We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in its past reputation”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Quite a quick check in with nice staff who are very efficient. Rooms are dated and dowdy and over priced. Restaurant is ok but breakfast is poor considering it is supposedly 5*. Afternoon tea is a shadow of what it was and they could do with a decent pastry chef. The cost is over the top and service was lack lustre. Tip ask for a room to the side of the hotel with open views of the hills. A window table for lunch or dinner and in the winter for afternoon tea ask for near the fireplace which is very country house.

Room Tip: Facing the hills is best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just driving up to the front of the hotel will tell you what type of stay you're in for. It's beautiful.
Our room was one of the cheapest they do and it was still very luxurious. All the usual trappings of a five star hotel are included within the room, dressing gown, slippers, top class toiletries, tea and coffee and a turn down service. The room even had a remote controlled gas fire! The grounds and building are equally impressive, with some nice leisurely walks marked off around the three golf courses. A falconry centre and many activities you would associate with a country estate hotel. Like clay pigeon shooting and two off road driving courses. There is also a large equestrian school across the road.
We made use of the spa facilities, and while it was going through a refurbishment it didn't really impact on our enjoyment. I have to say it is the best hotel spas I have used and the deep tissue massage was superb.
Breakfast is very good with a buffet that is so well stocked you'd have to ask for something really obscure to find something they didn't have.
I can't comment on lunch as breakfast precluded the need for any!
Dinner is first class dining at it's best, the service and food was simply up there with the best restaurants in Scotland, exemplary.
To sum up, the hotel is not cheap but you do get what you pay for, excellence in all departments from the room to the spa to the food and especially the service.
This is certainly one for your bucket list!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeyrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Gleneagles. The property is simply stunning and has the best luxury Scotland can provide. If you expect excellent service then that is what you will get. If you expect luxurious bedrooms then that's what you will get. As for the Spa I have to say it is probably the best Spa I have ever used. Gleneagles is a must visit for so many reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had four nights at Gleneagles recently. My husband has used the hotel previously on business but this was my first stay, as a honeymoon treat and it didn't disappoint. The service is second to none, 5 star all the way and yet the staff are unpretentious and welcoming, which gives the place a wonderful homely atmosphere inspite of the 1920s grandeur of the building itself. Beautiful setting and lots to do especially if you're an outdoor person. A fabulous break, I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and grounds, spent most of the day at the Spa and couldn't fault it at all it was so relaxing and the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Went for lunch which was lovely and again the service we got was excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Gleneagles in February. I dropped my bags off with concierge and went straight for my Spa treatment, genuinely the best Spa experience I have ever had and I am saving for the next one! Dinner was the splendid Scottish delights I expected from such a lovely hotel. The room was fantastic, huge with a fireplace which was a highlight as the snow was dinging on outside. Nice and cosy, beds were so comfortable had a great night sleep. The next morning I enjoyed the spectacular breakfast and then it was a full itinerary Gun Dog display, Falconry display, Equestrian school, Shooting etc, etc…..

The whole Gleneagles experience it’s so worth the money, absolutely brilliant weekend!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Estate Room - large room with amazing views. And the fireplace :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennydyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I first went to Gleneagles as a child, I grew up within an hour of this establishment and have since returned on numerous occasions. Although I'm not a golfer, I have enjoyed most aspects of Gleneagles and it's huge activities list. The shooting school must be one of the best in Britain, the equestrian centre is also exceptional, the falconry was quite an experience and the mini 4x4 land rover driving was always great fun for my son. We spent new Year at Gleaneagles for 2011/12 and it was epic - the fireworks were beyond belief amazing and the food, considering the number of diners, was impressive. My only grumble is a double edged sword; I wish it were a little smaller, not so mass market, although if it were smaller it surely wouldn't be able to offer such an incredible list of activities but I couldn't help but cringe when I saw the punters lining up, like chickens to the slaughter to pay their bill. Other than that I think that gleneagles is an outstanding place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it;

Room Tip: make sure you see your room before committing to it - I was highly disappointed to be shown a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Château du P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
814 reviews
9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,226 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
13 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
7.5 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Address: Gleneagles Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range: $372 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing