We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JFW21
West Midlands, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights here - what a gorgeous cottage. 2 Bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a cosy lounge with open fireplace. Large farmstyle kitchen with extended family room and lovely garden. The photos do not do it justice! Will certainly return. Easy walking distance to shops and beautiful peaceful area. Warm and cosy when we arrived. Very helpful landlady - was in constant contact via email and text. Certainly recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xtrailbla...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home from Home ”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had a most wonderful week staying at The Armoury and I simply cannot comprehend the review left by the person on July the 8th. We also managed to locate the cottage ,find the key ,operate the boiler(even without the manual provided !),hang our clothes up ,find more towels ,operate the TV s (again ,instructions provided) and make our beds. The cottage has everything you could need and the family room is so spacious and bright and leads to a lovely walled garden .We had such a fab time that we are returning in October by popular demand. Thank you Rosemary, can't wait !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek70592...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay, nice location”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a good stay here; the house is large, nice and located well in the nice city of Aberfeldy. Much to do in the area, Loch Tay, Ben Lawers, Glen Lyon, the Birks, Dewars Distellery, boat rental, highland safari's, etc. Really good. House was complete, large and has a great garden. An extra door between the living area's and upstairs sleeping room wouldn't be bad (if you have young kids). We had a good stay, thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morkirlan
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcoming Cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last week and had a wonderful time. I am astounded at the review which was posted yesterday. It doesn't describe our experience at all.

We were given directions and told exactly where to find our keys in the numerous helpful messages exchanged with Rosemary through the Tripadvisor rental inbox. When I had a query on the first day we arrived I texted Rosemary and she telephoned back immediately and was very helpful.

The cottage is lovely and welcoming. The sofa and chairs in the living room are extremely comfortable and fit the nature of a country cottage well, with lovely butterflies on one of the chairs with two-sided cushions to match both this chair and the lovely green cord sofa. Oftentimes it was difficult to prise ourselves off the really comfortable sofas in the conservatory, which was so lovely, spacious and bright. We had ourselves in the double bed, our eldest teenage son on the sofa bed and our two younger teenage sons in the bedroom upstairs. We all found the beds very comfortable and slept really well. There was an extra mattress available in the wardrobe upstairs for the sofa bed but my son said he was comfortable enough without it. Extra towels were available in the cupboards in both bedrooms.

This is a self-catering cottage - why would you expect a service mid-week? Why would you expect toiletries? It is not a hotel. A vacuum cleaner and cleaning materials were available should you require them. Two toilet rolls were in each bathroom and we had ordered more to arrive on our first day in the online shop from Tesco's in Perth because, again, this is not a hotel!

On the counter by the boiler was a well-used folder filled with manuals for the boiler, the dishwasher, the vacuum cleaner etc. These all explained everything well. There was a remote control for the DVD when we arrived, a card explaining how to work the TV, and a working TV upstairs.

We had a wonderful stay. We loved the cottage with it's lovely private garden, well-equipped kitchen and quirky decorations. Checheks the Persian restaurant was our favourite eatery. We had wonderful walks all around and the boys went on Duckie Rafting and Canyoning trips with Splash Water Rafting which was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you so much ,so glad you enjoyed your stay , have been upset and a bit perplexed by the previous review ,I really appreciate your feedback , haste Ye back ,Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minkymink...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Huge Disappointment.”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were promised a 'beautiful cottage' so were hugely disappointed when we arrived.

We were not given adequate directions which resulted in us travelling up and down the main road, until we asked at a local newsagents.

The front door keys were left adjacent to the front door, under a garden ornament. A good guess, because were were not told.

On opening the front door, we were hit by a musty smell and it was cold, so not welcoming at all.

I had to suss out the boiler, to get hot water and the heating to work.
The furniture looks like it was rescued from an old nursing home - old and not at all comfortable.

There was no welcome pack and we had to make the beds for ourselves. There is an open fire, but no fuel provided. No toiletries either. Oh! and only one toilet roll.
The beds are uncomfortable and of poor quality.

The two single beds in the first floor room are or different makes and dimensions, so one cannot push them together, because the mattresses are of differing heights.

There is no wi-fi, the TV on the first floor does not work and there is no DVD remote control in the living room. When the sun is in a certain position, it is impossible to watch TV because the Velux window in the roof does not have a blind, so the sun just blazes through.

There is no blind on the first floor bedroom Velux window either, so one is woken by the light at 5am

We only had one towel each and there was no mid-week servicing of the cottage

There is a lack of wardrobe space, damaged plaster on the ceiling, lights not working and lights sticking out of the ceiling.

Most of the above could have been avoided by having someone go in the day before and prepare everything. Instead, I think it is a second home that is rented to raise a bit income, but with no thought of the customer.

Shocking!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Gosh! from reading that I thought you were in a different cottage . If you read the rest of the reviews about
"The Armoury " you seem to be totally out of kilter with them .
The cottage had new furniture two years ago from a major store in Dundee I still have the receipts
if you would care to see them. There is a remote control for the TV downstairs sorry you couldn't see it, second TV upstairs is just for DVDs for the kids. The extra
towels are In the linen boxes
at the back of the wardrobe as I know your party of at least six people found as there were lots of towels used which is fine. There is no Wi-Fi listed in the
description. Sorry you found it musty and cold at the end of June as it was cleaned and aired an hour prior to your arrival.
you had my Mobile number if you found the directions in adequate.
I do think we offer good value with six in at £13. 00 per person per night. We don't say we provide a welcome pack.
The strangest thing about your review is that I have had a text on saturday from The lady who booked it to say that you all had a wonderful time. So I'm not really sure what's going here and I do really care that my guests have a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer70...
1 review
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

enjoyed the peace and quiet. lovely walled garden. arrived on a rainy day and place was a bit chilly but heating on and soon warmed up. beds were comfortable. lots to do in the area - really enjoyed the Crannog Centre and did standup paddle boarding on Loch Tay - that was fun!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you Isabel glad you enjoyed it. Aberfeldy and surrounding area has so much to offer . Haste Ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing