We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you are in Aberfeldy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Checheks

Checheks
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Aberfeldy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Been to checheks a few times now and always forget to review so here goes. The owner, Matthew, is a delightful man - sometimes he has help in the restaurant but more often than not he is "head cook and bottlewasher" and what a fantastic job he does.
If you want something a little different then try checheks. The food is delicious and although the menu is not vast there is a mix of Iranian and Lebanese dishes to choose from plus pizzas and burgers - and all home made; no shop bought pitta bread here either - the owner makes his own flatbread fresh on the premises.
Add to all this reasonable prices and what more could you ask for.
Lovely food served in a very pleasant manner by a man who takes pride in what he does.

Tips:
This restaurant can be either slow or quite fast food but only in the sense that you can take as much time to have a leisurely meal as you want or if you are in a hurry (as we were one night) you can let the owner know and he will speed things up as much as possible.

Note to vegetarians - this place will be heaven for you as there are so many meat free goodies to choose from.

This restaurant closes for part of January and February when the owner goes on holiday. If you are thinking of going then - ring first to check if they are open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mactel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eccentric but pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ate here on first night staying in Abereldy. The set starters and main to choose was good value and there was plenty choice on the menu. I had the Tabsi a vegetarian Lebanese stew with rice. Small, intimate restaurant with the owner manning the fort on his own. Quite bizarre in some ways but he managed it all well, managing to serve everyone, take orders, cook and front of house all in one! I can imagine that people who are used to posh expensive restaurants wouldn't be keen on this place but if you're not pretentious and enjoy something different then I'd recommend trying it. My stew was delicious, full of aubergine and mushroom, really tasty. Only thing I'd say is that the rice that came with it was a big portion. I can eat a lot but I could only manage half the rice, the owner could save himself money cutting it down slightly. The rice was cooked to perfection however. Worth a visit if you're in the area if you want something a it different.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mon-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited on Saturday night and we were very pleased with the whole experience. The food is all home made and served with pride by the the owner. The fixed price starter plus any main course was great value and I would recommend this. Only problem was that the phone number posted on TA is wrong and we had to walk in to get a reservation. I have posted a correction but the correct number is 01887 829494

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank euanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Delightful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Simon and I saw this little place in the square and decided to try it for dinner on a Friday night. Immediately we were greeted with a friendly welcome, seated, and had time to enjoy our surroundings before ordering. We ordered the Donner Kebab and Mixed Kebab; the food was very flavoursome. Price point was very reasonable. If you fancy something a wee bit different this place is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
“wonderful hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went here with my partner for dinner as we weren't feeling the token local Indian (busy as it was). Instead we opted for Checheks. It's small and beautiful inside with an authentic Mediterranean vibe about it. When we were seated we realised that the waiter was also the chef! (He may well also.be the owner!) The service was brilliant, and the food was delicious. It had that rare blend of home-made goodness and top notch restaurant quality!
The prices were really reasonable too - for such wonderful food.
Best meal we've had in as long as I can remember. Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Owlandthepussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checheks also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Checheks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing