We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yann's

Yann's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alva, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Yann's for the evening after booking four rooms - a family celebration for my parents Ruby Wedding Anniversary! The rooms were superb; all individual in character and beautiful in decor. A high standard of cleanliness and facilities.
We had a table booked for dinner and could not have faulted the service and quality of food that was provided. What a superb experience - the staff are attentive but not "in your face," professional and ever so helpful. The food was out of this world! The quality was excellent and the attention to detail stunning. We wouldn't know what to recommend first - everything was delicious!!
The following morning was relaxed with a lovely breakfast offered. There was no rush to depart and the owners of the hotel were there to see us off - thank you for the most memorable night. Our parents thoroughly enjoyed it as did we.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edunn_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    44
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visiting Yanns on Saturday evening for dinner when staying an overnight in Crieff Hydro.

Lovely building , with fabulous decor. On arrival we were greeted by Yanns wife, and shown into lounge area where we ordered drinks and were given nibbles/olives, with a change to view menu.
Small intimate restaurant area , outstanding attentive service.
Food was delish...I had french onion soup, rissoto and cheesecake...great portion sizes too.
Bill was very reasonable for 3 courses with wine , drinks etc. All 4 of us loved everything about it.
Would love to revisit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

2 couples on a cold Sunday night in January received a very warm welcome in an exceptionally comfortable lounge and restaurant. The ambience could not have been better. The staff lovely and keen to offer advice on their delicious menu. Food was excellent, we all agreed that it was the nicest meal we have had in a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqueline19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

9 friends went for a long planned visit on a bitterly cold January night. In contrast to the weather, the welcome was warm and inviting. The restaurant is intimate, the staff knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent, from a delicious steak pie to a Savoyard specialty of potatoes, Savoy cheese and cured meats prepared at the table. Possibly, a bit short on vegetarian options on the occasion of our visit, but that was not a problem for us. There was only one complaint, and that was having to leave to go back into the freezing night. Very good

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Enjoyed the overall atmosphere and the fitting menu.

Lovely old house converted into a very enjoyable restaurant, with a French twist?

Good areas for before and after dinner.

Will return to try lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yann's also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Yann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing