We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for the price of two at the beginning of January. We had a one bedroomed cottage which was warm, clean and comfortable and there was plenty of room. The kitchen had all the necessary equipment for cooking if required. There is no washing machine but there was a laundry on site (and we were not there long enough to need to do a washing.)
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night. The service was good, our waiter was welcoming and friendly the food was reasonable but not exceptional.
I felt that the pool area could do with a bit updating. The pool is small, a strange shape and had little room to actually swim, I think it is probably more of a fun pool that a swimming pool. The bar beside the pool was way too warm and lacked in atmosphere, but it was January and the place was reasonably quiet. However, I think in the height of the season this area would probably be very busy and it is not very big.

They do advertise that they have WiFi, but when we tried our laptops / smartphones / and tablets in the cottage we had no signal. There is a WiFi area in the reception but the signal was not very strong and it kept dropping out and it’s not particularly practical to have to go to reception to use electronic devices.

It snowed while we were there and I was very impressed with how quickly they had the paths and drive cleared of snow an gritted.

We had a most enjoyable relaxing stay, which was exactly what we were looking for and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for taking them time to review Moness Resort and for all your feedback, which is always greatly appreciated. Its great to read you got exactly what you were looking for, an enjoyable relaxing break! We hope its not to long before you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,334 - 3,340 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband bought a deal through Groupon for 4 last year. I think there are good and bad points about Moness.

The check in process was fast & efficient. The double room was modern, but, needed hoovering. I found medication (capsule type tablet) lying on the floor & peanuts obviously from previous stays. Quite shoddy actually. Attention to detail is required from room cleaning staff as it remained there our whole stay and was quite visible! The food in the bistro bar was lovely and the staff were very attentive if not abit run off their feet! We went to the Flemyng restaurant the next evening and the meal was very good.

The only thing I think they could improve on are the communal sitting areas which looked abit tired. I was also disappointed not to get booked into the spa for treatments (we phoned weeks before going) and it was totally fully booked.

Not a lot to do in the resort. I think if you enjoy hill walking or rambling you would find it a great base for exploring.

Would I return? Probably not. Will you enjoy it? Probably if you are not expecting too much.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusties1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom cottage (bracken)and I was pleasantly surprised. The cottage was nice, my three year old daughter loved the fact that it was an upside down house with open plan living room and kitchen/dining upstairs and two bedrooms and two bathrooms downstairs. The accommodation had good facilities for families: dishwasher, microwave, two televisions and a dvd player. No washing machine but there was a laundry (didn't use it though). I thought the bed was uncomfy as it was two singles joined together. I also thought it had good facilities for young children, a swimming pool, ball pit and family friendly pub as well as a duck pond with lots of friendly ducks and children's play area. It is a wee bit dated but overall we had a lovely stay and we'd go back if we got another good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We exchanged through RCI and read the trip advisor reviews prior to booking and surmised that it seemed very like our home resort, which has a variety of accommodation types, , varying in age, construction and decor . Knowing that these kind of resorts are not the "Marriott Type" where the units are identical copies varying only in the number of bedrooms I was aware that we would be taking pot luck as to what we ended up with. I needn't have worried, we were in number 23 "Beauly" one of the older cottages near the entrance and road. It was detached, with a huge double and a medium sized twin room downstairs the double had an en-suite with a shower over the bath and a second shower room off the downstairs hall, with sink and toilet. The upstairs comprised of an open plan dining, kitchen and lounge area with small balcony. The property looked like it had recently had a decorative overhaul and whilst not cutting edge modern, was perfectly adequate. We had a dishwasher, microwave, toaster, ceramic hob small fridge freezer, and full size oven, not having a washing machine and dryer was not an issue. I didn't ask for the heating on prior to arrival and the property heated up very quickly with the convection type radiators which all had timers, on off switches and thermostats. They must be well insulated properties as it kept its heat and the electricity for the entire week was about £27.00 considering this was the depth of winter with freezing temperatures and snow, we were never cold,so I think this was very reasonable. The advertised Wi-Fi really didn't work, the signal was so poor that none of our devices could link for more than a few minutes before the signal dropped out. One of the managers came out promptly to check that it was working, but explained that one bar of signal really was the norm, however a lot of the time our devices couldn't even find the network. Luckily we had an ethernet cable which you can plug into the back of the phone to give an excellent wired signal to a laptop, for those who need to be contactable when away. The manager said that they did keep ethernet cables at reception which is worth noting as not everyone has one of these on their holiday packing list! The snow was lovely and even by early morning someone had been round to clear and salt the paths. Hairdryers are available from reception with a £10.00 deposit which is removed from your acct when it is returned intact, also DVD rental was available for a very reasonable £1.50 per night. The TV is a funny system, its like the resorts own freeview type system and it sometimes took a few attempts at pressing buttons to get into the system. There was a good range of cooking equipment for those who like to make from scratch, we never ate in the restaurant, but had a bar meal which was perfectly acceptable, service was friendly and prompt, there is a small takeaway menu as well which was useful for our first night, you just phone in your order, and they phone you back when its ready to be collected. The only other two places we ate were Blair Castle where we got a first rate home cooked meal of ample proportions in their restaurant, and the Good Food takeaway in Aberfeldy, which was excellent too (I've reviewed that as well) Didn't use the pool or spa so can't comment. Although the cottage was near the road, there's not much traffic and when indoors barely audible. Could have done with a TV in the master bedroom and the beds were a little un-supportive (two beds linked, and we were asked prior to arrival if we wanted it made up as one or two beds, it makes up into a superkingsize bed) however having terrible backs we always take our tempur mattress topper, which was a godsend. The balcony was a nice extra and came in handy for extra storage space when the fridge was full. The fridge only had a small freezer compartment suitable for ice cubes and not much more, but apart from these very minor issues, it was lovely and warm and comfy. No complaints. Aberfeldy has a small co-op and two other smaller mini markets, however we chose to do a big food shop on the way up in Perth which has Tesco, Asda and Morrisons, and cheap petrol!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are on the last day of a family holiday in Moness resort on a timeshare exchange and to be honest it is just awful. We visited this resort 10 years ago on an exchange with our own timeshare and really enjoyed it at this time.

However,in competition for the use of the facilities with the Groupon deals on offer timeshare owners should avoid this as you cannot move in the pool due to far too many people.and also the steamroom and sauna is far too overcrowded...and I really mean too many you just cannot move.To be honest it is really a nightmare for timeshare owners but probably a fantastic deal for Groupon deals as these deals work our better than timeshare dues!

But what are timeshare owners paying with their annual fees to come here so beware as you are not getting value for money...and for others dont come here.

The first night we had a good meal but tonight were shocked when we were presented with a £75 bill for food which was less than standard. For example, when my husband ordered a glass of red wine he was given a glass of white. However, when he returned it staff were not too happy when he asked for a replacement. The red wine he received as a replacement was cheap and awful. In addition, when we ordered a rare sirlion steak a medium to well done was given and again when we asked for it to be replaced as it was £17.95 again we did not feel that this was welcomed. It came with a red tomato which was bitter and undercooked.

Avoid the onion rings as the batter they are is is far too greasy and believe me you will suffer later. The fish and chips the first night at £12.95 we thought was expensive but we thought it fresh. However, tonight a member of our party ordred this and it was just awful and more than a few days old.

We will never return here again as a timeshare owner. Moness need to raise their game for timeshare owners if they are going to do deals in their hotel and many of their purpose built villas Then they really need to provide a separate pool and leisure facility for all these guests. AND NOT USE THE TIMESHARE FACILITIES>

They need to leave the timeshare with their own pool and leisure facilities and let RCI know what they are doing when exchanges are done so that timeshare guests know that although they may receive good units the facilities they share are far too overcrowded.

Room Tip: go as a groupon guest not as a timshare owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned home from another fantastic weekend at the Moness.
We have being going to the Moness now for 9 years always around valentines weekend.
We always rent 3 x 1bed cottages for our family which are very clean and fully equipped.
The resort is so peaceful and quiet, so dark at night no light pollution,look up a see the stars, in the morning look out and if your lucky you will see deer, squirrels and many different birds.
Very relaxing and great for the children with games room and swimming pool, great walks along the Tay and plenty of places to visit nearby.
We like it so much we have purchased a time share for the New year week.
Well done again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip here using a Groupon voucher. We upgraded to a suite (Room 17) which was lovely. Our room had a massive bed, huge bathroom with a corner bath and separate shower cubical. There were nice large fluffy towels and also bathrobes to use as well. It also a separate living room off the bedroom which was very cosy, although we didn't use this room all that much. Negative points I have about the room and bathroom was that the lighting was pretty dim. Not good at all for putting on make up, etc. Could have done with a mirror and light on the dressing table perhaps?? And also the tv's in the bedroom and living room were not all that great. We had a meal in the terrace bar on the Friday night and that was quite nice and good value for money. We didn't use the pool or other facilities because my partner was full of the cold but they looked nice and hopefully we will get to use them if we return. Finally, breakfast on both mornings were excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
98 reviews
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $81 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing