We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Scottish home with a touch of grand”
other travelers have booked this property
The Lodge Blackford
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge Blackford
Porch with clematis Green Tourism Award
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Lodge Blackford
Porch with clematis
Green Tourism Award
Front door
Winter at The Lodge
Twin Bedroom
Shower Room
Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Sitting Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Garden
Drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sydneywat...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Scottish home with a touch of grand”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I was greeted by a circular driveway, a delightful garden and the impressive stone facade of this large home. Janet is a great host and hotelier with the right combination of personal touch and professionalism. The dining room would be the perfect location for special occasion dinners with original timberwork, large dining furniture and a pleasant garden outlook. The upstairs sitting room has beautiful seating and lamps with still more views - just perfect for girls high tea. The entrance foyers and staircase are charming and even had a play on the piano - very therapeutic. Everything was in order in the kitchen and bathrooms and the bedding was excellent. Janet has thought of everything. I was in Scotland for work and the house was a welcome rest away from the parking lots and corridors of hotels. The location is very central and I was able use excellent highways (and some fantastic smaller roads over hills) to get to Elgin and Glasgow. The house was very comfortable for me to sit and work and the internet connection enabled me to conference call internationally. Best of all was that I could cook my own food and drink pots of Scottish blend tea! Thanks Janet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thanks for your kind words. Glad to hear you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thanks for the review and I do hope to welcome you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dee1506
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old world charm and comfort”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is a welcoming early 1900's beauty with wonderfully big rooms, gorgeous cornices, wood work and comfortable furniture. The house has real character but all mod cons as well. Parking is easy and the garden is very sweet. Janet is very warm and welcoming also and was available anytime but never intrusive. All basics were provided which is great when you're travelling from OS. The sitting room contains some wonderful books on Scotland. Blackford is a quaint little town. We ate at the local pub and the meal was very tasty. Auchterarder is just down the road with a couple of little grocery stores, pharmacies and more. It was a good location to radiate out to the touristy spots with immediate access to the highway. The house was double glazed so there is no noise from the highway etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Thanks for the review. So glad you liked the house and the location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a lovely cottage and Janet is a lovely lady”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great time only wish we could have stayed longer hoping to book again later this year..Janet was lovely my grandson left his blue bunny and she offered to send it to him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area the cottage and Janet
Liked least: Nothing bad to say
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jones515
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent house and location!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Lodge was perfect for our family of five. We had plenty of room and were close to several great sites. The place was comfy and clean, and Janet was very helpful. The place looked even better than the photos! We highly recommend this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thanks. We must try to get new photos for the website soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s9257247
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arts and Crafts period house with central location”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A beautiful period property with friendly, accommodating onsite owner. Double, twin and single rooms (the description omits the single room), and we were also offered a sofa bed option. A new shower and toilet had just been installed downstairs, making the property even more suitable for a group of friends.

Period features include the built-in sideboard (engraved LVFE GOD ABOVE AL) in the dining room, elaborate fire surrounds and single glazed sash and casement windows. Warm curtains are included!

There is a modern fitted kitchen, including dishwasher, and this included some shortbread and a pint of milk to get us started.

We were made most welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious period features
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
Thanks for the detailed review. We hope that the new single room and additional shower room will provide extra space and comfort for guests. Secondary glazing panels are currently being installed throughout the house which we hope will improve energy efficiency.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieke P
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for exploring Scotland”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Lodge offered everything we (3 adults and 1 teenager) needed: wifi, plenty of room, cosy comfort and warmth and well equipped kitchen. The location is ideal to use as a base for exploring large parts of Scotland because of its proximity to the A9. Perth and Stirling are half an hour away. Glasgow, Edinburgh and the highlands, take about an hour. Owner Janet is very friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing