We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful weekend !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CLC Duchally Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful weekend !”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We hired 2 of the 2 bed lodges at Duchally Estate for the weekend of 6 and 7 May to celebrate our friends Silver Wedding and had a most enjoyable short break. Not too expensive if you have the maximum people in each lodge. There were 12 of us in the 2 lodges and we were very presently surprised at how spacious they were. Kiitchen was a good size and well equipped. We were directly opposite the leisure complex and the pool was perfect - especially at 8am when I went for a morning swim, had it to myself!

The adults dined in the restaurant on Saturday night and again I can recommend this, - food would be too fancy for children though. We found the staff to be helpful, absolutely no complaints - even the weather behaved itself!

We all came away saying must come back here again - testimony in itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60elaine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    198
    37
    14
    15
See reviews for
305
240
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were staying here for a last minute retreat as a change in our rotas had given us a free weekend off. We booked to stay at 11am and arrived at 5pm. The place was easy enough to find using the sat-nav.
When were arrived the girl at check in took at least 5 attempts to get everything correct. I overheard another couple asking to book for dinner and being told there were no tables available. We were also hoping to have dinner in the hotel (it is not exactly situated in a city centre!!!) but were told the only option would be to have a take-away option in our room. They do have a bar, but we were not allowed to have any of the main restaurant options brought through to there. There was no mention made at the time of booking that there were no tables for dinner or to be honest we would never have stayed here (and we will not be back).
Of note the facilities are great - they have lovely pool (but it is outside in another building and as it was raining we got soaked getting there and back) and the sauna and steam room were also very good.
Breakfast was a buffet (which was nice but a bit cold) and the staff were fairly unimpressive at breakfast. We went back up to our room to finish tidying up and they phoned up at 1103 (three minutes after check out) to ask us very rudely to leave. A bit poor really considering they'd seen us come down with the suitcase about a minute before!
I would not stay here again - if you do I would highly advise the All-Seasons Restaurant in Auchterarder. The staff there were fantastic, food was brilliant and very well presented and the wine list was excellent (mains £10-13 - wine £3.50 per glass) and they were able to seat us without issue! There are frankly better hotels in the area - the Stirling Management Centre at Stirling University being one, and I would advise people to think twice before paying 50% more than those rates for somewhere with a bit too much emphasis on its timeshares and not enough on its hotel customers.

Room Tip: Try booking in somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMurray2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Travelled here after an internet promotion where we had a cut price deal for 3 nights ( £236 ) when looking at the original price it didn't seem much of a bargain so when asked they gave us a £50 credit to be spent in bar or restaurant ! The lodge was beautiful and had everything you needed but the I had to dust the shelves in the wardrobes before putting clothes on them and the dining table lamp hadn't seen a duster for a long , long time. We found the beds very uncomfortable but that could have been just for our lodge when mentioned at the sales pitch about the beds they said they could change it for us but obviously when we didn't sign up that idea went out the window.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and the leisure centre was great for the children. Entertainment and a quiz in the bar made you feel very welcome.
So Hotel and accomodation terrific, as well as the staff that work there. When it comes to the presentation it all started very friendly but when we said that caring for an elderly relative prevented us from making a choice right now ( bear in mind we hadn't even got to talking about cost at this point !) the reply came " That's all very well but you shouldn't let it take over your life ! ". At this point we switched off they were not there to judge our choice of lifestyle, 90 minutes at this point into the presentation and we were told that we had to see the whole presentation or else we would be charged the full cost of the Lodge. Another 90 minutes and the sales rep. finally believed that we were not interested. Our 2 children sat there with their Nintendos good as gold but had obviously had enough by then, was the rep hoping we'd give in if they got fed up? They say they are not hard sell but they certainly ain't soft. If you're able to say no to this kind of approach and just accept that you may have to sacrifice 2-3 hours of a long weekend to listen to someone trying to scrape the barrel for reasons for you to want to join their timeshare scheme, then go ahead and take the cheap weekend. We did have a good time and would go back to the Duchally if we wanted that area of Scotland. But there is no way we would be involved in a timeshare with such a pushy company, who just wants your money and doesn't really bother about if it is right for you or not.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheOfamilyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Had an enjoyable stay in lodge 706 at Duchally; lodge was nicely furnished & decorated and situated in a good position within the estate.

Pleasant reception staff on arrival and lodge was ready just after 3pm which was good.

The accomodation itself is lovely:-
Upstairs:- large master bedroom with ensuite bathroom with separate shower cubicle. Twin room decent size with ensuite bathroom (shower over bath).
Twin room downstairs, family shower room off lounge area. Double sofa bed [not the most comfortable] in lounge [tv, surround sound, dvd player] with nice decking outside that we didn't get the use of due to the snow.
Fully equipped kitchen with lovely dining area, table & chairs for eight.
Welcome pack on arrival includes milk, fruit juice, bread, butter, jam, bottle of red wine, coffee, tea, sugar, dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets, plenty of towels in bathrooms, 5 tea towels and cloths in the kitchen. Bathrooms have mini shower gels and shampoos and all are well stocked with toilet paper too!

We had booked through a Club la Costa promotion and sat through a presentation which last about 1 3/4 - 2 hours; way too long in the middle of the afternoon when you have friends and family with you enjoying the leisure centre......if you're interested in signing up you'll do it.....if not you won't, we didn't; just not the right thing for us but we knew that before we went in!

Leisure centre is nice, pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi all clean and not too busy, nice coffee shop here too serving light bites.
No wifi in the leisure centre anymore only in the bar!
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Sunday evening nice but not cheap.

NB There is no longer a farm shop here.......we were given incorrect information when we received our phone call from CLC 3 days before we left and thought we'd be able to nip out to the farm shop on the Saturday morning for steak/chicken for that evenings meal ; NO chance the shop is shut down and apparently CLC staff have been giving out misinformation on this [we luckily had a good supply of other food/drink with us]. We went into Auchterarder to the butchers [Simon Howie's - we can highly recommend the fillet steak...melted in the mouth] and to the co-op to stock up. This would have been an easy trip but for the snow and it made driving conditions a bit tricky in places.

All in all we enjoyed a relaxing weekend at Duchally, its quiet, its well maintained and thoroughly enjoyed it especially with the promo price ;-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed here with our 3 children aged 13,13,3 the villa was beautiful very modern with lots of space, we had a warm welcome and towels and bedding were changed when we asked, having beeb our first visit i would stay in a lodge next time to experience the whole scotland thing!
to get to attractions it was a bit of a drive from where we were but worth the journey.
i would recommend this place but bare in mind that most attractions and things to do starts from april onwards, a lot of things like safari parks were shut so going during april-sept would be better.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yammie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The food in the restaurant was lovely, the staff are very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The lodges are lovely and the rooms are ok in the hotel. The location is beautiful and the spa and pool are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were welcomed by a very friendly and professional Victoria. We were upgraded to a 3bedroomed lodge with 3 bathrooms, it was huge and spotlessly clean and very modern. Good value for money. We would definitely stay again in the future, possibly in the summer when we can enjoy the outside surrounding countryside more!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_PaulManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchterarder
9.2 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
10.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,244 reviews
24.7 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,466 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Duchally Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Duchally Country Estate

Property: CLC Duchally Country Estate
Address: Duchally Gleneagles, Auchterarder PH3 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Auchterarder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Auchterarder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CLC Duchally Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duchally Country Estate is set in prime Perthshire parkland near to Gleneagles and is the ideal base for a holiday in Scotland. Duchally Country Estate, while secluded, is perfect for short breaks and overnight stops in the Country House Hotel or a full Scottish holiday in luxury lodge accommodation that is conveniently located for easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CLC Duchally Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clc Duchally Country Estate Hotel Auchterarder
Duchally Country Estate Auchterarder
CLC Duchally Country Estate Auchterarder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing