We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely end to a great day”
Review of Merlindale B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merlindale B&B
Ranked #5 of 27 Crieff B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Yesterday I experienced a bird of prey event - out of this world. I had booked in to the Merlindale B&B, for my wife and myself, thinking it was adjacent to the bird centre - however the event location had been changed to Bridge of Cally just north of Blairgowrie - we were, to say the least, dissappointed.
However I arrived at the Merlindale and was overwhelmed with the warmth of the reception we received from Jackie. The quality of the rooms, both public and bedrooms, are superb and the bathroom is to die for. We thought it could not get better until we went for breakfast and met John, who officiates in the dining room and provides a very warm welcome in the morning, introduces all who are staying and serves a breakfast fit for a king. On departure it was like leaving well known friends.
On arrival we asked about local eating places - Jackie recommended "The Lounge" in the town centre. We tried it - hospitality was very warming, the meal superb and the price very acceptable.
Would we recommend the Merlindale? - DEFINITELY - if you don't go you will never know what you are missing. Likewise with The Lounge - 10/15 minute walk from the Merlindale.
I know one thing for sure - we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Merlindale offers everyone young and old a nice and relaxed approach to their stay in Crieff and Perthshire.
Rooms were very comfortable and exceptionally well presented including little extras such as fresh fruit, chocolates and selection of toiletries to pamper oneself.
A wide variety of choices for breakfast including a personalised "cooked breakfast".
We returned to Merlindale after fifteens years when we had originally stayed for our honeymoon. It was delightful to receive the same warm welcome from John and Jacky and hope that we will visit again as it is an excellent location with plenty to offer.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We found this delightful B and B quite by chance -- what a happy accident!
Beautiful rooms, thoughtfully equipped, with lovely additional extras - a bowl of fruit replenished daily, and delicious chocolates too!
As many others have already mentioned, Jacky and John go out of their way to make their guests feel at home, and they gi e the impression that nothing is too much trouble.
We have no hesitation in recommending Merlindale as a lovely place to stay, if you find yourself in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked imaginatively decorated and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely and immaculate B&B. Rooms were spacious and bathroom with roll top bath and shower were bliss. Breakfast were delicious, particularly the homemade jams/yoghurts. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the1andonlytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Merlindale, with John and Jacky and family, for many years - and have been privileged to see their lovely children grow from loving children to mature charming young adults. The accommodation is peerless, the food is exceptional, and the atmosphere of warmth and generosity of spirit has to be experienced to appreciate. It is a vitally necessary start to every one of our annual visits to Scotland - without which, we feel there is no holiday. Both Jacky and John deserve every credit for "going that extra mile" for their visitors.
Sylvia and Grenvil Barnard

Room Tip: It is not possible to choose a poor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grenvil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Jacky and John made my stay awesome. They made me feel at home. I was looking for a b&b close to Famous Grouse Experience, Merlindale was perfectly located and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic. Awesome excellent place to stay in. Great room. Now off to the local

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanDames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crieff hotels
0.3 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westacre Lodge
Westacre Lodge
#4 of 27 in Crieff
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilybank House
Lilybank House
#13 of 27 in Crieff
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newstead Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlindale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlindale B&B

Address: Merlindale Perth Road, Crieff PH7 3EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Crieff
Price Range: $97 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlindale B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlindale multi award winning luxury bed and breakfast in Crieff, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merlindale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlindale B&B Crieff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing