We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious treat”
Review of Gleneagles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our third visit to Gleneagles didn't disappoint. It is expensive but that's what you expect from five star facilities and outstanding service. A great place for tranquility and self-indulgence. My wife enjoyed a massage, I enjoyed the walks, our grandkids enjoyed falconry, golf and archery and we all thoroughly enjoyed the meals together. Friendliness and efficiency were the hallmarks of all of the staff we came across. My wallet's a bit lighter but our spirits are definitely raised!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 3,368 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived and they opened the car door to the moment we left, we enjoyed some excellent professional and friendly service from the best hotel in Scotland. I was most impressed that the receptionist remembered my name when we left in spite of a full hotel and negligible contact. Yes it is expensive, but for a special treat it is definitely worth it. Dinner in Strathearn was fantastic and the best fillet of beef I have ever enjoyed. Deseo was quite the night we ate there, but I enjoyed the more informal environment and the steaks were great there too. Golf Club is a good choice for a lunch. We had an upgraded room in Braids complete with a gas fire which was a nice touch. Only complaints are squeaky floor boards in the Braids corridor and work in progress in the leisure pool. Don't hesitate - just book it. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Dornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Historic Hotel and Golf course. Pempering staff and excellent restaurants. A banquet of a breakfast. Not cheap but worth visiting at least for a weekend break once in a lifetime. Those who can afford a longer visit - worth while!

try not to miss the afternoon tea.

Gives the feel of superb by-gone times. Possibly aristocratic.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the grounds not the internal courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff at gleneagles to be very helpful, friendly and professional.
The rooms (classic) were very nice, newly rennovated and comfortable but in my opinion missing some small details for a for a 5 star hotel. For example, turn down service with no chocolate? Not topping up toiletries in the bathroom during daily cleaning. We used the pool and it was ok, but a little dark and tired but as its undergoing refurbishments currently i can imagine it will improve greatly. The spa looked wonderful although i didn't use it. The kids loved the games room.
The breakfast is amazing, a highlight of the stay. Make sure to walk up an apetite in the beautiful grounds before breakfast.
Afternoon tea was also delightfully good with amazing pastries.
We ate dinner at Strathearn, the food was wonderful but the service was very erratic starting off with a flood of service from many but being completely deserted by all for 45 mins between the main and dessert. Not acceptable for this standard of restaurant.
Would definately stay again if only to enjoy the breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have visited Gleneagles several times over the years and I was delighted to be taken there for my birthday recently. The welcome and hospitality were wonderful - Helen showed us to our room and ensured all was to our liking. It also snowed to add to the spectacular views. Unfortunately, the pool area is undergoing a face lift so the only pool was the 'lap pool' which was pretty boring, but gave us some exercise! Apparently this facility won't be fully functional again for some time.
Breakfasts were a REAL disappointment - we opted for the buffet hot breakfast and on every occasion it was lukewarm at best. We did let the restaurant manager know and on the third morning, I gave in and ordered from the chef, so mine was hot, as it ought to be.
The Strathearn Restaurant was amazing - we only ate there on the evening of my birthday as we were seeing old friends on the other evenings - the staff fantastic with a great sense of humour. My cake was lovely, flowers beautiful - an evening to remember.
The Spa treatments - fabulous. There is an amazing jacuzzie pool which couples can use together and was great fun. The 'rest' room was very calming and relaxing - even if two ladies using it at the same time as me chattered the whole time they were in. If it is a 'quiet and relaxing room' following treatments, it should be stressed to others that they should not be in there if only to gossip! That can be done all over the complex at any time over a lovely coffee!!
The house-keeping staff were meticulous in their work keeping intrusion to a minimum.
Staff in the cocktail lounge were superb - all ready to have a chat or discussion whilst keeping a close eye out for other guests needing their services. The fires blazing away were so welcoming.
John was lovely - helping to load the car up when (sadly) it came time to leave for our long journey back home.
We had a fantastic time, but the fact the leisure pool and other facilities were temporarily unavailable was a big disappointment to me.
One more comment - the coffee/cake/meal bar - Deseo - the staff there were less than cheerful and friendly, unlike the rest of the hotel
Otherwise FAB and we hope to get back there again.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are just that in comparison to others on offer - so it is worth upgrading to State rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

we stayed between xmas and new year and it was just perfect in every way , staff , service , food , amenities , restaurant choice , ground , scenery .... a real true 5 star hotel , cherry on the cake is during xmas you have the icerink and all the nice xmasy touches in the hotel that makes you feel so welcome and treated like royalty !!! nothing was ever to much for the staff to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing , the only issue was with the weather cold rainy and windy but well , what do you expect this is Scotland in winter :)
will go back without an hesitation !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W144EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned home from our annual stay at our Glenmor home at Gleneagles. A friend was visiting us on their first ever trip to Gleneagles and was unbeleivably impressed with the spacious lodge, location and the friendly service throughout the resort. As a family this was our 5th trip and the facility never fails to impress. Our lodge was spotless on arrival and the service we received from the Strathearn to the Tryst could not be faulted. Afternoon tea was a total hit and a visit to the Spa should not be missed. We even managed an irish coffee in the Blue Bar which was the perfect end to a lovely dinner, sitting outside in front of a blazing log fire , under a blanket on a heated sofa on a starry evening was lovely. Glenmor/Gleneagles location and service restores weary souls and recharges your batteries. 51 weeks until we return. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
1.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
785 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,144 reviews
7.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
20.2 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,326 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles

Address: Gleneagles Auchterarder | Auchterarder, Auchterarder PH3 1NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range: $368 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gleneagles 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic country estate set beneath the beautiful Ochil Hills, The Gleneagles Hotel has been a luxury destination for nearly a century. Located just one hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh airports and with its own railway station, Gleneagles offers the perfect retreat for those looking for relaxation, fun and adventure. Three championship courses have established Gleneagles' reputation as a golfer's paradise but the hotel offers so much more than golf. The 850-acre estate epitomises the rugged natural beauty for which Scotland is famed and offers guests a glorious playground of country pursuits and activities. Whether you come to fly a Harris' Hawk, ride horses, play tennis, go off-roading, train gundogs, shoot game, fish, enjoy Michelin-starred dining, or relax in an award-winning spa, Gleneagles offers a world of unforgettable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gleneagles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagles Hotel Auchterarder
Gleneagles Resort Auchterarder
Gleneagles Hotel Scotland
Gleneagles Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing