We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much needed cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birks Cinema

Birks Cinema
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Much needed cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sat around for years as a derelict building. last couple of years has gone through a "virtual" re-build. Result, a very modern comfortable cinema with Café/Restaurant that not only shows the latest films, but links to such as "Live" Opera/West End Shows etc. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PebblesDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    29
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family used to visit Aberfeldy staying at the caravan park and this was a real nostalgia trip for us. I live approximately 60 miles from Aberfeldy so I tend to only visit the town in the summer months. My brother and sister visited the cinema before it closed back int he 1980s. I'm so glad it has reopened and it's a fantastically personal cinema experience. The seats are comfortable, which I would expect from a brand new cinema. The staff were really helpful and I will definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddsy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A very comfortable cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This will be a real benefit to the folk North of Perth and South of Inverness and will boost tourism in the area.

The whole place is pristine and the staff are very courteous and helpful.

The sound system is very good and the seats very comfortable with good sight lines in all parts.

The fact that they are already "sold out" for major global screenings of some concerts etc is a good indication that this investment will pay-off and be a success

The cafe and restaurant attached to the cinema is spotless and reasonably priced

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

what a fantastic little complex the set up was so welcoming. the seating is very comfy loved the couple seats up the back. just a joy to visit like going back in time to a traditional cinema with a modern feel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank herries2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birks Cinema also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Birks Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing