We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly idyllic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Armoury

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly idyllic”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We just spent a wonderful long weekend in Aberfeldy visiting Menzies Castle and the Crannog Centre among other places. The Armoury provided the perfect accommodation, the cottage is comfortable and well equipped and the location close to Aberfeldy town centre could not have been better. The enclosed garden was perfect for our two greyhounds and would also be ideal for smaller family members to play safely. We look forward to a return visit to this lovely house

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Many thanks for your positive review. Haste ye back, rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsjajo
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would stay here again. Loved It!!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 1 week in May with 7 family members. It was a great stay and close enough to all the areas of Scotland we visited to make day trips and then return. The kitchen was great as was the large sunroom that we really enjoyed. As for the town of Aberfeldy...absolutely LOVELY, we walked into town for groceries, dinners, and just to explore. The river and bridge were not far at all and definitely worth a walk to. Everything about the house and town were exactly what we needed to make our Scottish trip great. Thanks Rosemary for all your help leading up to our arrival and for making us comfortable in The Armoury!!!

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Happy to hear you had such a lovely family reunion . Long way from Florida to Aberfeldy but hope one day to welcome you back again best wishes rosemary. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsForget...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage and Location”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at The Armoury for 3 days over Easter weekend. Lovely cottage, really cosy and the kitchen/sunroom is so bright and spacious we spent most of our time here! The garden is a great size and plenty secure for our dog who loved it!

Aberfeldy is lovely, a very friendly place with some lovely shops and a co-op which has all you need, the chippie is also lush. Some lovely river walks, Schehallion and Ben Lawers nearby aswell. We went to the farmers market in Logierait on Saturday which is worth a visit if its on and you're around. We also went to Kenmore for and Glantully. Nice little beach in Kenmore. We walked to Glantully along the river with the dog (5.5miles each way), went to the Chocolate shop for lunch which was really nice. Also visited the Spirit of Wood shop - such nice things!

We would definitely come back to the Armoury if we are to stay in Aberfeldy again, my husband has already spoken about going back easter next year! Thank you Rosemary we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would absolutely recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the property and its spacious living and garden area
Liked least: The mattress was a little hard and would prefer an electric shower.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Lovely to hear you had a good time - come back soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireR13...
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Fabulous river walks on the doorstep! The location was perfect for us and it was a home from home.
Booking the break was very easy and I recommend this to everyone.
Will be back!!

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Thank you ! Haste ye back ! Kind regards rosemary xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gus_434
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in excellent location.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. Cottage was spacious and warmed up wonderfully (despite not using the wood-fire) with radiators on. An excellent base in the area, with Aberfeldy right on your doorstep. Easy to walk into town for supplies, or to blow the froth off a couple!

Would certainly stay again, really loved the area and the hikes it had to offer. Very gracious host also.

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, full of light, space and character”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, the Armoury is full of character with a fabulous light and spacious family room. There's also a cosy lounge with a fireplace and outside there's a pretty enclosed garden. This is a wonderful place for family and friends to stay and a great location for walking in the local hills. The Aberfeldy Show was taking place during our stay and this was definitely an added attraction. We'd never seen anyone tossing the caber before! We hired a car for our visit but found we didn't need it very much as many picturesque walks start from near the town centre. The Armoury slept six comfortably and there's even a wigwam in the garden for two or three hardy souls!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmf13
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous for pets & humans alike”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here in the middle of some glorious weather, so managed to pack in a full week of activity & this property suited our needs perfectly. Having separate bathrooms meant no hanging around in the morning. 2 adults & a dog, that thoroughly enjoyed the decent sized, safely enclosed garden, complete with WigWam for shade ! Prior to arrival, Rosemary made sure we knew how to get in, gave helpful landmark directions & ensured we had a contact point if needed. It wasn't. Easy off street parking & close, but not too close, proximity to the shops, meant that a quick stroll up the road took care of all necessary food & provisions on arrival.
There IS clothes storage room, but it is limited. The kitchen/dining area is wonderful though - light, spacious & warm, with direct access to that lovely safe garden. The dog loved the river walk & swimming about 2 minutes away & all the Munros a few miles away above Loch Tay.
I would happily recommend this property & return to it if returning to Aberfeldy in the near future.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole kitchen/dining area
Liked least: Lack of wardrobe space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing