We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable cottage”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adorable cottage”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I rented a 1 bedroom cottage for a week. It had a very spacious bedroom, a comfortable living and dining room. The kitchen was adequate and clean. The bathroom was roomy and modern with lots of hot water. The restaurant did not have a lot of choices, I only ate there once. The local bakery was lovely.
The scenery was beautiful, the people friendly and helpful, the roads were a real challenge. I'm not sure I would drive in Scotland again even though I have driven on the left side of the road before with no problems.....the driving was hard.

Room Tip: I would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsnnyldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you for your five star review and for all your great feedback, its great to read you enjoyed your week with us and would return despite the driving in Scotland being a slight challenge!, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    1,186
    588
    210
    159
See reviews for
1,043
1,644
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay as a birthday present from one of my family. When booking we were told the ordinary rooms were not available but we could upgrade for a fee of £10. on arrival in the room we soon found
that the floor area between the bed and the bathroom had a loud 'squeak'. we asked reception for a change of room but all of the same type of rooms were fully booked and occupied. She did offer to move us to a basic room but that meant that whoever had booked into that room would be given the room with the 'squeak'. we had unpacked and it was only one night so we decided to stay in the room. The cost of this room was on a special but even so still cost around £70 for bed & breakfast which was poor value when this problem would be very easy to fix.
However, the rest of the room could not be faulted. It was super clean as was the bathroom. The food in the Terrace Bar was basic but tasty and big servings. Staff were very pleasant and I would be giving 5 stars were it not for the problem with the floor. So if you are making a booking make sure you do not get room 27 in the east wing.
( I have just clicked 'average' for value in the rating column and cannot correct it . I rate value as poor because the problem with the floor should never exist in a hotel!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for all your positive comments. which are great to read, however I'm sincerely sorry and disappointed to read that a 'squeak' in the floor boards distracted from a five star experience. Room 27 is a very popular room and often requested because of is large wrought iron bed and to my knowledge the floors have not been a previous concern, however, I'm sorry for your own disappointment and I have passed your comments onto our resort services manager, who will investigate your concerns. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

arrived early at the resort as we wanted to do some walking.receptionist was very helpful booked us in so all we had to do later was pick up keys. We were in hotel and it was a lovely room with everything we needed.(toiletries and tea , coffee, biscuits and water)
Loved the pool.We ate in the terrace bar and i was lovelyon second night i was looking for something light and soup was to spicy but although it was after 5pm he said he would ask the chef if he could make me a sandwich which he did!
Thanks for a lovely break.

Room Tip: we were in deluxe room which was in corner of hotel lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What a fantastic review, thank you so much for your five star grading, its great to read you were looked after so well and I hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a two night stay here and would definitely recommend it to families with young kids. Good pool, jacuzzi, a play park on site and duck pond, the terrace bar has a kids play area where they can be seen but not heard so mealtimes are quite relaxing. The cottage was lovely and clean, staff were friendly. The only minor negatives were the sofas in the cottage were in bad condition and the pool was a bit cold, we will probably visit again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krjackson666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for all your positive feedback, its great to read you enjoyed your family break and despite a couple of minor concerns its great to read that these did not distract from the overall enjoyment of your stay and you would consider returning to Moness, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi,

We wen firstly to the 2 bed new courtyard apartments in which one of the showers in the bathroom would not work if the other showere was on..............Strange.
The apartment was of good size although pretty cold at that time of year November even with the electric heating on. Apartment showed signs of wear and tear.
Went back again to another 2 bed one as you drive in, quieter but the apartment still was shabby in areas.
The pool was always too busy and obviously could not cope, the food was downhill the second time, area nice if you get the price good.
As a 'country resort' though not upto standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are naturally disappointed to read your concerns. We are constantly snagging and freshening each of our cottages after a exceptionally busy season so pleased be assured we are constantly refreshing each area of the resort.
With regards to the swimming pool, this is one of our busiest areas of the resort, due to all guests enjoying this facility. We do have quieter times within this area and I apologise if you were not informed on the children's swimming times we operate to ensure all our guests utilise this to their advantage. Thank you once again and please be assured all feedback is appreciated and helps us to improve the customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I called and spoke to reservations, girl was very snippy and rude and made me feel very unwelcome. Said she would call me back as the reservation system crashed. No call back. Very poor customer service. Not a good impression at all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Linedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I was naturally concerned to read your comments, please accept my apologies. Whilst we were experiencing difficulties with our booking system yesterday, I'm sorry and disappointed to read that on one called you back, if you would like to make booking please contact me direct on helen.davies@moness.com. I do hope you accept our apologies and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is myself and my husbands 5th stay at moness - we love the area, the rooms and the friendly helpful staff - unfortunately this time we felt the food wasn't as good - we ate in the terrace bar so can't comment on the main restaurant. My husband was disappointed with his meals both nights we ate there which is a shame as we've never been disappointed before - I also witnessed a young man working in the kitchen of the terrace bar with hair down to his waist that was only casually tied back with an elastic band ! Surely basic hygiene and infection control dictates that hair that long should be well away from food under either a net or a hat !
Felt overall a bit disappointed with our stay this time and not sure we will be going back as we have done for the last 5 years

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Densoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, whilst we are delighted that this was your 5th stay with us, I was naturally concerned to read your review. I have passed a copy of your review to our food and beverage manager who will take immediate steps to address any shortcomings. We would hope that you have enjoyed previous stays you would consider these stays a truer reflection of the resort and we do hope you would consider returning, please contact me direct should you wish to do so helen.davies@moness.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
859 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
85 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,213 reviews
24.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
750 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing