We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.40*
and up
Aberfeldy Distillery Tour
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the Dewar family’s pursuit of Scotch whisky perfection in the distillery they built in 1898. Producing the beautifully balanced single malt at the heart of the Dewar’s blend, Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery is the spiritual home of America’s top selling Scotch. Tour the distillery to see how we create the distinctive honeyed richness of our spirit. Access our atmospheric warehouse and learn how we double age our whisky for extra smoothness. Explore our interactive exhibition, guided by our bespoke app. Soak up the atmosphere in our welcoming cafe and Whisky Lounge, and fill your own bottle from our hand-selected casks. Booking online is strongly advised to secure your experience. Free parking and foreign language leaflets available.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

You can make anything cooler by adding the words "The World of...". Honestly, we enjoyed the Whiskey Tour. If you are visiting Scotland, it is a mandate to check out a Whiskey Distillery, Dewar's has to be one of the best. The location is amazing, right next to a stream. The sweet smell of Single Malt in the air. Overall, an unforgettable experience.

Thank Phalgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World_of_Whisky, General Manager at Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

What a great review! Thank you for your kind words – I am genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Aberfeldy is a very special place, an undisputedly stunning location in the heart of the Highlands, John Dewar himself was born less than 2 miles away from the Distillery. The stream you mention is the Petilie Burn, which is our water source – it runs down from the hills and passes by the side of the distillery. Thanks again - Charlotte Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cask tasting"
in 47 reviews
"single malt"
in 43 reviews
"great tour"
in 41 reviews
"short film"
in 31 reviews
"guided tour"
in 30 reviews
"connoisseur tour"
in 22 reviews
"basic tour"
in 16 reviews
"cask strength"
in 14 reviews
"dewar family"
in 21 reviews
"scotch whisky"
in 11 reviews
"ginger ale"
in 11 reviews
"take home"
in 18 reviews
"whisky making"
in 9 reviews
"free glass"
in 8 reviews
"interactive museum"
in 7 reviews
"self guided"
in 10 reviews
"knew her stuff"
in 6 reviews
Filter

565 - 569 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful tour guide with a great sense of humor. Lovely history tour, film, interactive exhibits. Nice shop.

Thank KristinD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World_of_Whisky, General Manager at Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks for your review – really glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope of course that you come and visit us again soon. Thanks again, Charlotte Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Saw the sign for this on the way to Inverness and thought we would check it out. The exhibits were great! The staff are so friendly. The tasting and whiskey was great and the tour of the distillery was fantastic! Overall a great afternoon.

Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World_of_Whisky, General Manager at Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

What a great review – glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your comments! If you are ever passing this way again, then we hope to see you at Dewar’s World of Whisky. Many thanks Charlotte Brown General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great all-round tour of a historic scottish distillery. Interesting exhibits, informative tour guides, and samples of a true taste of Scotland!

Thank natds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World_of_Whisky, General Manager at Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments which I will pass on to the team, it’s always nice to hear from our visitors and we hope to welcome you back again to Aberfeldy in the near future. Charlotte Brown General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have to say Aberfeldy single malt is not my favourite, nor are Dewar's blends, but visiting this distillery was very interesting.
We had the basic tour. It starts with a short movie about the history of Dewar family and whisky. Then you enter a little "museum", with a duplication of the founder's office and the blending room. The whole thing is very interactive, and quite interesting. You can also see a lot of past commercials of the brand. There is finally a little game where you have to guess the notes which can characterize a whisky just by smelling.
Then comes of course the visit of the distillery. The explanations were clear and complete.
Finally, you can taste one of Dewar's blends, or Aberfeldy single malt 12yo, and buy anything you want in the boutique.

Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World_of_Whisky, General Manager at Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks for your review – I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed the heritage centre and found the tour interesting. Hopefully you are now a convert to the Dewar’s blends and of course our very own Aberfeldy single malt! Charlotte Brown General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Dewar’s Aberfeldy Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing