We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Hornsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent three nights at the Cairn from 1st August, we had a lovely stay. Amazing decor. Food was good. Only down side our room was to warm (room 6). All in all a lovely few days, staff very welcoming especially Roland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I was extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the food from the Grill Room to be good. I have passed all of your comments to the team at the Cairn Lodge who will be delighted and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    91
    40
    13
    14
See reviews for
42
245
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had lunch here last week, two courses for £15. excellent value for money and great surroundings.
Highly recommend, we are going to try dinner next time.
We will definitely be back but would like to try dinner next time- there are also specials on dinners and on Sunday lunches.

Room Tip: we only went for lunch , so cant comment on rooms, but if the dining room etc are anything to go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndasmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable lunch which you found good value for money. I have passed all of your comments on to the team at the Cairn Lodge and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnathort, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! From the minute you walk in this hotel oozes luxury without losing the personal touch. The staff are among the most pleasant I have come across,the food was just amazing and a cocktail list to satisfy all.
Our double room was stunning, spotless and no expense was spared here..full of top notch brands, flat screen t.v coffee machine, salon hairdryer etc. Robes, slippers and White Company toiletries. Luxury indeed!
My only criticism would be to say the bathroom was a bit of a let down...the bath is no bigger than average, yet the room felt very cramped. Not a huge issue but given the size of the bedrooms, it shouldn't have been a problem to increase the bathroom footage.
This is an outstanding hotel and well worth an overnight stay, or a meal and I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
What a lovely review – thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. The team at the Cairn Lodge will be very pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from your room to the cocktail list provided in the Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent one night at the Cairn Lodge in July 2013 and found the staff friendly and helpful.. The rooms are just wonderful and no expense has been spared in fitting out these rooms as all fittings are very modern and quite luxurious. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. The bathroom is quite unique with ultra modern and space age fittings The restaurant provided good choices and well prepared food for our evening meal at a reasonable cost. The bar and public areas are very comfortable and pleasant.. The breakfast is to be avoided if possible and a great disappointment as it was poorly presented after waiting and incredible 45 minutes to be served something hot. Get the breakfast served to the room as they obviously have a problem in the morning. Other than taking breakfast there I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. We were delighted to read that you liked your room and the décor of the hotel. I have taken on board all of your comments and they will be discussed with the relevant teams at the Cairn Lodge specifically your experience in the Grill Room for Breakfast. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO, Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Let's start with the good bits. The troops are fine - front of house, restaurant and room staff - the junior ones, are efficient and friendly. The restaurant food - two dinners on a three night stay, was good, but not outstanding, and the menu is very much a grill - it's the Grill Room - and steaks and burgers predominate, though there is a good selection of other dishes. Food is good quality, and the breakfast cooked food is excellent. The breakfast fruit - melons etc - was so hard you could have played football with it. The duty manger on the first night - 28 July - couldn't have been more helpful.

It went downhill from there. At first sight the bedrooms look wonderful; an interior designer's dream. Unfortunately they're a hotel guest's nightmare. No mirror in the bedroom, not even a light over the dressing table. No clothes storage drawers. Hairdryer lead not long enough to reach the one mirror (unheated) in the bathroom. The bathroom a poem in white marble - but the toilet roll holder and the hand towel holder are coming off the wall. There's not a shelf in the place, and the staff even had to put the shampoo on the toilet windowsill. Nowhere to put a toothbrush, comb or shaver, except on the floor. Ludicrous. The whole thing, including the padded wall in the bedroom looks like a courtesan's boudoir in a second rate Verdi opera. Dining room furniture the same. You need to be a weightlifter to move the chairs, and if you're anything under six feet, your chin is on the table, the seats are so low.

On day three we were in Edinburgh and got back at 7.30, only to be told that if we wanted to eat, they might squeeze us in at 8.45. No one had said we (as residents) should book, and there had been no need on the previous two nights. So we told them where to put their meal, and went out to Jon and Fernanda's - a restaurant in the town (see my review) and had a fantastic meal.

Day we left, a smell of cigarettes in the lobby, and at 10 in the morning still cigarette butts on the front steps. They call this 5 star? Great shame; lovely junior staff and such potential, but wasted by lack of management at the top.

If you read other reviews, some of these issues have been raised before, and, according to the CEO's PA who responded, 'the team were alerted'. The team are obviously ignoring her!

Room Tip: Don't get room 10 or nine. They overlook the kitchen and the delivery area. The kitchen staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience of staying at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. First of all, may I offer our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am concerned about several of your comments, which have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant Department Heads.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid any repetition of your experiences in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on laura.barry@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind Regards, Laura Barry PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been recommended by several friends to try this hotel for a meal. It's just been modernised to a very high standard. The meal (lunch) was delicious and the staff very helpful and friendly - particularly the lady on Receptionist. We will certainly be back for a meal again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel .I was delighted to read your comments regarding the lunch that you had at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. The team at the Cairn Lodge will be very pleased that you had an enjoyable lunchtime experience in the Grill Room and will be pleased to read that you plan on returning again. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collect
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

6 of us had dinner in The Cairn Lodge last night and it was superb, the place looks lovely, we have not been in for a long time but while at Gleneagles this week we went out with friends for dinner and boy are we glad we did.

The choice was excellent and at the moment there is a special of 2 courses for £15 which considering the qulaity and presentation of the food is great value for money.

Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service was also very good

Will deffinetly be back soon .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Cairn Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
What a lovely review - thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable dinner at the Cairn Lodge & Hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your friends all enjoyed your meal and the team at the Cairn Lodge will be delighted. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Laura Barry, PA to the CEO Aurora Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.6 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
10.1 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
7.3 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Lodge Hotel

Property: Cairn Lodge Hotel
Address: Duncairn Orchil Road, Auchterarder PH3 1LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairn Lodge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cairn Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Auchterarder
Cairn Lodge Hotel Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing