We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely busy during school holidays”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked in for the weekend after Valentines night on a sunday night special. Gleneagles is always a delight, the hotel, staff and food are absolutely fantastic.

It so happened to be an English school holiday which led to the hotel being absolutely jam packed full of kids and families. It was so busy we couldnt get into the pool at one point as it was at capacity. This wasnt really a big problem but I know some would not be happy about the normally quiet and reserved Gleneagles being a massive Creche. Dinner in the Strathearn was the usual oppulance and excellence thats expected so the kids must have ate elsewhere.

The hotel was so busy that our waiting staff from dinner were on a breakfast and one of them explained that they were expecting 550 covers!

Worth checking if you are going for a quiet and peaceful break. Gleneagles itself is still excellent and possibly the only true 5 star hotel in Scotland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,319)
There are newer reviews for Gleneagles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,197 - 2,203 of 3,319 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Assisted financially by a gifted voucher and a special winter offer rate, my wife and I enjoyed a recent dinner, bed & breakfast stay.At Gleneagles, one expects quality and special service and we were not disappointed.
We arrived early to find that not only was our room ready but that we had been upgraded to a room in the modern Braid Wing. "Room" is a bit of an understatement for accommodation of this size, and the furnishings and facilities were first rate. The huge bath was a particularly welcome feature after our woodland/moorland walk ended in heavy rain; and it was a pleasant surprise, on return to our room after dinner, to find that towels etc. had been replaced (and the whole room discreetly tidied) - just one example of the attention to detail which marked the hotel's service.
The dinner experience was memorable - the only problem being to make a choice from the extensive menu; and again the staff service was exemplary. Breakfast was also very good, although no better than we have enjoyed at other hotels with lesser reputations.
Above all, I shall remember my visit to the Leisure Club. Expecting a brief "standard swim", I found not only pools of the highest quality, but also a range of associated facilities such as jacuzzi, sauna and steam room; and the warm outdoor pool - swimming in the rain was a new experience for me! My non-swimmer wife regrets not taking her bathing costume on this visit!
With so much to commend, why do I not give an "excellent" rating? I have mentioned the breakfast was "good" rather than "brilliant". I am not sure I feel that, despite the quality and staff excellence, we achieved value for money; and it was disappointing to find that the cost of the morning newspaper we were encouraged to order, was added to our bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from another perfect weekend at this wonderful hotel. Everything is first class from the sumptuous decor and accommodation, the quality of the food and wine and the welcoming and helpful staff, this is how a luxury hotel should be. Totally unpretentious, it doesn't need to be, the staff seem proud to offer such unbeatable service.
The activities available offer something for everyone and the golf course was a joy to play even following the recent poor weather - well done to the green keepers.
It's hard to beat an early morning walk around the estate as the sun rises over the glen and the deer graze in the morning haze.
Thank you to all the staff for continuing to make this a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a wonderful way to spend a Thursday afternoon! Beautiful surroundings, attentive staff and an afternoon tea, with attention to detail, that would be hard to surpass; a tiered cake stand filled with dainty sandwiches, savoury treats and a fabulous selection of cakes and patisserie with a choice of warmed scones to finish. Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank indiaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Gleneagles never fails. It is a constant that delivers a personal service not common within large hotels.

Of course, the location does help and does it have such a great location which is wonderful for those who like the great outdoors. But the inside of Gleneagles is difficult to rival as it has taken over a hundred years to create with its beautiful bar and spectacular main restaurant.

The rooms are what would be expected of a grand Scottish hotel and doe not disappoint in any respect.

The spa is the best we have used anywhere in the world. I have to accept that to a certain extent men are like an endangered species there but my wife persuaded me some time ago to join her (actually insisted!) and it is very relaxing.

But top of all of this is the service. It has been described as a large friendly hotel unlike those usually of this size and status. The staff are exceptional and that is not a one off experience but the norm.

It is always worth visiting and staying whatever the weather as it remains beautiful inside and out.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the Estate rooms either in the main hotel or the wing. Both are good for...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

First visit was organised for my birthday by my wife As a keen golfer always wanted to go so was a great surprise. A couple of hours drive in shocking weather brought us to the impressive entrance to the hotel. The stunning scenery hidden in the wet mists and low cloud. met by a lovely man who arranged for the car to be parked and took our bags to reception for a polite and prompt check in. I was wished a happy birthday and we were whisked up to our suite on the third floor. Room 302 is both large and stunning. A huge lounge with a complementary bottle of Fizz, super changing room, immaculate bathroom and a huge bedroom to boot. The finish and the quality was excellent with lots of little touches. Wife commented on the numerous supplies of luxurious white towels.
Popped downstairs for an afternoon drink and a bite and loved the décor of the hotel. plenty of preparation going on for the upcoming Ryder Cup but this was unobtrusive and did not impact the stay.
Retired upstairs to read and prepare for dinner when unexpected knock on door delivered a selection of freshly prepared canapés. A lovely and tasty surprise. We chose to eat in the Michelin two star restaurant as we enjoy the experience.
The service was simply outstanding and the best we have experienced in the numerous restaurants we have dined in. From start to finish of the eight course tasting menu they were informative, attentive and outstanding at their craft. The sommelier was knowledgeable and even offered to change the wine if we did not like it. The food was well crafted and flavoursome and enjoyed by us both.
Reluctantly set off home after a lovely breakfast in the conservatory vowing to return soon.
A lovely old fashioned hotel with modern but attentive service, superb rooms and outstanding staff

Well done

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris49215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited February with family. We've been going to Gleneagles for about 13 years, and I always leave wishing I had stayed longer. The hotel is plush but relaxed not stuffy. You are greeted at the door by the concierge to park your car and take your luggage. The you enter an atmosphere of pure relaxation! Log fires burning, and lovely staff doing what they can to make you comfortable. Some minor issues re replenishing of food at breakfast, but hey we're on holiday so not in a rush. As for billing, this is consistently poor, we were overcharged at the Dormy restaurant, and the hotel is extremely expensive to eat in for what you receive poor value for money. There are lovely pubs / food in the neighbouring villages like Dunning and the area is full of the friendliest people. The new leisure centre facilities are excellent. The lap pool is now the adult area, which is lovely with a sauna, steam room, lap pool and hot tub. The family pool is not much different than before merely updated. The outdoor tub is large and nice but could be a few degrees warmer.
Overall, another lovely experience and cannot wait to return. All places have minor irritations but if you can't enjoy this place, life holds little hope for you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluedawggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,129 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
20.2 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range: $362 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing