We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review”
Review of Schiehallion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schiehallion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Schiehallion with 4 other family members on the 23rd April. Although we did not stay here, we did stop by for lunch. Having been in e-mail contact with the hotel prior to our arrival, we were rather looking forward to trying their new lunchtime menu. Unfortunately, this was not quite at the point of being launched when we visited, which was a bit of a shame.

That said, the food was all locally sourced and specially cooked for us. On top of this, no one had a bad word to say about it! The waiter was friendly, and took a genuine interest in where we had been, where we going and what we thought of the food.

I think it fair to say we will revisit here, as the food was very good, the service was also very good, and the price was even better! £55 for 5 people, with drinks....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ReigateRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    33
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
84
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is a little diamond in beautiful Highland Perthshire. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, peaceful, spacious with a very comfortable bed. The hotel is freshly decorated with lovely photos of the locality. The staff were very friendly, service was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend staying in this hotel and visiting the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Only thing to let down our stay was the weather ! We booked two rooms for an overnight in Aberfeldy. We were travelling with oversees visitors so it was great to find such a super hotel. It has just been renovated this has been done to a very high standard. Beautiful rooms , really comfy beds, friendly welcome with good breakfast the following morning. Would recommend to anyone looking for a weekend away. Hope they maintain their very high standards , will be back .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline,Fife,Scotland.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just stayed there & wasn't disappointed,the staff were very friendly & helpful to us,the rooms were amazing the memory foam bed ensured a fantastic nights sleep,The hotel rooms are above the pub/restaurant & the food was very tasty & good value, a plus for this service you don't even have to leave the hotel,As this was a last minute booking due to our other hotel going into administration the Schiehallion was recommended by the local guy's at Splash White Water Rafting so many thanks to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackalcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Buisson-de-Cadouin, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having stayed for three nights we had a lovely, relaxing time. We received a very warm welcome. Indeed all the staff-from cleaners to chef-were friendly, courteous and helpful, with advice and descriptions-of the menu, the local area and, in our case, suggestions for assistance after car problems before we had arrived there. The help which we received in this regard was 'over and above' their usual expertise and duties.
The Hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard, the rooms are modern, bright, well furnished and the bathrooms superb.
The food is second to none, I would say that you could pay much more money and not not receive the same quality. The breakfast really does set you up for the day-many would, I'm sure, be hard pushed to to be ready for their evening meal!!
We have written to compliment the owners on the standards which they have achieved, thanking them for the conviviality created in this lovely hotel.
We will be back and would highly recommend this as a base, wherever your excursions may take you-it's worth the drive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow - Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed overnight and thoroughly enjoy our stay here.

We were greeted with a very warm welcome and our room was superb, very modern, spacious, warm, cosy, just delightful.

We ate in the bar/dining area and our food was very tasty topped off with excellent customer service. We would highly recommend staying here if visiting the area, as very convenient for visiting sites of interest and various outdoor activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Came for dinner with my boyfriend a few weeks back.
Was lovely and the waiter was sooo nice!! Felt really welcome, would definitely recommend the beef casserole with puff pastry :)

(I had to fill in the hotel parts to submit this but I'm sure they're 5/5 too! )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibb_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,535 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiehallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiehallion Hotel

Property: Schiehallion Hotel
Address: 6 Dunkeld Street | Tigh na Braich, Aberfeldy PH15 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schiehallion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now locally owned and managed, after an extensive renovation programme we are delighted to open the doors of the Schiehallion Hotel and extend a warm welcome to our guests. We offer a range of spacious ensuite rooms furnished to a standard expected of 4-star accommodation. With a lively bistro and Bar atmosphere, our Hotel provides the ideal base to explore the Aberfeldy area. Highland Perthshire has so much to offer whether your're visiting castles, distilleries or enjoying the great outdoors walking, golfing, fishing, cycling or even trying your hand at an adrenaline activity such as white water rafting or bungee jumping ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schiehallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiehallion Hotel Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing