We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
44
22
12
18
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
22
12
18
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering ensuite bathroom scotland walks wee pitlochry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 126 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night as he was born in Aberfeldy and wanted to show me the area, its very run down dirty and dusty, the place is very dark no lights on, the mixed bag of staff were polite but very strange no food except soup so we ate out, the room is tired and worn when he asked who owns the place the Australian lady said 2 couples. Breakfast in the morning was shocking everything was stone cold including the coffee I couldn't eat any of it this place needs help its a creepy, weird place a cross between Adams family and the film the others couldn't wait to escape 1 star is for the fire, avoid this place

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank fairylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Review is based on room 7.

Where to start, let's just list some of the issues:

Dead flies all over the window sills.
Door locked but door could still be opened with no effort without the lock being opened.
No TV in the room at all.
Duvets were comfy but beds were unmade on arrival with them folded up at one end of the bed.
Most surfaces need dusting.
Family room was two single beds and a set of bunks with broken mattress supports.
No chef, so no food (wouldn't have risked it anyway).

£110 for this?! Won't be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank sy278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Stopped here for lunch. As soon as we walked in we knew we were not going to risk eating anything. The place was stinking of disinfectant everywhere so strong you could taste it.
After wandering around for ten minutes eventually found owner mopping the floor in the toilets. Nice enough man and our welcome was fine BUT the place was filthy. The coffee was so weak my husband could not drink it, we threw it out. We were the only ones in the place. The owner is obviously trying to run the whole place on his own. It’s not working Sir !!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kelpie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Arrived after a long journey from Southport. Hotel is shabby and dirty. Rooms were very disappointing. Manager was clueless. Unfortunately we had already paid online via Booking.com, had our 88 year old mother with us plus no vacancies nearby otherwise we would have walked away. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

The owner, John, was a very pleasant chap. He appears to be running the place on his own. We wish him good luck. He'll need it.

We arrived having travelled from Stockport (6hrs) to be informed that we could not eat there after all as there actually were no restaurant facilities (contrary to advertised) as they had no cook. The stairs and carpets were filthy and in great need of a vacuum and the place smelt musty and dirty. Our rooms were extremely basic and cold, and the tea and coffee had not been replenished from previous occupants: empty coffee wrappers remaining. The external door handle fell off and in the morning the shower tray filled up and flooded the bathroom before you had a chance to wash soap off yourself. When we returned to the room later in the day at 4pm the rooms had not been serviced. On enquiry we were told that usually this is carried out on request (even though there was a sign above the sink inviting you to put towels in the shower if you wanted them changed or hang them up if you were happy to use them again). All our towels, of course, were in the shower having been used to mop up the flood. Shower problem was rectified and new towels were provided that evening. The two rooms we had cost £110 per night!!! Horribly overpriced and unsatisfactory. The whole place needs an overhaul and the pictures on booking.com are wholly misleading.

Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews