We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor bedroom lighting”
Review of Allandale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allandale House
Ranked #1 of 11 Auchterarder B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor bedroom lighting”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Allandale House in bedroom 5,
I would say that our reception was good, the food very good, the bed comfortable, but the lighting in the room was dismal. Long life bulbs do not give good light. This 'fault' marred a very enoyable stay.
Colin J. Senior

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caiystane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and your positive and constructive comments, we are committed to continually improving our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    17
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
63
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

After several hit and misses in Perth itself we were so pleased to find this B&B. The owners are welcoming, the rooms beautifully decorated and the breakfast sets up for the day with a smile. It's one of those places that I would not hesitate to recommend to everyone - just please don't book when I need to stay there!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitehoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time, upon your return home, to review Allandale House, we value your opinion and your positive comments are much appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Auchterader this is where you should head!! We were greeted with a very warm welcome despite turning up at 9.30pm!! The room are very tastefully decorated and absolutely spotless. We had a problem with our shower but it was fixed straight away. We were playing golf at Gleneagles the following day which is just 5mins away so it was perfect location as well. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. If you are looking for somewhere to eat in the village you must try All Seasons Bistro...fantastic!! Looking forward to going back to Gleneagles and when we do we will definately stay at Allandale. Thanks Gerry and Lorraine :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kealey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor when you returned home, your excellent review is very much appreciated. we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Allandale House in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas,IOM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Thanks so much to gerry and lorraine for being so welcoming and for habing such a comfortable and glamorous b&b !
The room was spotless and they provided a fabulous travel cot for our 7 week old baby and were very accommodating despite his evening grizzly times!

Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice

We were attending a wedding at gleneagles and allandale house proved to be a perfect base for our daytrips to stiling and perth. A great place to eat nearby was the cairn lodge hotel, the food was amazing!

We will definetly stay with gerry and lorraine again when we return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandchick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Allandale House, your comments are very much appreciated, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I would like to thank Lorraine and Gerry who made us feel so welcome at Allandale and went the extra mile to ensure that we had everything we needed, even ensuring that our planned dinner at GelnEagles had that extra special touch!
We both thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and wish it could have lasted longer. We were initially considering staying at GlenEagles, but this was by far the better option - I cannot give high enough praise - what a great venue. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review Allandale House, your comments are important to us. We are so glad we played a part in making your weekend in Scotland enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back to Allandale House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

6 of us stayed here for one night just before Christmas while doing a show in the area.
This is a Beautiful House, you can tell its been lovingly cared for!! Everything is immaculate.
A really warm welcoming entrance hall, perfect rooms and the ensuite's were absolutely stunning!
We all enjoyed Breakfast the next morning which was lovely.

We couldn't say enough good things about Allendale House, we would go back in a shot. The only disappointment was it was only for one night.
If you are in the area don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management746, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments on your stay with us at Allandale House, guest's opinions matter to us greatly and we appreciate you taking the time to review us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Allandale in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Allandale house is a real gem and the experience of staying here is one well worth enjoying. My room was clean, fresh and extremely comfortable. The proprietors were very welcoming, knowledgeable about the area for both amenities and services. Wi fi was available, in my bedroom, free of charge which is of real value if staying on business or for keeping in touch with friends and colleagues.
I had read reviews of the breakfast served here and now I have experienced both the food and the service I can only agree with other contributors, fab-u-lous! Do try this, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardSmith039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allandale House, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review, your complimentary comments are very encouraging for us as we continue striving to provide our guests with excellent service and accommodation. Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
2.1 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
763 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Travelodge Perth Broxden Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
674 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,185 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberuthven
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allandale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allandale House

Property: Allandale House
Address: 17 High Street, Auchterarder PH3 1DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're visiting Scotland and looking for a guest house right at the heart of things, a stay at Allandale House in Auchterarder is the perfect Perthshire choice. An Elegant Townhouse providing Bed & Breakfast in beautifully furnished guest rooms. All our rooms have en-suite facilities with Quality toiletries, Bath robes, Flat screen cable television with DVD player, Alarm Radio Clocks, Hospitality Trays, complimentary bottled water, Hair Dryers and Free Wireless Internet access. We are located 1.5 Miles from the 2014 Ryder Cup venue at Gleneagles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Allandale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allandale House Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing