We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here in May for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast 2 night break. Our room was very modern and clean, it was in the block close to the reception. The breakfast was really nice and the staff were very friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, we walked down the road to one of the local pubs for dinner.

The hotel facilities were good, the spa had a steam room and sauna. We found the hotel very relaxing and would definitely return.

On our last morning we had a walk up to the water fall which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo79847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,139 - 3,145 of 3,907 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just came back from 2 days at the moness hotel in aberfeldy and I must say how good it was. Nice room, not big but OK, g ood breakfast, plenty to choose from. Nice pool, sauna and steam room. Very peaceful place and just what we needed. A nice chill-out for 2days. Very pleasant , helpful staff. Food in terrace bar was fine and not too badly priced but restaurant was a bit overpriced for what we had. £50 for 2 for tomato soup and a bit of chicken and what tasted like fried mash and Veg. I can have that at home using what,s left from Sunday lunch! could also have used more benches to sit on on as the grounds are so, big but that would probably spoil the peacefullness of then grounds.
I would definitely recommend it, especially to couples who just want a bit of peace and quiet. Would go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 and had to problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank auntievera48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay, room was beautiful and immaculate, breakfast was delicious, grounds were kept very well, pool was good. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Had a wonderful weekend just the two of us. Looking to go back this year, soon

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Avril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We’ve stayed at three hotels this week, two of which were on deal sites. Moness Resort was one of these. We’ve stayed here before in one of the garden rooms, and I have to say that room 2 is probably our favourite bedroom in any hotel we’ve stayed at. The bedroom is huge, so nicely shaded and the bathroom which is also large has one of the best shower over bath ever. The pressure is amazing. It also has a large heated towel rail and huge, fluffy towels.
They must have had their wi-fi updated, because where it wasn’t there before in outlying areas, the signal is now really good.
It is a lovely resort, with a myriad of cottages and its own little putting green. The only downside for me is that there are no seating areas or benches to enjoy the lovely trees and lawned areas.
Dinner is fine, although the restaurant area is like a banquet hall, and the ambience suffers. Breakfast this time was a buffet and it was quite dried out, particularly the potato scones and the fired eggs, both of which had been the Bain Marie for too long. The tea on both days was almost lukewarm and not pleasant.
We will, however, definitely be back at Moness on a regular basis.

Room Tip: We will always try to get Garden Room 2, an although it costs a bit more, it is really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at moness resort for two nights in the self catering cottages, was absolutely everything you could imagine! So picturesque, and a great spot for exploring scotland. The leisure facilities were great, used them 4 times and we were only there 3 days! Cottage was in immaculate condition, such a perfect stay. We will defiantly be back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Was here yesterday for groupon spa day. Place looks dirty and dated
Spa treatments were ok. Cheap products.
Therapists were smokers and smelled strongly of smoke. Spa is cramped and only has waiting area for two guests. Other client's personal details were left lying around in treatment room including contact details and medical details!!!
pool really need cleaning. Sauna door doesn't close.
Lunch menu ok but limited. Waitress. Abrupt and unhelpful when I changed my.order 2 mins after placing it. Food acceptable but not great.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank louandlily1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Three of us stayed in a 1-bed cottage towards the back of the site. Well equipped and very clean it had everything we needed including outside space with table and chairs. Lovely views, lovely well-kept site. There is everything here - play areas for the children, mini golf, games room with a pool table - even a duck pond! The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were clean and welcoming and there's a hot tub on the side of the pool. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't actually eat in the restaurant as we prefer self-catering but it looked bright and airy and overlooked the pool. The facilities in the cottage were excellent - they even provided tea and coffee. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Some instructions on how to use the tv would have been helfpul as it took us a while to work out which of the three controls applied to what. Loads to do within a few mile radius and this is a good base for exploring the area around Pitlochry. The short walk into Alberfeldy is just that but it is down a fairly steep hill which makes the coming back a little difficult.

Room Tip: The cottages at the back are near the road but it's not that busy so doesn't really disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,982 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
949 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Perth A9
Travelodge Perth A9
#4 of 18 in Perth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $82 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing