We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent... but avoid the restaurant”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent... but avoid the restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

When the Catering Manager responded to a complaint about our dining experience by saying, 'Please don't put this up on Tripadvisor', we suspected that they already knew they had a problem with their restaurant. Our advice... to make the most of an otherwise excellent hotel (where the woefully understaffed waiting teams cover the cracks with hard work and good humour), eat in the Bistro or eat out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcreteBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    1,211
    599
    213
    167
See reviews for
1,084
1,689
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tayside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the moness from the 13th of march to the 15 th of march. We got the break as a wedding gift but when i tried to book the girl on the phone was very unhelpful and told me there was no availability, however when we phoned later on that day we spoke to a male and he told us that there was availability. So first impressions were not good and that was before we arrived. However the room that we were in was lovely, spacious and clean. We ate in the bistro both nights and the staff there were so friendly and attentive, the first night the meal was superb, the second mediocre for some reason. The breakfast were lovely, good quality ingredients and the staff were lovely and very helpful, couldnt do enough for us. All in all a nice break away but Moness must try and sort out this girl who answers the phones as she was quite unpleasant and unhelpful and would certainly put people off from booking there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and for so many positive comments, Im pleased that despite your initial impression you enjoyed your time at Moness. Please be assured all feedback is appreciated and used constructively to improve our customer experience, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a week in the February half term using up the balance of some RCI points. This was our second visit to Moness. Our cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped, the only gripe being the lack of a good reading light in the living room (low energy bulbs don't give much light!).
All the staff were really polite and helpful, especially the lady who was decorating who rushed across when my wife set off the smoke alarm with the toaster.
We ate in the Terrace Bar and the main restaurant and all the food was of a good standard. The swimming pool and changing rooms were nice and clean, and the pool not too crowded although we only used it during the adults only sessions.
Aberfeldy has a small supermarket and a very nice cafe, and is well situated for easy access to lots of things to do and visit.
The resort was extremely well maintained and we would definitely return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveFoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness and for sharing your experience. Its especially pleasing to read you would return and we hope its not too long to before you have the chance to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night Group on break at Moness £99 for two nights in a lovely, spacious 1 bedroom cottage. Full electric heating which we made full use of because the weather was extremely cold and the total for the 2 nights was only £5. Accomodation was much better than expected and very comfortable. We got into a 'camping' mentality and took food and pre-prepared meals with us, which made it more fun. There's something nice about cooking breakfast away from home. There was heavy snow everywhere which added to the prettiness of the estate, and we really enjoyed going exploring the surrounding area and returning 'home' to our lovely cottage. It's normally a lot more expensive of course but I think it's well worth paying even the full price for because of the quality of the accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1judyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your five star review, its great to read you enjoyed exploring the area and enjoyed your cottage. We hope you have a chance to visit with us again soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and i have just returned from a two night break we purchased through Groupon. We stayed in the hotel on the ground floor and the room was nice enough. In the hotel there appears to be plenty to do as there's a pool, spa, kids play area, badminton, snooker etc. Everything was very clean but in particular we thought the staff were lovely. Very polite and welcoming, especially the lady that served us breakfast the first morning and the housekeeping girls who supplied me with water when I wasn't feeling the best after a good night out in Aberfeldy. We went out to the distillery and ate in a little cafe in town so only had breakfast in the hotel but again we couldn't fault it. Lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sashakarenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic five star review, its especially pleasing to read your comments in respect of the staff. We hope its not too long before you have the chance to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in the resort. We cannot wait to go back with our daughters. They will love it. We stayed in the hotel and cannot fault it in any way. We used the badminton court, pool table, hot tub, steam room and swimming pool. One gripe we had with the swimming pool and I must say, was of no fault of the resort, there were people in the pool playing water polo, this was very ignorant of them as it is a leisure pool and people were chilling but they were a real nuisance as the ball was hitting other swimmers and people resting on loungers around the pool!! We ate in both restaurants and the food in both of them was amazing, as was our breakfast!!! The staff throughout are very friendly and helpful. During our stay we were allowed to view a self catering cottage with a view to returning with our daughters. We would definitely recommend Moness Spa Resort to anyone.
Karen and David xxx

Room Tip: Just take what you can, you won't be disappointed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Wow!, what a fantastic five star review. We certainly seem to have ticked all your boxes and we will look forward to your next visit, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We haved stayed on two ocassions for 2 nights through Groupon in Hotel.The bedrooms are large with comfy beds. We used hotel as a base and walked all day before returning for spa treatment and a swim before dinner. The Terrace Bistro didnt have a great choice of food but the breakfasts more than make up for this. Cannot fault the breakfast, cooked to order and served by a very friendly Julie...patience of a saint and lovely manner - well done! We will definately be back for more.

Room Tip: If you want a very large room and bathroom upgrade for a few pounds to a superior - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. Its great to read you enjoyed yet another stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
873 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,573 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
361 reviews
16.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing