We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as expected”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
doncater
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“As good as expected”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked a weekend two night stay incorporating a seafood demonstration and banquet with wines etc. Room upgraded to 4th floor above reception which were very spacious and extremely clean and comfortable.Didn't get the opportunity to visit the pool and spa complex which I hear is fantastic. Bars in the hotel and dormy clubhouse are fine with a great selection of drinks at prices not that much higher than city centre hotels.
Friday night meal at Andrew Fairlies independent restaurant with a couple of michelin stars was very memorable and eye wateringly expensive. (over £200 per head ) for a set menu with accompanying wine.
Had a great time at the hotel and will return but not without the golf clubs next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,386
    402
    168
    61
    23
See reviews for
713
1,368
45
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

just returned from another wonderful weekend have been privileged enough to be going to Gleneagles hotel for over 30 years and is just getting better there has been loads of changes over the years some good some not so, but it works the refurbished rooms are spacious ,up to date,and extremely comfortable we were given a lovely suite 294 great views and loads of attention to detail .the bathroom was huge and a t.v fitted in to the bathroom mirror what luxury .the level of service is consistent and always first class dinner in the strathern was again first class .the hotel provides first class service I have read all the reviews (some make me smile) if there ever is a problem its dealt with as soon as possible this hotel is 5star its not cheap but it is definitely worth it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in the old house in a very nice suite room with a good view over the grounds, there was plenty of room and was well equipped but bathroom was good but not great. The issue with the hotel is that they have grown it too big and it has lost that personal touch, health club has to cope with too many people and the food is mass market.
We had booked dinner bed and breakfast and breakfast was very good again a little too many people and service was not great. We enjoyed dinner but everything was a supplement and when I ordered wine they didn't have the proper year and tried to pass of a very average year for the same price, one of my pet hates!
overall enjoyed the trip but there were too many buts for me for the price they charge

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have wanted to stay here for so long and this weekend the opportunity came up. My first wedding anniversary.
Arrived at the hotel at 3pm. Lovely arrival and helped with the bags at door and the car was parked for us. Reception was very good. Received a letter with all our dinner reservations on. The sun shine and the views are just lovely

We got to our room it was lovely very traditional large room. Lovely toiletries. Bed very comfortable. We went down to the bar. What a fantastic place to people watch. It was very busy with people having the most amazing afternoon tea

First night we ate at the casual restaurant Deseo inthe quiet area no children. This was lovely and food was superb. Mediterranean inspired menu with lots of choice. Also a nice tapas selection. We both had a steak which was delicious busy restaurant all day and nice mix with families then the quieter area

Lovely nights sleep and then as Saturday was our wedding anniversary we had breakfast in bed. Very nice treat and we enjoyed. Food superb

My husband went to play golf and I met him in the dormy house for lunch. This is the club house and very busy.

We ate in strathearn - what a truly wonderful experience the food was lovely and the restaurant and service would take some real beating. We loved it

Very sadly we left at lunch time We had the most wonderful time. Amazing service and delicious food. This is something quiet special and worth a visit

Will return as soon as we can !

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

2 perfect days at this magnificent hotel The service and staff were inpeccable Lovely spacious beautifully decorated rooms with perfect attention to detail throughout super quiet room Andrew Fairlie resturant restuarant was perfection Breakfasts are of course monumental 5* treatments at the spa Highly recommend to anyone needing to unwind from the stresses of a busy hectic life
Lokking forward to my next visist very soon!

Room Tip: Enjoy the spa! Room 383 was in a quiet corner of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsobelYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

All in all a wonderful stay, great staff and a very very relaxing two night break. I can't wait to return.

I used the website to view the hotel facilities and rates and thought the off peak offer of Make it a Double would be best as it was better value than that offered to Diageo shareholders. I called to discuss the options and was greeted by the very pleasant and helpful Lisa. I stated that I wanted a room with a view as the web site clearly states the less expensive rooms were inner facing, IE no views, and whilst she said it was unlikely that would be the case she couldn't guarantee anything more than that booked. So I opted to go for an Estate Room which guarantees a view.

We decided to arrive early and have a walk and lunch at the club house. We had a very warm greeting from the second we drove up. The luggage was spirited away as was the car and we ambled to reception. We were able to register, not yet check in, after just a few minutes wait. We were called around 1pm to let us know our room was ready and that our luggage had been delivered and all we had to do was pick up the keys when we returned. We were also invited to use the facilities if we wished.

We were checked in to Room 295 which was a lovely two room corner suite, which was ideal and gave our son his own room with cot which meant we got two great nights sleep ourselves too The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room faced over towards the outdoor spa and the living room faced out over the gardens which was ideal and where we spent most of our daylight hours.

We used the children's Play Room and our 2 year old loved it as did all the other children there. A special thanks to Jennifer who was wonderful. We even took the opportunity to take a couple of hours off for ourselves and when we returned to pick him up it was clear he was and had been having a great time.

Breakfasts were terrific, we had Bucks Fizz and Drambuie Fizz to start, followed by a great plate of fresh fruit and full English breakfast. There was much more to choose from such as steak and chips, gammon steaks, omelets etc. Our son loved the smoked salmon and porridge (without the Drambuie raspberries)

We used the pool facilities which have recently been redone and had a lovely time.

When checking out the was a short wait and then I was approached from a member of staff who enabled me to check out form the concierge desk which made things quicker.

We did note that a small part of the first floor was having some of its rooms renovated but as it was shut off it didn't impinge on our enjoyment. Yes there was a painter or two working in one of the corridors which we chose to use as a short cut and our two year old liked to stop and admire their handy-work. On checkout I mentioned the renovations and it is something that happens every year as they need to keep the entire place as up-to date as possible.

Room Tip: If you do not want an internal facing room you need to book an estate room at least. For us it meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Harptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Gleneagles is a very special hotel in a wonderful location. They do however need to keep upping their game as the luxury hotel market in very competitive. We have just returned from a two night stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, we especially liked the new spa and leisure area. After an absence of 20 years what hasn't changed is the excellent standard of service and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff who were all tremendous. A couple of small issues, the products in the bathrooms are different from the spa, where the products are lovely and the Strathearn Restaurant served rather predictable food, good but safe. Perhaps they don't want to compete too much with Andrew Fairlie. But we love Gleneagles and will definitely return again

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are quiet and always go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiswickkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
16.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Property: Gleneagles
Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing