We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware using your credit card to pay these people!”
Review of Allandale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allandale House
Ranked #1 of 11 Auchterarder B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware using your credit card to pay these people!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not a good experience with Mr. Gillbanks. I stayed one night in a twin bedded room. After I had left the guest house, he charged my credit card an extra £20, claiming that, "the other bed had to be remade", because I put my suitcase on it. There is nowhere else to put a case by the way, because the rooms are so small!

Never heard such rubbish. £20 to straighten a few sheets, even supposing they needed straightening - What hourly rate does he pay his staff? Seriously, if you do stay here, watch this guy like a hawk and pay in cash or beware.........There are nicer guest houses in Auchterarder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Mr Platt, you reserved a SINGLE use of a twin room en-suite, however unknown to us and without prior notification, you decided to use both the beds in the room, for whatever reason was up to you, in doing so you soiled both the beds in the room and both beds had to be stripped and changed, it stated clearly on your booking form that use of both beds would be a different charge to use of one bed, you were charged the extra charge for that usage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    17
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
63
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's going to be hard to beat the sheer value for money here. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, tastefully appointed and scrupulously clean, so much so I felt guilty about making a mess. Breakfast was very good and you'll not be able to fault it at all. Altogether this is one of those rare gems operated by a lovely couple who clearly have high standards. I had a brilliant nights sleep and the excellent breakfast put me in a good mood all day.

Room Tip: Any will suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time on your return home to review your recent stay with us at Allandale House. Thank you for your very complimentary review, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's the small things that matter, from attentive service through to spotless cleanliness. I especially loved the provision of hot water bottles hanging on the bathroom door. The attention to detail extends to fit and finish of the interior design and decoration as well. Very well done. Excellent breakfast marred (only slightly) by the poor quality sausage. However, the black pudding and bacon were both superb! Will definitely be staying here again should I return to Auchterarder.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshire_Fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Allandale House, your complimentary and constructive comments are very much appreciated, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great place with all the facilities you could need or want in a B&B.excellent bedrooms and good hearty breakfast.

Would recommend anyone to stay here if you are coming to this region of Scotland.........................................

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We appreciate your great review and thank you for taking the time to post it on Tripadviser, our guest's opinions matter greatly to us and we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Once a year I have to go to Scotland and always stay at Allandale House in Auchterarder. The service and rooms are excellent and I highly recommend it. Friendly staff and a great breakfast that sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brucie_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Allandale, thank you for your excellent review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Like the previous reviewer we had an overnight stay at Allandale House as we were dining at Andrew Fairlies (a Christmas present). We also had a taxi booked for us and had a really nice driver. We were in Room 5 which I would agree was beautiful and exceptionally clean, it was rather small but was fine for one night, the bed was very comfortable. The only thing I would say is it would have been nice to have had some shower gel as we only had two lots of hand wash, but fortunately I had brought some with me. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice and homemade whisky marmalade. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Allandale House, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the lack of shower gel in your shower and thank you for bringing this to our attention, our guests comments matter greatly to us to enable us to continually improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were dining at Andrew Fairlie's @ Gleneagles to celebrate my husband's 50th. The proprietors had suggested a good taxi company and booked it for us in advance, which was most helpful. We were allocated Room 5, which was beautifully appointed and absolutely spotless. My only negative would be if you were staying for a few nights you might find it a little cramped as the en-suite had been built into the room. Double room (unfortunately a small double which we're not used to) and the pillows were a little hard, but otherwise a most comfortable stay. Extras were provided that you don't even always get at a good hotel, eg. bottles of mineral water, good tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits and cottonwool, etc, provided in the bathroom. Excellent breakfast - fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts, cheeses, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Allandale house. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast and that you would return. We have taken on board your positive and constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
2.1 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
767 reviews
12.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
8.0 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Travelodge Perth Broxden Junction
2.1 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberuthven
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allandale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allandale House

Property: Allandale House
Address: 17 High Street, Auchterarder PH3 1DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're visiting Scotland and looking for a guest house right at the heart of things, a stay at Allandale House in Auchterarder is the perfect Perthshire choice. An Elegant Townhouse providing Bed & Breakfast in beautifully furnished guest rooms. All our rooms have en-suite facilities with Quality toiletries, Bath robes, Flat screen cable television with DVD player, Alarm Radio Clocks, Hospitality Trays, complimentary bottled water, Hair Dryers and Free Wireless Internet access. We are located 1.5 Miles from the 2014 Ryder Cup venue at Gleneagles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Allandale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allandale House Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing