We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“PGA Centenary”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Like many I played this on a stay at the hotel just to say I'd played the Ryder Cup course. It's a lovely course to play, we've had a lot of rain this winter and the course was a little spongy underfoot in some areas but that is to be expected and overall is in beautiful condition. Thankfully for me the course was not overly difficult they were just in the process of reducing the fairways and increasing the rough when I played, if you strayed of the the tee you could generally still find your self with a shot. All the greens on the PGA centenary are undersoil heated so despite the rains they were still fast for your below average club golfer like myself. I played with a local caddie which was the best decision I could have made, his knowledge of the course along with the shift he put in made it a truly memorable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    35
    13
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Having played Centenary, now for the Ryder Cup”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Unfortunately only got to play once as the Friday was a wash out with the poor weather and continuous rain but I played on the Saturday and loved it.
It's long for any club golfer, especially through the middle holes and a great test of golf. For sure you have to drive it straight and long.
Shame the greens had just been dressed heavily but perfectly understandable why.
Can't wait to come back and watch the pros play in the Ryder Cup, it sure looks like a great stadium course to watch from
Thanks
Mark

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkieJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“You cannot beat these courses”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Been a member at Gleneagles for about 8 years and I think that my favourite course is The Queens, followed by the Kings and the PGA Centenary Course, which is of course the Ryder Cup Course this year. On a nice day you cannot beat the quality of the courses and of course the location, which is second to none!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Golfing splendour.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Four of us took advantage of the spring offer to stay in the hotel and play golf. The courses are splendid, although it was too early in the year to see them at their best. Greens had been recently repaired and treated and thus played poorly. This did not detract too much from enjoying the impressive design and stunning scenery all around as we played the Kings and Queens courses.
We had electric trolleys supplied by the club and they were very erratic, cutting out up to a dozen times during the round. This is not good enough for such a venue. Surely all equipment should have been checked over and returned to tip top condition for the start of the season.
The hotel is a very special place to stay, and we enjoyed the luxury of the rooms and the spa pool and facilities. We dined in the Strathearn restaurant, and it seems clear that the prices reflect the surroundings, the ambiance and the service rather than the quality of the food. It was good but not enough to justify the cost.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb course in great condition”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

course was fantastic cannot wait to go back and play it again in great condition and the surrounding views were superb

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses also viewed

Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Gleneagles - King's, Queen's, Wee and PGA Centenary Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing