We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, comfortable --- ideal location!”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our fourth weekend break at Moness (the Hotel, not an s/c Lodge) and just as good as the others. We sail locally so this is a preferred venue for when we want to stay longer. Good room (a suite is great but a standard room is just fine) with a great bed, a clean, spacious and well-stocked bathroom and access to the spa facilities included. Good breakfast (it used to be 'great' when it was plate service but the modern way - the buffet - has arrived) with good choice of items. Nowadays we prefer to eat in Aberfeldy as there is a good selection of local restaurants and the Moness restaurant, to be honest, lacks a bit of atmosphere. Off season (i.e. outside school holidays) is ideal for the spa as the pool is pretty small during bank-holiday-family-visit times: but we used to lug umpteen kids around and now enjoy the peace and quiet of not having to do so. For families - and for couples (young and old) - the place is great overall.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrockdeVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and for you all your feedback, which is always appreciated, we sincerely hope its not too long before your fifth stay with us, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,285 - 3,291 of 3,847 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was at the Moness resort last year and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately this year it didn't.
Up the stair at the restaurant/bar area was completely stacked out in tables for eating. I asked where I could take our bottle of wine to have a quiet drink. The bar man pointed to the children's play area ???? Really - for a quiet drink (I don't think so). Don't think having glasses and bottles of wine in a children's play area is safe anyway?
We had to sit at a table in the restaurant and drink it there among the families.
I can say the hotel is lovely, really nice rooms, amazing shower and nice food. But as I went to the Moness to get a break from kids this was not for us. But if you are a family its a great place to go.
Beware you need to show your credit card on arrival where they take £100 deposit. Luckily I had it with me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and your feedback,.we are naturally concerned to read of your disappointment during your second stay with us. Half term is always a busy and popular time for families, please be kindly assured we would never suggest drinking in the crèche area which is gated off, there is however an adjacent lounge with sofas and chairs to sit. A £100 pre authorisation on a credit card, not charge, is asked for at time of booking, which allows guests the convenience of charging to their accounts during their stay, we are sorry if this was not explained properly at check in. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

me and my partner booked on Groupon for a 2 night stay from Saturday to Monday and was expecting a nice relaxing break but when we got there we couldn't even find where the reception was and when we finally found it the man at the reception tried to freeze £100 on our bank account which we refused.we were also told when booking that we will receive a 3 course meal for £10 per person and that wasn't the case at all the cheapest meal is just a tad under £15 per person which wouldn't have been such a problem had we not been told £10 and the man at the reception made us out to be liars, if we wanted to eat downstairs in the peace and quiet away from screaming kids and in comfort it would cost us £27 per person for a meal of something we could get anywhere else for £10 then there was breakfast which was £12.50 per person which is shocking we went into Pitlochry and got a huge breakfast for £6.95.the swimming pool is tiny and packed with kids during the day and only free of kids after 7.30 pm until 9 pm so don't get a lot of time to relax, after all that we were told we would also have to pay electric, water and heating on top of what we have already paid.....so what exactly did we pay for? all the plugs and switches apart from the lights were switched on when we arrived and even with the heating on it was freezing. the bed was 2 beds shoved together and were rock hard and i had the worst sleep in my life, we didn't stay the second night and left just after lunchtime on the Sunday and couldn't wait to get back home, we were expecting a nice relaxing spa break and it was the complete opposite, we have kids and the whole point was to have a break and we didn't at all so this is not a spa its a loud, bouncing and expensive family resort.....will not be returning

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 208vgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, which is naturally disappointing to read. A £100 pre authorisation is asked for, which allows our guests the convenience of charging to their rooms, I'm sorry if this was not explained properly at check in. I aware that a menu was available to guest booking through groupon, however this was a £15 3 course meal in the terrace bar with the opportunity to dine from the 3 course ala carte menu for £10 extra, I'm sorry for any confusion in this matter. We are a family friendly resort and would urge all reviewers to consider this when booking their stay with us, as half term is likely to be very popular time for families, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

For the money we paid via an online voucher promotion we were not disappointed. The room, No2 suite was huge, spotless, well maintained and very comfortable. The small disappointment was the tiny TV in the corner of the room. It needs a much bigger TV. The facilities in the hotel were excellent. We were recommended to go to a local restaurant on our first night and we actually preferred the food in the hotel on our 2nd night. The staff from the reception team to the bar and restaurant were all really friendly and attentive and a special mention must go to GED who served us at breakfast and later in the day and to say he is conscientious is an understatement. He never stopped and nothing was too much trouble. We will return in the summer months when we can walk The Birks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

What a great review, which you have overall scored us five star, thank you for all your kind comments which I will pass on, especially to Ged, we will look forward to your return visit, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a good night in the hotel, room was very nice, clean and well laid out. Finish in the room was very good, huge bathroom with bath and a shower.
Went to bar area for a drink, white wine was warm and you had sit in a dining room chair at a dinning table, where the couchs were there was a tv with footie blaring out of it so it wasnt good to sit at.
Had dinner at resturant, food and staff were excellent, £68 for 3 course for me, 2 for my wife and a bottle of nice merlot. The 2 members of staff that were on where 1st class, nothing was a problem to them.
All in all a good night, but we wouldnt go back mainly due to lack if places to sit and chill out and general lack of atmosphere...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank henry_dobbie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for all your positive comments. Please be assured that all feedback is appreciated and used constructively to improve the customer experience and we are currently looking at an additional lounge areas for our guests, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a weekend break with family in a two bedroom cottage having previously stayed in one of the courtyard apartments. The cottage itself was quite nice with lots of space and a nice view and the free Wi-Fi worked well which was a nice surprise having been disappointed with this service elsewhere numerous times. It did, however, smell very musty and damp. Even with the heating on, this smell didn't lift. However, one thing which seriously ruined our first night was the lack of children's stairgates despite having requested them two days previous to our arrival and twice on the afternoon of our arrival (and assured that the maintenance guys would arrive to fit them ASAP). We phoned reception around half five that afternoon as this hasn't happened and were told that there was "nothing we can do til tomorrow". This was unacceptable as we have a two year old son, so we walked up to reception to discuss the issue. We were given some keys to go check another cottage to see if there were any gates there, but nothing. To be fair, the staff were generally pleasant and we were offered a move to another room, but the kids were already in their jammies, we'd unpacked and the room offered hadn't been cleaned & was much smaller than our cottage so it couldn't accommodate our full party. One sleepless night later and the maintenance guys arrived early next morning to fit the gates. They had to fabricate spacers in order to accommodate the gates which took a while and this in itself told a story about how often stairgates were used in that cottage. This was strange as we were assured that all the cottages had gates in the cupboard. Apparently ours was unique.
Service in the bar/restaurant was poor and it took two hours to get our food. One of the courses was wrong and when we questioned this, we got no apology and we were advised not to send it back as it would have taken a long time to replace. This was disappointing, but we raised it again at the end of the meal and received a small discount. One last gripe was that there was no hot water on the morning of our departure due to there being no information about the need to switch on the boiler manually and the two hours it was on for wasn't enough to heat any water for a shower before we left.
It's a shame we've had to leave a bad review as our previous stay was great and we'd recommended moness resort to our friends. However, we definitely wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kwmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, however I am naturally disappointed and concerned to read your feedback, I would kindly ask you to contact me direct helen.davies@moness.com in order for me to investigate your concerns more thoroughly and respond direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We utilised the Amazon Spa/lunch deal for two for £85. It took us about 5-10 mins to find the reception and we couldn't get through when we tried to call - the first thing we were greeted with at reception was 'you're late'. The massages were both great and we were really pleased with this part of the service. The spa facilities were ok - the very small pool was over crowded with loads of kids having a great time - absolutely not got a problem with this but we didn't quite realise the place is so family orientated and the spa facilities are advertised as a 'tranquil space'. Our prosecco lunch was ok - the food alright and served in the cafe next to the pool (not quite what I'd imagined). Moness looks like a great option for families - it has a fun holiday camp vibe but perhaps not the best place to go and relax with a spa deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
931 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
106 reviews
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $71 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing