We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
715
209
112
48
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
209
112
48
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantdrummond suitelady macbraynelady mary suitesunken bathbar menusteam roomfirst classswimming pooldeluxe roomrisottofour poster bedseparate buildingthe main hotelthe general managerleisure facilities arerelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We usually go for lunch on my wife's day off usually to the Gloagburn which is only next door.. but today decided to drive to Crieff to see what was what only 14 miles away. Seeing the good reviews on trip Advisor for the Rooftop Restaurant at Knock Castle decided to give it a try. The castle it self is a grand old house with very nice extensive gardens. Met by the staff member who was very attentive. I had the Haggis cakes as a starter beautifully presented, followed by our main course -we both ordered the Venison Burger which is served with a soft cheese topping and marmalade onions with a generous portion of chips and salad, followed by Chocolate brownie and Ice Cream and Sticky Toffey pudding with Ice Cream. Very generous portions each time . Everything is prepared for the diner freshly made and even with this service was not at all slow. Very Reasonably priced -Combined with the nice decor and the stunning views across to the Perthshire Hills this is a gem of a place which I wish we had visited before. Definately be returning soon..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Philscat

I’m so glad you enjoyed your experience in the Rooftop restaurant. We like to provide guests with food of good value for money through quality and quantity and it’s lovely to hear this was so well appreciated by yourself. The chefs take great pleasure in creating the perfect presentation for the food so that it looks appealing to the eye as well as the tastebuds! Thank you for choosing to try our Rooftop restaurant and we hope that this will be the first of many more visits to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for one night with my sister. Both enjoyed a massage before chilling out in the spa. Sauna was out of order steam room smelled of stale smoke but the pool was nice- housed in large conservatory so was lovely and light. Enjoyed a wee dip in the cosy jacuzzi- very nice way to spend a Thursday afternoon.
We decided to go for a walk into the Town (about 15 mins away) having a good old nosey at the beautiful sandstone houses en route. Lovely wee town- found an absolute gem of a restaurant called Yann's before heading back to enjoy a glass of bubbly on the terrace as the sun came down. Bar staff were very friendly and terrace was lovely to sit out on (on top floor) it was sheltered and had patio heaters so comfortable to sit out even after the sun was gone.
Rooms were pretty basic actually but dressing gowns n slippers provided and were spotlessly clean.
Only ate in the restaurant for breakfast- which was fab. The dinner menu though looked ok but uninspiring so I'd definitely recommend a walk into Crieff to eat- loads of choice there but Yanns was amazing- and mobbed so I'd book ahead!
I'd definitely go back. Great wee girlie day but nice family place too so might take hubby & kids next time. My kids would love the wee 12 seat cinema and the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Knock Castle Hotel and Spa. Your comments have been noted, and we hope that you will find an opportunity to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have recently returned from a four day stay at Knock Castle. The stay was to celebrate one of our parties 80th birthday, we are in our 50's. The elders stayed in the Drummond suite and we stayed in a double room. The hotel was a beautiful place to stay. Our accomodation included breakfast and evening meals and the food was exactly what you would expect from watching the video on the website, first class. The choice of food was terrific but unfortunatley it was a little to rich for one of our party, no worry at breakfast he would tell the chef what he would like for his evening meal and the chef accomodated him every day. The pool was terrific with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, there was also a gym with all the modern day equipment one would expect and some free weights. The beauty treatments were reasonably priced and much enjoyed by the females in the party. Yes its a little more expensive than some but from the moment you arrive you are made to feel that you are someone special and the staff go that extra mile with their manner and helpfullness, flowers put in rooms on arrival (small extra cost) meals in rooms when required, daily paper delivered to room, so that at the end of the day you know it has been money well spent.

Room Tip: If its something special, book a suite in the Hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Kev N

We believe that all guests should be made to feel special, whether its a special occasion or just a relaxing break away, so I’m so pleased that you felt so well looked after. The Drummond Room was a fantastic choice for a special occasion and, combined with the treatments, is just such a luxurious way to relax. It’s brilliant to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a spa package with dinner bed and breakfast included, arrived for a light lunch before using the spa facilities and was able to book into our room early. Lunch in the rooftop resturant was lovely and very good value with an amazing view over the Perthshire hills. The beauty treatments were a real luxuary and all the staff very warm, freindly, helpfull and professional. Dinner was a real treat with lovely fresh food of excellent quality. All in all our stay was very enjoyable and just what we were hoping for, a lovely relaxing weekend with good food and wine.We will definaltey be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizhill13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhenderson_8, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Lizhill13c

It’s lovely to hear that your stay was so relaxing and everything that you were hoping for. At Knock Castle it is very important to us that all departments of the hotel are of equally high standard, from the welcome at Reception to the Restaurant to the Spa, so I’m thoroughly happy that everything was so perfect for you. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We decided to see if there was a last minute availability for my wife and two young children. Well what a decision that was. We had a fantastic lodge room surrounded by the garden area which contains a small picturesque path that guides you to the hotel itself. On arriving for our meal we were given such personal and one to one service from all the staff, which makes such a pleasantry when involving young children. As for the roof top restaurant with it's panoramic views of the finest of Perthshire countryside, the menu and food choice was just as satisfying to both the eyes and taste buds!. Which brings me onto the Chef in question, and general manager Jason, whom could not have been more helpful and outgoing in ensuring we had great food in a great atmosphere. Many thanks again for a memorable stay at great prices, and leaving an endearing memory for the four of us.

Gus and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Angus S,

Thank you for your lovely comments we are very happy that you had an amazing time and we will be more than happy to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews