We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very recommendable”
Review of Balnearn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balnearn House
Ranked #3 of 19 Aberfeldy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pegnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very recommendable”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The house is large and spacy. The room itself was a bit on the small side, the bed very comfortable for a single but for a double it would be a bit cramped. The sink is in the room, toilett and large shower in an en-suite bathroom. The shower had enough pressure, a large shower head and even a one-handle mixer. TV and hairdryer were in the room, free WiFi was available. A guest lounge could be used. On the other side the street noise and especially other guests using toiletts and showers were clearly audible.

Breakfast had to be ordered until 9 p.m., the menu contained salmon & eggs and two American style dishes. It was all freshly cooked, but we ordered for 8.30 and got it not before 9 am, so we left slightly delayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
133
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights (Mon+Tue) and can thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here. The service was exceptional and Mark and Claire went out of their way to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. The rooms were very well decorated, as was the rest of the house, and the breakfast was amazing and the staff were always pleasant. Fantastic location and the owners knowledge of the local area was first class and helped us plan our activities and recommended restaurants etc. We hope to re-visit this guest house and can say staying here was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Lovely guest house, friendly couple, big clean room, powerful shower and good breakfast - however the bed was awful...hence my rating of poor to average, as we had a very uncomfortable night and hardly slept.

We stayed in room 6 and the size of the room, could have done with a king size - but the main problem was the lumpy, bouncy, squeaky mattress. You just needed to move an arm and the whole thing wobbled and creaked. The pillows were just as bad - one was rock hard and the other full of lumps. The night was uncomfortable and noisy, and we had a terrible nights sleep!

Shame because it really did spoil what was otherwise a nice stay. Other reviews don't seem to mention this, so perhaps it is only room 6 that has this problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-traveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalnearnHouse, Owner at Balnearn House, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you had a sleepless night whilst staying with us. This is the first time we have received such feedback. We do welcome guest feedback and only wish that this had been mentioned to us upon your departure when asked if eveything was alright with your stay.

As stated earlier, this is the first time this has been brought to our attention, we have just had guests depart after six nights in that room and they had a "fantastic stay" and will be back next year.

However we do take this seriously and have spent a night in the room. Where we do feel it is comfortable, we do agree that there is a noisy squeak. On this basis we have ordered a new bed and we have also replaced the pillows.

We are glad that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us and we hope that we can welcome you back to Balnearn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Balnearn guesthouse offer B&B of outstanding quality. A warm welcome, exceptionally clean rooms and surrounds, lots of info on area on what to see and do. Excellent breakfast, well organised and owner managed. The staff works hard to keep this high standard and i can recommend this lovely guesthouse to travellers. Congratulations to Mark and Claire for running such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Balnearn House was an excellent find. The house was lovely. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was huge, tons of choices and very delicious. My spouse couldn’t get enough of the porridge and honey.

We laughed at a previous post about the shower until we arrived. Weird thing to review but their shower really was excellent. Right down the road there are restaurants and pubs. The village is fantastic.

Staying here was a great experience. We spent a few weeks traveling through England and Scotland and this was by far our favorite stop. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here the night before the Etape Caledonia 2012 and blown away by the service especially when we were informed that Claire was able to serve breakfast at 4.30 in the morning for us - not restricted to a banana and boxed cereals at all. Fresh porridge with oodles of honey, cafetiere of coffee and toast. We had expected to have to boil a kettle for hot water to add to our instant M&S porridge - resigned now to the store cupboard at home.

Rooms were great with comfortable beds and decent ensuite facilities plus a relaxing lounge to chill out in. I wish that we stayed a bit longer as it was a brilliant experience in wonderfully beautiful surroundings.

A definite need to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pint_of_Blacksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for the Etape Caledonia 2012, couldn't have picked a better place!! Mark kept me right on travel times and such like for the Etape and made room in his garge for guests bikes. Claire was up at 0400 making breakfast for cyclists before the race which was outstanding!! Nothing was a hassell for Mark and Claire. Had a very spacious room and as other reviews mention, shower was fab. Could not fault anything!! Would book again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,385 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Errichel House and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Brae House Bed and Breakfast 4 Star GOLD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balnearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnearn House

Property: Balnearn House
Address: Crieff Road | Perthshire, Aberfeldy PH15 2BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balnearn House is a traditional yet stylish 4 star country house offering bed and breakfast accommodation in Aberfeldy. Set in the beautiful Tay valley in the heart of Highland Perthshire, one of the most scenic counties in Scotland. Balnearn is situated on the edge of town making it the ideal base for your visit. Within a two minute walk of the "Birks o' Aberfeldy", Balnearn is a Victorian- style property set within its own private grounds, including an off-street private car park. There are 10 comfortable and inviting rooms, offering flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI throughout the house. Enjoy a good book, game of chess or plan your next day's activities in front of a roaring log fire in our spacious sitting room where we serve afternoon tea by prior arrangement. Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in our elegant dining room where you will be offered a selection of both cooked and lighter options, including our homemade granola or freshly made pancakes, giving you the perfect start to your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Balnearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balnearn House Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing