We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Worth a visit.”
Review of Schiehallion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schiehallion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my husband. Room was huge and spotless. Bathroom wow. Huge bathtub and walk in shower. Staff very friendly. Access from rooms straight to bar so you don't even need to go outside. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay25823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Phoned to make a late booking after being let down at the last moment by another local hotel. The staff (Monty) cheerfully rearranged room bookings to give us two nights in the same room. Room and ensuite was brand new and very comfortable. Breakfast excellent, all staff very friendly and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 8 only has a small window due to roof pitch and therefor does not receive a lot of natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend getaway , quite a find !
Room was clean and very comfortable , great breakfast and superb evening in bar with local singer providing entertainment was great fun and very reasonably priced , would recommend if anyone wanted a quiet stay !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank rhsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Schiehallion was a great overnight stop. Perched at the end of the main street of Aberfeldy, the place looks like a fairly standard country town boozer. Inside is a bit like the Tardis, everything is a bit bigger and better. The rooms have all been renovated and the outcome is a success. Great beds, great bathrooms and all the normal facilities you look for.
We were there on the weekend of the local Games, and we thought that downstairs would be noisy and unbearable. It was a pleasant surprise to find that it was a wee bit loud, but very bearable. We enjoyed a very good dinner, surrounded by young men in kilts and hoodies, or full highland dress. Upstairs again, and the noise from the bar faded away and the room was very enjoyable.
Just one little thing. When its a bit cool and drizzly, the smokers still have to go outside, and outside takes them straight under some of the room windows. Not a huge issue, but it would have been nice to have the window open that night. Overall - great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Recently refurbished to a good standard, this was a very comfortable 2 night stay in Sept 2013. Friendly staff. Pub food better that average, breakfast good with plenty of choice. Bar area a bit off-putting in terms of clientele early in evening but better once meals got under way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a warm welcome
We were very impressed with our deluxe double room bath and shower were brilliant
We didn't have dinner in hotel as the eating area is not separated from the bar with the football on tv bit too loud for us
The hotel was spotless the bed was very comfortable
Our breakfast was served very quick and was excellent
The only blip was the wifi was not working properly seems to be an ongoing prob
The above was our only complaint 9 and a half out of ten
We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a hotel were you can get everything.Excellent rooms,a pub just down the stairs,a very nice little village and an amazing landscape around the village.Good food in the pub. In the morning you get a very good breakfast.We can really recommened this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pialil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,799 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
1 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
296 reviews
0 mi away
Station House
Station House
#4 of 19 in Aberfeldy
146 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiehallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiehallion Hotel

Address: 6 Dunkeld Street | Tigh na Braich, Aberfeldy PH15 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $103 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schiehallion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now locally owned and managed, after an extensive renovation programme we are delighted to open the doors of the Schiehallion Hotel and extend a warm welcome to our guests. We offer a range of spacious ensuite rooms furnished to a standard expected of 4-star accommodation. With a lively bistro and Bar atmosphere, our Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the Aberfeldy area. Highland Perthshire has so much to offer whether your're visiting castles, distilleries or enjoying the great outdoors walking, golfing, fishing, cycling or even trying your hand at an adrenaline activity such as white water rafting or bungee jumping ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Schiehallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiehallion Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing