of wine which wasn’t even opened till after our starter was served but then only when I went in search of a corkscrew and opened the bottle myself. The food was great all fresh and prepared to high standard, a tad expensive but if the service was a little better it would have been worth it. Breakfast portions as some of the reviews have hinted were pitiful we were told that if we wanted more just to order more food but there was also a lack of variety of other continental items and we left feeling a bit unfulfilled. The building outside and grounds were lovely but inside it just felt a bit tired we stayed in a suite which was in need of some TLC it was a bit dusty and looked a little dated. Very modern slick bathroom but just felt out of place with the old broken ornaments and curtains that hung off the windows in the rest of the room. Maybe just a bad weekend for the hotel the pool was off and perhaps short staffed but given the string of disappointments in the short time we spent there it meant this wasn't a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were given a voucher for a one night stay with DBB and a massage at this hotel. We had never heard of it before so were really looking forward to staying there. We called the hotel to see if we could add extra nights to turn it into a weeks stay. Lindsey the receptionist was amazing she said she would speak to her manager to see if we could get a 3 for 2 midweek break. Sadly the reply came back no and at £259 per night we refused to pay £700 for a three nights stay. Anyway we arrived on 19th Sept and were pleasantly surprised. We were in a Deluxe Castle room and it was beautiful. Massive four poster bed which was very plush. The quality of the linen and towels was first class - all felt very luxurious.

The restuarant was great and the food was too. However some small improvements might have made the experience better. Firstly the dining room tables have a metal bar half way down the legs. This meant I could not cross my legs (which i do a lot!) and my husband who is very tall had the bar pressing down on his legs the whole meal. The bread we were given with the soup was just a random slice out a bag - fresh bread or bread rolls would have been better. There was no steak knife to eat my steak with. Also there was a synthetic butter in the evening but real butter at breakfast - would have preferred real butter at all times. The view from the dining room is spectacular - the staff were great too. Breakfast was delicious.

Unfortunately for us the pool was out of action - would have loved to have experienced it. Also as it was pouring with rain we could not enjoy what appeared to be beautiful gardens. We ended up spending a rainy afternoon in the hotel room. I loved that they had a small cinema. Would I return again? Probably but i would phone ahead to check the pool was working and i am not sure I would pay £259 per night either. Really glad we went though it was just a shame we had to move on after one night. We spent the rest of the week in Dunkeld which was also lovely.

Room Tip: Deluxe Castle rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at Knock castle, first impressions of the hotel were good, very dissappointed that the pool was out of order as this was one of the main reasons for booking this hotel. The restaurant was very busy on the saturday night and the service was a bit dissapointing, but the next 2 nights were fine. Breakfasts were good but you shouldnt need to be asked twice what your surname is!! the room was fine but house keeping could be improved upon, dust flying out of the extractor fan whilst you are having a bath isnt good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Securing a late booking meant having a family room in the Lodge where we enjoyed panoramic views of Crieff and beyond. The Lodge accommodation is a pleasant walk uphill to the Hotel. The pool and sauna were well utilised by us and proved a huge hit! Very pleasant and attentive breakfast staff started our day with a hearty delicious breakfast.

This is a great place to stay!

The only negative was that the parking at the Lodge was very sparse therefore we had to park in the Hotel carpark.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions and tell them what you want ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear ToodlesG

I’m glad you had such a lovely stay at our hotel and that your time in the pool was well spent. I find that the pool combined with the beautiful views surrounding the hotel creates such a peaceful atmosphere and it sounds like you felt the same. Your comment on the Lodge parking has been taken on board and hopefully this is something we can look to extend when doing further refurbishment of the hotel & grounds. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel and your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.5 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
587 reviews
13.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,182 reviews
22.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
15.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knock Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: Drummond Terrace, Crieff PH7 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $104 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knock Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for great Scottish hospitality, award-winning food, stunning countryside and a luxurious country retreat, Knock Castle has it all. You could be in search of a quiet meal out together, a weekend break in the heart of Scotland, an unrivalled wedding venue or a great place for business - you’ll find we offer exactly what you require and real value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knock Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knock Castle Hotel Crieff
Knock Castle Hotel And Spa
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing