We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, sublime country views.”

Review of The Doocot Dunning

The Doocot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Doocot
Inside the cottage Looking out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Doocot
Inside the cottage
Looking out
Cosy log burning stove
Kitchen
Jam and scones to welcome you
Breakfast time
Conservatory
Into the bathroom
Superking size bed
Dressing gowns supplied
Bedroom detail
Honeymoon bedroom
Honeymoon bedroom
Deck with garden furniture
Cottage garden with swing seat
View from the deck
Cheeky Blue tit peeking in the conservatory window
Hammock in the garden - perfect for relaxing
View across the gardens to the original 'Doocot'
View from the cottage windows
Fresh free range eggs available!
View from the deck
Swing seat
Detail of the original 'Doocot'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rikitikit...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, sublime country views.”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay at the Doocot. It is still wonderful. Cosy and Romantic with everything we need to be comfortable. Looks small when one first walks in but there is plenty of closet space and it all works. I love the views of the ancient Doocot (sort of a stone barn tower for keeping doves in), the trees, fields and hills. Gleneagles and Auchterader are only a short distance by car, St Andrews about one hour. We cooked our own breakfast; love the fresh eggs, and walked to the Village of Dunning to the Pub for dinner, about 5 - 10 minutes. There are two Pubs both with very good food. It's a long way from Australia but no doubt we'll be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMCM550
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Located on the same property as The Doocot, The Studio is truly a rare find. While it is attached to the main house you have complete privacy with a separate entrance and a view out of the front window that gives you that feeling of seclusion. Newly renovated, the apartment is really well thought out and offered everything (and more) than we were looking for…affordable luxury and a respite from a big day of touring, golfing and walking. The kitchen is perfect for light meals and snacks, the shower was difficult to leave and the resources available to plan our days abundant. The welcome extended by Hilary and Bruce and awaiting us in The Studio reinforced that we had stumbled on to a very special place. The Studio is a rare treat and one that we will definitely return to the next time we are in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation and hospitality of owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQSco...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Second time we stayed at the Doocot and this time it was over Valentines weekend. A gorgeous wee secluded cottage and very comfortable and cosy.
Lovely touches from Hilary to welcome us there and we had a super relaxing time.
Would thoroughly recommend The Doocot for a peaceful romantic break away from a busy life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to comment on
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oprea01
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
“Stunning cottage , absolutely fantastic place”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A superb cottage, very clean and welcoming. The location is awesome. Fabulos !!

Thank you Hilary and Bruce

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyll Accomodation and Location”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

Hilary and Bruce were very welcoming and the "welcome pack" was fantastic. The Doocot had everything we needed, nice and secluded in a beautiful garden with our own drive. Far enough "off the beaten track" to be in the real countryside yet so central that almost anywhere in Scotland is easily accessible either walks or cities. Great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisymay...
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“So Beautiful, Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2013

This was booked for me and my hubby as a little surprise from my Aunt. We were originally staying with her in Auchterarder, but instead she booked us a private getaway at the Doocot.

After an initial issue finding the exact location of the cottage (it doesn't show up on SatNav well, it was dark and very snowy!!) we were so happy to find it, surrounded by snow with the lights and fire on to welcome us after our long drive from Wales. The cottage is a truly beautiful little place, all you would need for a romantic holiday. The interior is lovingly decorated, simple and cozy, and the kitchen is equipped with everything you would need. The bed is huge and so comfortable! We slept incredibly well! There were also fresh eggs if you were lucky enough to find some in the chicken coop.

In a great location if you want something outside the typical city, great for walkers, or those who just want a quiet relaxing break. Although it is also close enough to drive to the station if you want to train it to Edinburgh or Glasgow.

We adored our stay there and hope we will get to return one day!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExCEO
2 reviews
“It's exactly as shown on the brochure - marvellous”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Excellent communication with the owners,
( despite some troubles with Trip Advisor's emailing system ),
Property lovely and clean, warm and welcoming,
Welcome pack of scones, jam and butter, milk and brewing up facilities,
Own private access, whilst being in the grounds of the owners for security,,
TV/DVD/Freeview with 3 controllers took some getting used to !!,
Whole property is compact, but perfectly workable, e.g.small setee,
but 6ft. Super King / 2 Singles bed with plenty of spcae,
All electric, so easy to get used to,
plus the added bonus of a log burning stove, which really "belts the heat out",
Lovely setting, with nice gardens and good views of Dunning's scenery.
And it's own WiFi, which is handy for checking out places to visit and eat.
A great mix of the past ( Doocot 1725 ), and present ( Outbuilding conversion with WiFi ).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and layout, would have been nice to relax on the decking in the sun ( but we went Sep/Oct so didn't get the chance.
Liked least: Small setee
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing