We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food for mind, eye, home & tummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watermill

The Watermill
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened by Michael Palin, The Watermill is Winner of the Independent Bookshop of the Year award for the whole UK. Over three floors, the converted mill houses the bookshop, contemporary art gallery and cafe in a unique environment, complete with comfy chairs - a browser's paradise. Next door is our homes and gardens shop, Homer. We are open seven days a week, 10am - 5pm (11am on Sunday).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“food for mind, eye, home & tummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very pleasant place to pass an hour or two or three. Great coffee & luscious cake. Ground floor is coffee shop + a few books. Above that is a full floor of well chosen books, and above that is an art gallery and more books, mostly art. Throughout, you'll see some fascinating equipment from the mill days. Don't miss the Homer shop around back with its wonderful selection of home and personal goods, lots of great brands. I found the perfect leather wallet I'd been dreaming about.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dunyazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    101
    26
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A real joy to visit, good coffee and soup or cakes, great selection of books, always an interesting art exhibition

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeCowdenbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent bookshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lots of interesting nooks and crannies to explore with an excellent range of books in each. Cafe is also lovely with good patio area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The cosiest corner of Aberfeldy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A lovely bookshop with probably the nicest cafe we've seen these past few weeks in Scotland.

Great tea, very delicious cakes and nice light meals. The staff is friendly and helpful. I've had a small incident with a leaking radiator, but the staff was quite to take action and very helpful.

The small exhibition upstairs is also worth a visit.

For my wife and I this was the cosiest place in Aberfeldy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank krijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great destination bookshop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love going to the Watermill, it's a great place to browse the book choices in a relaxing & welcoming environment. I'd always visit here if in the area.The cafe is welcoming & cosy, my only slight complaint is with the prices; £6.95 for a ciabatta with salad seemed a bit pricey, especially as we'd had similar food in other cafes in the area over the same weekend for under a fiver & the quality was just as good (if not better, at the Coffee Bothy) Visit Homer afterwards to browse their selection of homewares, they always have something interesting & unusual

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMacW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermill also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing