We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best cottage we’ve ever stayed at!”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy stunning views and sunsets from the Retreat's wonderful wood burning Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy stunning views and sunsets from the Retreat's wonderful wood burning Hot Tub
Private, sheltered sun terrace with stunning views over the Strathearn Valley and beyond. The lovely, bright open-plan kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Enjoy stunning views and sunsets from the Retreat's wonderful wood burning Hot Tub
Private, sheltered sun terrace with stunning views over the Strathearn Valley and beyond.
The lovely, bright open-plan kitchen/dining area
Enjoy the light, spacious open plan sociable living space
Stunning views from the front door and kitchen table!
Enjoy an atmospheric open Log Fire in the Lounge area. with solid oak floors and underfloor heating.
Large Twin Room with 3 windows for lots of light and amazing views in all directions
What view!
The perfect place for an al fresco meal!
Enjoy playing tennis on the nearby tennis court with stunning views across the valley
The private drive into The Retreat
Amazing sunsets over the Rive Earn
Full moon rising up over the River Earn
See stunning sunsets over Ben Vorlich and the Crieff Hills in the West.
Christmas and New Year are always special weeks at the Retreat
A winter wonderland at the Retreat - the location is stunning at anytime of the year.
A shot taken from the garden by a guest during the Christmas week.
Enjoy being surrounded by a winter wonderland and super cosy inside with underfloor heating/log fire
Raymond Blanc came to visit with his right hand man, Steve, Jamie and Lisa (owners)
Enjoy al fresco dining on the sheltered sun terrace with amazing views over the Strathearn Valley.
Extremely spacious, high ceilinged Living area with beautiful solid oak floors & lovely furnishings.
New astro/artificial grass Tennis Court for guests to enjoy.
This stunning shot of the hills was taken from the cottage by a guest.
A wonderful sunset taken by a guest from the Retreat garden.
A guest enjoys watching the sun going down from the Retreat.
The cottage is close to the River Earn with open views over the Strathearn Valley to Ochil Hills.
This beautiful photo was taken by a guest at New Year!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AyeshaLR2...
1 review
“The best cottage we’ve ever stayed at!”
Reviewed January 7, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

We have been repeat customers here for a few years now and always throughly enjoy our stay, we are always overwhelmed with the quality of the cottage and the beauty of it’s surroundings and have always been made to feel welcome by Lisa. We would highly recommend this cottage as you won’t find anywhere as high quality as here for the price! Excellent service as always, thank you for always making our stay memorable!

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2019
Thank you so much for the very kind review - we are always delighted to welcome you back every year :) and are so happy to hear how much you enjoy your stay at The Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea L
1 review
“Return to the mother country!”
Reviewed December 22, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

In November this year my youngest sister and I took our parents from Perth, Western Australia for their final visit to Scotland to say goodbye to our close family and friends.

We stayed at Lisa & Jamie’s Woodland Retreat Cottage and what a treat it was! We arrived to a roaring fire, very welcoming hosts and the beautiful sounds of the bagpipes played by Lisa’s nephew.
The cottage and surrounds are quiet and peaceful and we delighted in all that nature had to offer – squirrels, deer, rabbits and an incredible array of bird life, simply spectacular!
The accommodation was fabulous, bedrooms were very spacious, bathrooms immaculate, and the family and living areas were incredibly warm and comfy. The hosts had thought of everything from the deluxe toiletries and scented candles to the entertainment systems. The bikes and mapped walking trails enabled us to fully appreciate the beautiful countryside.
I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
I’ll certainly be bringing my own family back here very soon.

Jamie & Chelsea

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2018
We were delighted to hear how much your family enjoyed their stay at Trinity Gask. It’s a long way to come from Australia with high hopes of returning to your mother land - so pleased that our property helped you to fulfill all of your expectations - looking forward to meeting the rest of the family - thank you Australia !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyDa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful, luxurious home from home (but better!)”
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was our 9th year of visiting and we still love, love, LOVE The Retreat. We have stayed in many lovely holiday cottages over the past 20 years, but this remains far and away the best, which is why we are already planning next year's stay! The cottage feels light, airy and spacious during the day and cosy, warm and comfy in the evenings. It is in an incredibly beautiful and peaceful location, with unbelievable sunsets, yet only a short, easy drive from a few lovely little towns and some really excellent restaurants, ranging from the two Michelin starred Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles to our favourite Cafe Kisa and the local chippy, you really are spoilt for choice. There is also tons to see and do in the surrounding area, with or without children, although we often struggle to leave the peace of the cottage! The Retreat is spotless, luxurious and really well equipped with everything you could need for your stay and all the thoughtful extra touches, afternoon tea on arrival, fresh flowers, breakfast stuffs in the fridge etc etc, really make a difference. Jamie and Lisa are brilliant hosts, always willing to help out with questions or recommendations, and Pam, the housekeeper, is also really helpful and a firm favourite with our boys (as is the new Smart TV!) We cannot recommend highly enough!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2018
Thank you so much, that is extremely kind and thoughtful of you to write such a wonderful review for us and delighted to hear that you will be back again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus L
1 review
“January 2018”
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Quiet and secluded location, free fire wood, big tv, good cooking equipment and panoramic views. The rooms were bright, clean and well presented. Really enjoyed staying here, very relaxing and comfortable. Thank you Lisa.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2018
Thank YOU for the kind review. I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexPeta...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing new year stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this place was perfect, the setting, the accommodation, the welcome, the location and even the weather ( snow). Lisa the owner took great care in all aspects of the booking and even rang to guide us through the country roads on a late dark evening, welcoming us after a 9 hr drive with tea, cake and a lovely warm cottage. The facilities were outstanding and everything we needed to make our stay comfortable was provided. I would definatly recommend this property and look forward to returning in the future.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Thank you so much for writing such a great review - it was lovely to meet you all and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and are hoping to return :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the Retreat Cottage on a cold November weekend. The cottage had everything we needed for our stay. Beautiful decoration and some lovely homely touches. We particularly enjoyed the coffee machine and the hot tub. Star gazing from the hot tub was amazing just watch the duck board it can get slippy.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Thank you very much for writing a lovely review about your stay at The Woodland Retreat. It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope that you can make plans to return sometime soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pole2Pole...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
893 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just had another peaceful week in this beautiful cottage. Excellent quiet location, very well appointed. Always made to feel very welcome by the owner Lisa, with a lovely supply of provisions to get us started.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
We were delighted that you enjoyed another lovely stay at The Retreat cottage and will look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing